We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely house with great views”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Comfy Lounge
Aspect from the front of the house towards the welsh hills and countryside
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Criccieth, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
mariaX348...
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely house with great views”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We loved this sunny house. It was large with plenty of room to move around, but it was also warm and cosy. We loved sitting in the living room and watching the squirrel visit the garden every morning, or drinking coffee while admiring the view of the castle and sea from our bedroom balcony. The rooms are all as good as the pictures of them on here - and the kitchen is brilliant.
The booking process was straightforward and Jon provided excellent and timely information and directions, and was happy for us to add in friends and our son to the stay at short notice - (mind there were only two of us so we did have the room)
A 5 minute walk takes you down to the High Street with shops (including a late night Spar), pubs, and restaurants. There are plenty of things to do in the area; castles, train rides, beaches, coastal walks and mountains.
This was our first visit to this part of Wales and we received a warm and friendly welcome in Criccieth. We'll definitely come back to Criccieth and to Tirwyddan.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
63Gary
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Superb holiday rental”
Reviewed 30 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Tirwyddan is a very well equipped comfortable house easily accommodating our party of five. It has fantastic views over Criccieth to the sea and the castle from the garden and the balcony. It is within an hours drive of Snowdonia. Criccieth has a railway station with trains going to Harlech and Barmouth. We enjoyed a day out to Barmouth without the need to drive - great! There are also so more energetic activities available within easy reach such as sea kayaking and (we enjoyed) a Segway adventure. Highly recommend this holiday rental. Booking and making other arrangements were smoothly handled by Jon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the master bedroom balcony
Liked least: Everything was fine
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike G
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent house with views to die for!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We only had a week at Tirwyddan, but wish it could have been more. The house is just as described but the views are even better. Sitting on the balcony with a cup of coffee in the morning sunshine looking over the castle and the bay takes some beating. The house is so well equipped and clean yet remains a very welcoming peaceful refuge for a young family along with grandparents. I would definitely recommend Tirwyddan and hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The gardens and views
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MsMugsy
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We have stayed here each year since 2011. It is simply perfect. We have holidayed in North Wales for the past 40years and nowhere has even come close to a Tirwyddan. The house is fantastic, spotlessly clean, very well equipped, the beds are comfy, the views amazing and the kitchen has everything you could need including crockery/cutlery for children. We fell in love with the house the first time we stayed here during a foggy week in February. Perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole house
Liked least: There isn't a thing we can fault.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 January 2014 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
androbjon...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect in every way!”
Reviewed 12 January 2014 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here last June and found this to be the best place we have ever stayed in - it is gorgeous spotlessly clean and the location perfect!!! The views are incredible and we did not want to leave! We can't wait to go again! If you love Criccieth then you must stay here!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steph W
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful, relaxing & comfortable house in an amazing location”
Reviewed 18 July 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We have been staying at this wonderfully comfortable house since our boys were babies. The house is so well equipped with all you can think of and more for a family with children of any age to relax and enjoy. The location is very peaceful with amazing views - my husband and I like having a coffee in bed in the morning whilst admiring the view of Criccieth Castle. We have visited during both the winter and summer months and there are lots of attractions to keep the children entertained all year round and come rain or shine. My boys (now aged 7 & 5yrs) love the Rabbit Farm (which we walk to with a picnic) and Greenwood Forest Park. There are plenty of nice places to eat, although I find that I cook more at Tirwyddan than at home as the kitchen is just fab! The holiday park, a short drive away, is also great as you can pay to use the pool & the slides are great. I can't recommend Criccieth and Tirwyddan enough! We can't wait for our next trip :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to detail - well equipped kitchen, toys and safety equipment for children.
Liked least: Having to leave there to go home!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing