We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't wish for a better stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Couldn't wish for a better stay!”
Reviewed 30 May 2011

This is an excellent hotel, large comfortable rooms, friendly efficient staff, excellent food.
We have stayed in this hotel now on several occasions and the quality is consistently very high.
We would recommend this hotel to anyone who would like a quiet relaxing stay in peaceful surroundings.
Can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akirkby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    49
    21
    19
    12
See reviews for
68
141
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2011

Just returned from a wonderful stay at the Bron Eifion Country House. The hotel is first class, the attention to detail, styling and facilites were excellent. The staff were welcoming and attentive. The dining was exquisite. Our room was charming and well decorated, clean and provided a marvellous rest for the weary traveller. First time we had stayed and can`t wait to go back. Criccieth is a wonderful , picturesque town and our stay at the Bron Eifion was unsurpassed. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hortonhcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitchurch
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2011

Imagine the finest country house built by a very wealthy family in the Victorian era and finished to wondrous standards in beautiful grounds close by the sea. Think of fine rooms filled with people from a lost time when elegance, courtesy, service and quiet were the order of the day. Imagine the attentive staff caring for you and preparing the family meal and then, after an afternoon nap in a truly sumptuous drawing room, taking a walk through the grounds whilst contemplating another very special evening dinner. When Mr Mercer built his summer residence in 1882 that was what he wanted and that was what he got...in magnificent splendour.

Now, nearly 130 years later and seemingly untouched by those years, his home, Bron Eifion is there for you to enjoy and how it has survived that time virtually untouched is simply breathtaking. You can sit in his chairs, doze by his fireside..yes the log fires do burn at this time of year...look through the peaceful window toward the sea and just for a few days, be truly transported into those Victorian times. This is an exceptional place.

Now having painted that picture, I know you will want the modern day facts so...Bron Eifion is a beautiful place to stay. The interior is wonderful, the room we had was an experience with the largest bed I have ever encountered...more than "Superking"! The dining room/restaurant is brand new and has been done so well that you can barely tell it was not part of the original house. Now you get the look of the old with the very best standards of the new.

Food...well I have had the good fortune to stay in a lot of very nice hotels all over the UK and Europe during the past 25 years. Remember that recent BBC4 programme "The Trip" with Rob Brydon and Steve Coogan visiting some very exclusive places?..well I've tried three of those and in my personal opinion this is better. They have a young chef who has been with them since he started and he is truly inspired. Everything prepared is beautifully presented, generous and to a most high standard. It is adventurous in a very good way and lacks all the pretentious nonsense that many "Celebrity" chefs think is good. The menu is varied and comprehensive but, should any of the dessert courses prove beyond your capabilities then just ask for something like "Oh I'll just have some sorbet with a bit of ice cream"..but see what arrives...you cannot be disappointed!

The Staff....nothing was too much trouble, from the warm welcome at Reception on arrival, the helpful and attentive waiter and waitresses at tables, the efficient way in which our booking was handled even though we had to complicate things by moving our booking forward one day because of a last minute problem to the friendly, helpful and kind ladies doing the morning cleaning! I have nothing but praise.

So...look I could go on forever about the stunning woodwork and if anyone reading this is a carpenter, you MUST call in and admire it! I could tell you how warm and cosy it was, that the log fires crackled brightly every evening and that you can play the grand piano in the hall but really there is only one thing to say..Bron Eifion is a lovely, warm, beautifully maintained and run Hotel that you must visit. Just choose your dates and press the "Book Now" button!

Boring bits for men...... The car park is big, quiet and as safe as any outdoor car park can be. If you arrive in a 1935 Rolls Royce Phantom II Gurney Nutting Coupe you will look the part perfectly and an Alfa Romeo 1750SS Grand Sport will be great for fast trips in the Snowdonia mountains nearby. Those of you in the BMW M3 V8 with flat paint and "launch" will at least be fairly sure that it will still be outside in the morning!

Go on..press that "BOOK" button now!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoratioQBirdbath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conwy, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2010

We had a very warm welcome from the manager (Marie) and her staff - they were very helpful and attentive and nothing was too much trouble. They were very professional without being too obtrusive. Bron Eifion is a truly beautiful country house hotel overlooking stunning gardens and sea views. A recently extended dining room has the WOW factor with a contemporary and classy theme. Our room was very clean and beautiful with lavish decor and furnishings. Bed was very comfortable and our en-suite had both a bath with shower and assessories.
The hotel is the perfect location if you wish to go walking around Snowdonia and the Lleyn peninsula. How many places can you find that are situated on one side for the mountains and the other for the sea.
The a la carte menu had plenty of delicious choices using food that is sourced locally. The food was excellent and beautifully presented.
We came away having had a really luxurious and comfortable stay and will be definately recommending this hotel to both friends and family. It had been snowing during our visit and it looked stunning, but we will be returning in the Summer - looking forward to relaxing in the sunny gardens. We feel the owners really appreciate the finer details of an enjoyable stay and customer satisfaction.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen186437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, Northants
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2010

Very personal and warm welcome, the hotel is both elegant and comfortable, sitting by the log fire with a pot of tea and book whilst looking at the horrendous weather through the windows was a very relaxing experience. Food very good and also very good value. Staff were helpful at all times and were more than happy to access information on the internet for us to help us plan our trips out. Wines also very good. Nothing is life is perfect but this nearly was.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane2317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2010

Set back from the road in its own grounds, yet near enough to Criccieth to be on the beach in a few minutes. House built by Victorian industrialist; the Victorian character of the hall and reception rooms is scrupulously kept in decor and furniture. Individually owned and managed, not showing the customary signs of being one of an identical chain. Very friendly and helpful greeting and service. Lovely gardens and area where one can sit outside before dinner and admire the sea view. Limited number of rooms means that there is always plenty of space in the lounges and bar. Quite excellent dinners and breakfasts, with quick service if you need it. Ample parking space. Very comfortable beds with great Victorian cupboards and wardrobes. Good individual bathrooms with plentiful hot water.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnpollard5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

We called in, by chance, for lunch last year. It was superb so we had no hesitation in booking a three night break for the August 2010 Public Holiday weekend. We were not put off by one poor review on this website. In our view, that review is so unbelievably inaccurate that it seems the writer has a grudge against the hotel because they changed their booking from HB to B&B. Surely they could not expect their B&B tariff to still reflect the discount built into the HB tariff and then not take the dinner. The writer of that review states there was a choice of only four starters and four main courses. WRONG !! There are eight choices for each of the three courses on the Table d'Hote menu.. The hotel has been awarded an AA Rosette for Culinary Excellence every year since 2006 so that speaks for itself. The food is excellent - most of it locally sourced. The hotel's AA 2-star rating is misleading - it has presumably been marked down for not having a lift, swimmimg pool, gym or a night porter, but there is a night internal telephone contact number for emergencies. The gardens are so relaxing. We shall be going back without a doubt. I suggest you read all the reviews if in any doubt. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leithris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Criccieth
1.0 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
375 reviews
0.9 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
285 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
George IV Hotel
George IV Hotel
#4 of 6 in Criccieth
226 reviews
5.0 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
680 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Moelwyn
The Moelwyn
#6 of 6 in Criccieth
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bron Eifion Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bron Eifion Country House Hotel

Property: Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
Address: Hwy A497 | Criccieth Gwynedd, Criccieth LL52 OSA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bron Eifion Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificent country house in 5 acres of gardens. Peace and tranquility, superb cuisine, well-stocked wine cellar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bron Eifion Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bron Eifion Country Hotel
Bron Eifion Country Criccieth
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel Criccieth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing