We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very friendly hotel, delivers just what it says on the web site!!”
Review of Plas Isa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Plas Isa Hotel
Ranked #5 of 21 Criccieth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2010

We have just returned from a three day break and had a great time. I chose a sea view room from the web site and we were very pleased with the quality of the room. It was very clean, welcoming and comfortable. The sea view is excellent. The owners are very friendly and helpful. We did not eat at the hotel in the evenings as we had other arrangements but the menu looked very appetising and if the quality of breakfast was repeated in the evening it would certainly not be disappointing. We would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annNpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2010

Recently stayed on business in room 5.
Without doubt the best Hotel food and service I have experienced.
Would recommend to all travellers business / pleasure.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dexter45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2010

Anna and Ian were very welcoming. The rooms were clean and well equiped. The breakfast and evening meals were of a very high standard. The lamb shank was to die for! My brother and I really enjoyed our two night stay. It was an excellant place to stay for our Snowdon climb. Our hosts were very helpful and were willing to go the extra mile to ensure thier guests were looked after. All of the hotel staff were also very friendly. We would highly recommend the hotel to others and would stay again if we came to climb Snowdon.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StgMajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2010

We were recomended the Plas Isa by the golf pro at Pwllheli golf club. We had a warm welcome when we arrived. We stayed in room 12, it had a wonderful view of Criccieth Castle and the beach. We had an evening meal which would grace any 5 star hotel. The staff were very professional and polite. We had a chat about golf with Anna and a long chat about football with Ian, overall we had a very nice time and we will return next year.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank taffyllanbradach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

The Penn Pilgrims Golf Society visited Plas Isa again this year (for the fifteenth time in a row.) Marvellous, yet again.
Ian and Anna, are great hosts and provide fantastic service. The food is incredible, and you could anywhere in the world and not beat the Lamb Shanks!!
We are a 24 strong group of golfers, with the golf being our focus, but good accommodation is a major bonus to the trip and we are so lucky to have found the ideal base. (we played Pwllheli, and Portmadoc this year, both are within easy reach from the Plas Isa)
Ian and Anna are also both keen golfers and know our requirements. They know all of the courses in the area and can make informed recommendations, and I believe that they will even arrange tee times for you!
We stay on a Dinner, Bed and Breakfast basis, there’s plenty of great food and we’re served by friendly and efficient staff. All of the rooms are ensuite with some lovely views of the Castle and across the bay.
Thank you Plas Isa, and needless to say, we have reserved for next years trip already. 

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 19Smart59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

We stayed for 3 nights, a group of 22 men on a golf trip.We were well recieved by our host. All the staff were good humoured and helpful.Service both at meal times and in the bar was efficient, warm and friendly. The Hotel location is ideal for walks,trips to surronding areas.With ample free parking. The food is a big plus, in variety and presentation.The accommodation is both clean and tidy, if some what a little tired.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McJacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2010

When we booked this hotel after reading their website and trip advisor, we expected a friendly welcome from the staff; an all-in bed breakfast and evening meal; and free WIFI access in a clean well furnished room.
Unfortunately we were disappointed on all these counts.
On arrival we received little more than recognition of our presence, not even a smile; but even this was more than we received the next two times we passed through the entrance, although a member of staff was there.
Part of the reason for booking this hotel was the advertised free WIFI access. This was not available from the hotel's system, despite numerous requests.
Breakfast was fine, but the evening meal is either al a carte or a set meal at a price more than that apparent from their website. We only found this out after we had committed ourselves to eating in their dining room.
While the food was good the atmosphere was nonexistent: music playing or a choice of table farther away, would have meant we were not forced to listen to the guests at the next table discussing the treatment of their prostate problems.
The view from our room was good, but the chair I sat on to look at it felt damp. The decoration was more than just tired - blown plaster and large damp patches on the wall and ceiling. The bathroom was hygienic, but not much better, and the cold water tap for the bath did not work.
Altogether a very disappointing 3 days

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ssteve108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plasisa, Owner at Plas Isa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2010

We are sorry that you found your stay with us disappointing > and were very surprised to read your review particularly as you had not articulated the problems during your stay. I would like to take this opportunity to respond to your issues you claim to have experienced which contradict other guest comment and reviews.

There are different packages that guests can book; you did not book a dinner inclusive package.

WIFI access is available but unfortunately there were problems in the local area during your stay. However you were invited to use our personal computer in the reception.

Had you told us that there was a problem with the cold water tap we would have had it fixed immediately.

There is a small problem regards the ceiling in room 12 which will be rectified at the end of the season when residents would not be affected by paint odour. However it is not significant to cause dissatisfaction. In the way you suggest.

Hygiene and cleanliness is our priority and all rooms are thoroughly cleaned and inspected on a daily basis.

Please look at our other trip advisors one that was posted at the same time of stay that when you were here, They were very satisfied, as have been many of our customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Criccieth hotels
0.2 mi away
The Moelwyn
The Moelwyn
#6 of 6 in Criccieth
111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
303 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Lion Hotel
The Lion Hotel
#1 of 21 in Criccieth
867 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Gwynle Boutique B & B
Gwynle Boutique B & B
#6 of 21 in Criccieth
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plas Isa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Isa Hotel

Address: Portmadoc Road | Gwynedd North Wales, Criccieth LL52 0HP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Criccieth
Price Range: £68 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plas Isa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plas Isa is a family run hotel . All rooms are ensuite with either walk in shower or bath with over head shower private facilities. We have twelve rooms with combinations of double , King size or twin. We have private off road parking . Please access our web site for prices and availability, and full discription of all rooms.We have an ala carte menu available for residents and non resident on a booking only basis. Plas Isa has a private small, but cosy bar with real ales and larger on tap and a large variety of other drinks available. Plas Isa Offer discounted Golf rates to group societies on all local golf clubs please speak to either Ian or Anna for more information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Plas Isa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Isa Hotel Criccieth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing