We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant B & B”
Review of Ty'n y Gwynt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ty'n y Gwynt
Ranked #13 of 21 Criccieth B&B and Inns
Bewdley
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Brilliant B & B”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Booked for a three day weekend break at the last minute. Wonderful welcome and attention to detail. In a lovely location in Criccieth with free parking nearby. A brilliant B & B. Beautiful bedrooms. Excellent breakfast. We will return.

Room Tip: Rooms with twin or double beds available. Some with views of the castle and Cardigan Bay others lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrianA613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nantwich
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Booked late. Brilliant B & B. Lovely location. Wonderful welcome. Beautiful bedrooms. Delightful décor. Terrific tips. Fabulous food. (Six sausages???) Friendly fellow-guests. Amazing ambience. Cracking Criccieth! We WILL be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank candj23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

What a fantastic B&B.
We are normally a litle sceptical of B&B accomodation (based on historical trips from years ago) but Tyn y Gwnt has completely changed our opinion!
Even beofre you arrive the views and location are stunning. With the Castle literally outside of the front door, rolling snow-capped hills / mountains all around and the sea within a 2 min walk...Wow.
And once you arrive, the reception you receive is very personable and you are imediately made to feel like you have just arrived somewhere special.

The owner is lovely and really goes out of her way to help and advise where required. The breakfast was really good and the choice was great.

The rooms are lovely...spacious, immaculate and very comfortable...either with or without kids.

Tyn y Gwnt's location is excellent for the relaxing or entripid visitor. We were advised of some loveley walks along the coast and rivers, and also for the more adventurous...quad biking, go karting, climbing and caving.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kangaroobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffs
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Taking a late decision to have a weekend away we booked the Ty'n y Gwynt for a night. The booking was handled in a friendly manner with the proprietor taking time to ensure she captured everyone's first names. This follows through to a friendly and personal welcome on arrival. There is plenty of free parking outside the property but it can get busy at peak times. We were shown to our respective rooms which were of ample size, tastefully furnished and decorated, immaculately clean and stocked with towels, toiletries and tea/coffee provisions. Each of the rooms have pleasant outlooks over the castle or the hills but each floor also has a small seating area (with binoculars) looking down the road and over Cardigan Bay.

A full breakfast was well cooked and tasty and is taken around a large table where fellow guests may share your sitting but the sociable and relaxed atmosphere provides an opportunity to talk rather than feel any intrusion.

The price is exceptionally good value for the standard of accommodation and level of service provided. We would have no hesitation in returning if we're in the area again or to recommend this B&B to anyone (no matter how high they like to feel their standards are!).

Very, very impressed.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy&Wendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Criccieth
0.3 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
385 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
291 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Moelwyn
The Moelwyn
#6 of 6 in Criccieth
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,459 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gwynle Boutique B & B
Gwynle Boutique B & B
#5 of 21 in Criccieth
67 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lion Hotel
The Lion Hotel
#1 of 21 in Criccieth
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty'n y Gwynt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty'n y Gwynt

Property: Ty'n y Gwynt
Address: 7 Castle Terrace, Criccieth LL52 0DY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Criccieth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ty'n y gwynt offers a warm welcome, clean, fresh, comfortable accommodation with wonderful views of Criccieth Castle and the sea. Converted to self-catering apartments in 2016, fully fitted with en-suite bedrooms, kitchen, sitting room, dining area and two televisions. Free WiFi. Only 100 yards from beach, restaurants and pubs within walking distance, Snowdonia National Park with all its attractions within 30 minutes drive. Good train and bus services. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ty'n y Gwynt Criccieth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing