We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Chips!!”

Castle Fish & Chips
Ranked #5 of 30 Restaurants in Criccieth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Best fish and chips we have had in a long time in a well run, clean establishment
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful Chips!!”
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I don't eat fish so i had chicken. Lovely crispy fresh chips & crispy fried 'orange' chicken breast!! Everyone else had fish & plates were left empty! Recommended, although you will have to join the queue.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thepopsicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    96
    37
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Over-hyped?”
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Being fish and chips, we weren't expecting miracle five star food and service. We sat in, rather than take out. The service was polite and prompt, and the food came in a timely manner. We tried the fish and a chicken and mushroom pie, both with chips. The chips were average, but the fish was really lovely. Decent size, decent price and tasted great. The chicken and mushroom pie was bought in but nice nonetheless.

We do plan on going again, now that we know the standard we expect. From the reviews on this website, we went in with expectations of wondrous proportions. It was amazing, but it wasn't perfect.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JacqueLiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great tasty treat for all...”
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Although a really small cafe area it still cosily seats approx 20 gueats at a time. Cosy atmosphere, friendly staff, quick service of food. Always to a really good standard. Kids friendly.. excellent all round. Cross the road then for your dessert at cadwaladers ice cream! Great experience.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank marian j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport
Level Contributor
106 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Lovely Fish and Chips”
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We had to "Q" for almost half an hour but, it was worth it.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank VanClomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Grazer Fish-n-Chips Guru”
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Without a doubt these are GREAT fish n chips. Fresh fish, cooked to order and very consistant.
Have eaten fish n chips all over the UK and these are up there with the best. The refurb. restaurant is much better than previous and a neat way of avoiding the queue ( if there's a spare table). Have been enjoying this treat each time we visit Criccieth for some years now, the only thing I don't like is the wait at peak times (which I try to avoid) but, like all good things it's worth waiting for. The popularity speaks volumes with every justification. The amount of people I've spoken to while waiting, that travel quite a few miles from neighbouring towns and villages, past other fish n chips shops, to queue for undoubtedly one of the very best in the business.
Well done to Nick and your hard working and very friendly team. Long may you reign.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank graham147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Castle Fish & Chips also viewed

Criccieth, Gwynedd
Criccieth, Gwynedd
 
Criccieth, Gwynedd
 

Been to Castle Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing