We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Certificate of Excellence
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely setting”
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Recently attended a wedding here and stayed overnight. I thought the hotel and grounds were set in a beautiful location. Our room was small but very modern and comfortable. The food was ok, nicely presented! Drinks are quite expensive, over £9 for two glasses of wine. Service could do with a little improvement, for example, when the canapés were served the waitress didn't even know what was in them and when there were kids running around, one woman had a face like thunder! Basic stuff really. Other guests who had breakfast the following morning found the service to be quite slow. We did have a lovely day though and the setting was beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lolly2606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    49
    20
    19
    12
See reviews for
67
139
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cartegena
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Visited this part of north Wales and our first stay at this charming hotel was truly a treat - food was probably some of the best we have had in the UK all home made breads and some lovely scummy desserts - and plenty of it, nothing was too much trouble even my daughters fussy eating was not a problem, the hotel is spotlessly clean and comfortable and the rooms are light and airy with big beds although my daughter had a smaller room it was exactly the same as ours only a smaller version . Will definitely come back and thank you for a lovely stay!

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Stayed here for a friends wedding, despite the fact that we only live down the road - right decision! Stunning grounds, cozy room, wonderful service. Best nights sleep we've had in a long time. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KatieSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stourbridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

My wife and myself enjoyed yet another mini break at the end of February at Bron Eifion where we have been taking short breaks for the past five years. For us this charming hotel offers peace,tranquillity, comfort and superb food. We have always experienced excellent levels of service and on the odd rare occasion when we have encountered a problem matters where resolved to our complete satisfaction.
We have travelled quite extensively throughout the world and still love to return to Bon Eifion and will continue to highly recommend this hotel...

Room Tip: Room four is our favourite room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank allan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
144 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Had two night dinner b&b in January, in their ground floor room as we have a little westie, and this room has its own entrance which is a fab idea for little pooches. The olde worlde charm of the hotel is splendid with open roaring fires and a fabulous wooden gallery landing to sit and stare at and wonder at the old craftsmanship. Room was high quality, everything you could need, and then what a shock, we went for dinner and the quality of the food was only comparible with the Bull's 'Loft' in Beaumaris, outstanding and innovative, taste explosions in every bite. Breakfast was very good, lots of choice. Excellent, cosy and comfortable all round.

Room Tip: Onlysaw the ground floor 'little' dog friendly room, superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Victoria1719Cottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Wrote to the venue after a disappointing meal - received letter back not addressing any of my points and basically telling me not to go back again. I had stated in my letter that rather than just post negative feedback I thought it only fair to write to them first - how wrong could I have been - it just got worse!!

My complaint was shared with a third party without my consent and when I'd specifically stated that I did not want them to know. A full refund was sent (which I had not asked for or desired) but they need to realise that something done in such poor grace is pointless.

Part of the meal was very nice, but my complaint was about the lack of effort which seemed to have been completely overlooked in the response; the proprietor seems to have just got cross at the fact that I had the temerity to complain and even used words as quotes in the response that I had not used in the complaint, eg inept. The repeated references to my not having raised it at the time were pointless, I had explained in my letter why I had not done so.

My guess is that if all goes well you'll probably have a nice time, but if anything is not up to your expectations then woe betide you if you complain!!!

Have attached my letter and the response (or lack of) - make your own mind up!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Clare W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

My partner and I booked for dinner at Bron Eifion one Monday evening. It was cold, dark, windy and wet when we arrived, but as soon as we walked through the door, it felt very warm and cosy. Sadly, there was no one to greet us on arrival, so we stood around for a short while with dripping coats and no G&T in hand. Once we had somebody's attention though, it all went swimmingly. The food was excellent - beautifully presented, but not too nouvelle on a night where we needed something hearty. We were very impressed that a hotel like this was able and willing to turn out an excellent meal on a weekday, out of season (just try booking somewhere else for dinner near here on a Monday evening). One final note to the proprietor - please think about piping some different music into the restaurant. It did feel a little bit like being in Tesco.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Criccieth
1.0 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
373 reviews
0.9 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
283 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
George IV Hotel
George IV Hotel
#4 of 6 in Criccieth
222 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Moelwyn
The Moelwyn
#6 of 6 in Criccieth
106 reviews
5.0 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bron Eifion Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bron Eifion Country House Hotel

Property: Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
Address: Hwy A497 | Criccieth Gwynedd, Criccieth LL52 OSA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bron Eifion Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificent country house in 5 acres of gardens. Peace and tranquility, superb cuisine, well-stocked wine cellar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bron Eifion Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bron Eifion Country Hotel
Bron Eifion Country Criccieth
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel Criccieth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing