We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant evening”
Review of Tiffins

Tiffins
Ranked #15 of 30 Restaurants in Criccieth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Seafood, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
191 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Pleasant evening”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We went in as a last minute decision and had a very pleasant evening. Pâté starter and king prawns in garlic starter were very tasty. Three of us had the BBQ ribs which were really good. Chips were not home made which was sad but a pleasant place and worth a visit. Reasonable value for money too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mutsnuts01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    44
    12
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely place - will go back!”
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

Despite holidaying Criccieth for years now, we've never been here before (although I suspected it would be good as it's always packed so make sure you book)!

We visited on a Thursday evening. Chose the set menu - I had prawn cocktail (yum), salmon (cooked to perfection) and we shared a cheese board (perfect chutney included). The set menu included 3 courses but they allowed us to skip dessert and share a cheeseboard instead - very flexible and we added port for a little extra.

The atmosphere was nice but it's not what I'd describe as an intimate restaurant - there are quite a few tables in small space. However it was comfortable. The staff were lovely - the young girl who served us (a relation of the owner?) was friendly and efficient.

The food was really divine and we added a bottle of prosecco for not much more than wine which I felt was reasonable. After eating in several local pubs during our holidays this was a welcome change (I got sick of the smell of frying chips - no such smell here!) Will definitely be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank donakebab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton on Trent
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Even more surprising”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

A very small unprepossessing restaurant that looks just like a cafe selling teas and cakes - how wrong we were. The menu was the equal of many big city restaurants, non of your egg or burgers and chips, a real menu that we were completely surprised at. The service was quiet, efficient,pleasant and prompt, and nothing was too much trouble. My wife being a coeliac is normally a precursor for sharp intakes of breath and shaking heads, but not here, they tailored any dish to suit her and the results were superb. We left pleasantly plumtious and replete.
I would recomend this restaurant to anyone.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food here.”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Brilliant restaurant the food is great and also children's food menu as well, plus it's on the high street so really easy to find and get to with lots of parking available.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank donna-maria w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Pleasant little restaurant - nothing special”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

It was a quiet lunchtime when we visited so service was reasonably good, however the place lacked any sort of atmosphere. Reasonable choice on the menu and portions were generous and good value. Food was piping hot and I mean piping hot. Over microwaving like this does tend to ruin the taste. I'm sure the food was tasty but it was just too hot (temperature wise) to enjoy properly. Shame as this usually looks a busy little restaurant and maybe we were just unfortunate.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dottytee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tiffins also viewed

 
Criccieth, Gwynedd
Criccieth, Gwynedd
 

Been to Tiffins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing