We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst Sunday Lunch ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Certificate of Excellence
wales
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Worst Sunday Lunch ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

We were shown to our table as we arrived and thenjust left there, we were totally ignored by the staff for at least 15 to 20 mins. Tried to get there attention when they were passing to no avail. Had to get up in the end to ask for menu. We were offered a drink as compensatiopn and I had a glass of wine which all I can say is that they must of gone to the dishwasher to fill my glass.
The starters were just thrown on the plate wish soggy salad. The main course was served with vegetables on the plate not in a bowl on the side and the Yorkshire pudding tasted of nothing but burned fat. My hubby had the salmon with mustard mash and the plate was piled high with the most disgusting pile of mash hes ever tasted. We did comment to the waiters and they just appologised and when we went to pay the bill the Manager(Woman) just said o well. If we didnt have a voucher for the meal I would of insisted on not paying. Worst meal ever if I could score a minus I would.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    45
    19
    19
    12
See reviews for
64
135
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

As the weather had finally settled we decided to take a couple of days break in North Wales. The Bron Eifion seemed to fit the bill as it was central to where we wanted to visit. The hotel was a joy to behold from the moment we arrived. A beautiful country manor in well maintained gardens, overlooking the sea. We were greeted and shown to our room, whereupon we were informed we had been give an upgrade, we were delighted to find a spectacular bedroom and bathroom, there was plenty of storage with a wall mounted flat screen television and tea/coffee making facilities. There was no air conditioning but we requested a fan and it was in our room after we came back from dinner. Drinks prices were not extortionate as in some hotels and the food in the restaurant was beautiful. The staff were very friendly, nothing too much trouble. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blusher15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

Set in a beautiful, peaceful location, Bron Eifion's attentive staff provided us with an excellent and discreet service. Our afternoon tea was delicious.
We shall be returning to Criccieth later in the year, and will most definitely be returning to Bron Eifion. Perfect location surrounded by the most majestic land and seascapes.
Thank you for everything.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Catryn37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

This hotel is just outside of Criccieth in a secluded location. The building is pretty with a large dining room enclosed by walls of windows overlooking the property of lawns and woods. Impressive ceiling, stairs and railings upstairs. A roaring fire in the fireplace. Very nice, accommodating staff, both in the hotel and restaurant. Probably one of the best dinners we had on our week-long journey, with the kitchen willing to make personal adjustments to our meals. Our room was nicely decorated and cozy.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 917AJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

We spent a lovely afternoon in beautiful surroundings.
Popped in for Sunday lunch without a booking, we were made to feel very welcome, our coats were taken and we were showed to the lounge, where we had a drink before lunch.

The staff are very helpful, the food was outstanding four star and four star staff.
Would recommend the Bron Eifion to any one.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

Booked to stay over the bank holiday weekend 4 of May with my wife.

The staff were very friendly. Marie the manager went out of her way to accommodate 11 (6 adults 5 kids) for sunday lunch at short notice. The food was excellent and very good value for money. After lunch we let the kids play in the grounds while the adults had drinks and enjoyed the rest of the afternoon.

The car parking was free and safe to leave your car which is important to me.

Overall a very pleasant way to spend the weekend, and would not hesitate to stop there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

I didn't get to stay but I was charged the sum of £165 for this. However, it was the woman who called at 11pm on a Thursday night waking me up and being extremely rude about my whereabouts that has tarnished this hotel. This level of hotel you would not expect or accept this lack of customer service.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank GoldieBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mheenan, Manager at Bron Eifion Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
The person writing this review had a booking with us made through a third party. On the day of arrival I waited for them until last check in at 10:00pm. I then tried to contact them to ascertain if they were on their way. There was no answer. I contacted the third party booking agency and they notified me that as per the terms and conditions, they would be put down as a "no show" and full charge would be made to their card.
I tried to contact them one last time at 10:30pm only to be told firstly that they had cancelled the booking (which they had not) secondly, that they had changed the date, which was also untrue and thirdly that she was ill in bed!
I then informed her that as per the terms and conditions of the booking, full charge would be made. To which she agreed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Criccieth
1.0 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.9 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
George IV Hotel
George IV Hotel
#4 of 6 in Criccieth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
5.0 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
8.9 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bron Eifion Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bron Eifion Country House Hotel

Property: Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
Address: Hwy A497 | Criccieth Gwynedd, Criccieth LL52 OSA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bron Eifion Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificent country house in 5 acres of gardens. Peace and tranquility, superb cuisine, well-stocked wine cellar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bron Eifion Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bron Eifion Country Hotel
Bron Eifion Country Criccieth
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel Criccieth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing