We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“everything about our stay in Plas Isa was fantastic”
Review of Plas Isa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Plas Isa Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Criccieth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Llanbradach
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“everything about our stay in Plas Isa was fantastic”
Reviewed 24 September 2010

We were recomended the Plas Isa by the golf pro at Pwllheli golf club. We had a warm welcome when we arrived. We stayed in room 12, it had a wonderful view of Criccieth Castle and the beach. We had an evening meal which would grace any 5 star hotel. The staff were very professional and polite. We had a chat about golf with Anna and a long chat about football with Ian, overall we had a very nice time and we will return next year.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taffyllanbradach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    46
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
36
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2010

The Penn Pilgrims Golf Society visited Plas Isa again this year (for the fifteenth time in a row.) Marvellous, yet again.
Ian and Anna, are great hosts and provide fantastic service. The food is incredible, and you could anywhere in the world and not beat the Lamb Shanks!!
We are a 24 strong group of golfers, with the golf being our focus, but good accommodation is a major bonus to the trip and we are so lucky to have found the ideal base. (we played Pwllheli, and Portmadoc this year, both are within easy reach from the Plas Isa)
Ian and Anna are also both keen golfers and know our requirements. They know all of the courses in the area and can make informed recommendations, and I believe that they will even arrange tee times for you!
We stay on a Dinner, Bed and Breakfast basis, there’s plenty of great food and we’re served by friendly and efficient staff. All of the rooms are ensuite with some lovely views of the Castle and across the bay.
Thank you Plas Isa, and needless to say, we have reserved for next years trip already. 

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 19Smart59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West England
Level Contributor
136 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2010

We stayed for 3 nights, a group of 22 men on a golf trip.We were well recieved by our host. All the staff were good humoured and helpful.Service both at meal times and in the bar was efficient, warm and friendly. The Hotel location is ideal for walks,trips to surronding areas.With ample free parking. The food is a big plus, in variety and presentation.The accommodation is both clean and tidy, if some what a little tired.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McJacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2010

When we booked this hotel after reading their website and trip advisor, we expected a friendly welcome from the staff; an all-in bed breakfast and evening meal; and free WIFI access in a clean well furnished room.
Unfortunately we were disappointed on all these counts.
On arrival we received little more than recognition of our presence, not even a smile; but even this was more than we received the next two times we passed through the entrance, although a member of staff was there.
Part of the reason for booking this hotel was the advertised free WIFI access. This was not available from the hotel's system, despite numerous requests.
Breakfast was fine, but the evening meal is either al a carte or a set meal at a price more than that apparent from their website. We only found this out after we had committed ourselves to eating in their dining room.
While the food was good the atmosphere was nonexistent: music playing or a choice of table farther away, would have meant we were not forced to listen to the guests at the next table discussing the treatment of their prostate problems.
The view from our room was good, but the chair I sat on to look at it felt damp. The decoration was more than just tired - blown plaster and large damp patches on the wall and ceiling. The bathroom was hygienic, but not much better, and the cold water tap for the bath did not work.
Altogether a very disappointing 3 days

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssteve108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plasisa, Owner at Plas Isa Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2010
We are sorry that you found your stay with us disappointing > and were very surprised to read your review particularly as you had not articulated the problems during your stay. I would like to take this opportunity to respond to your issues you claim to have experienced which contradict other guest comment and reviews.

There are different packages that guests can book; you did not book a dinner inclusive package.

WIFI access is available but unfortunately there were problems in the local area during your stay. However you were invited to use our personal computer in the reception.

Had you told us that there was a problem with the cold water tap we would have had it fixed immediately.

There is a small problem regards the ceiling in room 12 which will be rectified at the end of the season when residents would not be affected by paint odour. However it is not significant to cause dissatisfaction. In the way you suggest.

Hygiene and cleanliness is our priority and all rooms are thoroughly cleaned and inspected on a daily basis.

Please look at our other trip advisors one that was posted at the same time of stay that when you were here, They were very satisfied, as have been many of our customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2010

The service was excellent nothing was to much trouble apart from plenty of written information staff and owners were very helpful and knowledgeable with advice and suggestions of what and were to go.
room was spacious and airy clean with all facilities clean and well maintained
The hotel faced the seafront and was avery short walk from the sea front close to all the amenities traffic noise levels were minimal.Shops,pubs etc were within easy walking distance
the food was the best I've had in a hotel for years the whole ambiance of the place was exceptional I could honestly say I can find nothing to complain about or even a minor niggle it was just excellent

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scarey28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plasisa, Owner at Plas Isa Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2010
thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thornton cleveleys
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Just stayed 3 nights at Plas Isa. Lovely position overlooking the sea. A very friendly hotel and very well run. The breakfast was great. The food in the evening was exceptionally good, I was not expecting this quality of meals. We ate at the hotel 2 of our three nights. Would definately recommend it and can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jesspenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

This is a little gem. Wonderful sea views from our room, spacious and very clean. The owner Ian and Anna made us feel very welcome and at home. Food was excellent, my father can recommend the lamb shank ( he is 81y and ive not seen him finish a meal in years till then ).Me and hubby can also recommend the rid eye steak and the sea bass .
Breakfast just as good, traditonal welsh or the smoked haddock. Attentive and friendly staff .What more can we say ... see you there

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zig77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plasisa, Manager at Plas Isa Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2010
thank you for your kind review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Criccieth
0.1 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Moelwyn
The Moelwyn
#6 of 6 in Criccieth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lion Hotel
The Lion Hotel
#1 of 20 in Criccieth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plas Isa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Isa Hotel

Property: Plas Isa Hotel
Address: Portmadoc Road | Gwynedd North Wales, Criccieth LL52 0HP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Criccieth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Plas Isa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plas Isa is a family run hotel . All rooms are ensuite with either walk in shower or bath with over head shower private facilities. We have twelve rooms with combinations of double , King size or twin. We have private off road parking . Please access our web site for prices and availability, and full discription of all rooms.We have an ala carte menu available for residents and non resident on a booking only basis. Plas Isa has a private small, but cosy bar with real ales and larger on tap and a large variety of other drinks available. Plas Isa Offer discounted Golf rates to group societies on all local golf clubs please speak to either Ian or Anna for more information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Plas Isa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Isa Hotel Criccieth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing