We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super north Wales break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My partner and I have visited north Wales before many times but this was the first time at this lovely hotel. We were greeted with a friendly welcome and shown to our rooms with the offer of a complimentary cup of tea and coffee in the lounge after we had unpacked. The lady who checked us in was really helpful and attentive giving lots of information about local attractions and events and even went to the trouble of offering to book tickets for us on-line saving us time and trouble. We had dinner in the restaurant on each night of our stay as the menu was changed each day with fab local dishes, salt marsh lamb, locally caught lobster and a fantastic banana bread pudding! 2courses for £25.00 which we thought was excellent value for money. The restaurant has to be one of the most amazing rooms I have seen, certainly in a country house hotel. It's beautiful and the food definitely does it justice. The bed was comfy and the room spotlessly clean.
Breakfast is just as good with everything served at the table. No buffet serve yourself style . Everything is cooked to order meant a little wait but we'll worth it and when you stay in a place like this why hurry - We,ve discovered our fave place and will be coming back soon, can't wait!

Room Tip: We booked a deluxe big bed and lots of space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 184Jeanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2013

Just spent four fabulous days at this hotel with my husband and our two friends. First class service and very friendly and welcoming staff. There is a lovely terrace with hanging baskets all around and we had dinner each evening "al fresco" it just felt like a holiday abroad and the food was excellent. My friend who is a celiac said they gave her the best food she has ever had! We will definitely return and hope we can book the same weather for our next trip please broneifion? Thank you to all

Room Tip: Book direct with them - so they can tell you about the rooms in more detail
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This beautifully located hotel stands in lovely grounds and is close to the sea. Had a short stay at this country hotel. The Manager very accommodating and the staff lovely but not enough of them!! Very long delays for breakfast and staff working overtime to clean rooms and hotel areas. This was probably due to the hotel being full, but it should not happen. However, we will return as our stay was very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Front rooms have a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suesMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We were shown to our table as we arrived and thenjust left there, we were totally ignored by the staff for at least 15 to 20 mins. Tried to get there attention when they were passing to no avail. Had to get up in the end to ask for menu. We were offered a drink as compensatiopn and I had a glass of wine which all I can say is that they must of gone to the dishwasher to fill my glass.
The starters were just thrown on the plate wish soggy salad. The main course was served with vegetables on the plate not in a bowl on the side and the Yorkshire pudding tasted of nothing but burned fat. My hubby had the salmon with mustard mash and the plate was piled high with the most disgusting pile of mash hes ever tasted. We did comment to the waiters and they just appologised and when we went to pay the bill the Manager(Woman) just said o well. If we didnt have a voucher for the meal I would of insisted on not paying. Worst meal ever if I could score a minus I would.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Wendy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

As the weather had finally settled we decided to take a couple of days break in North Wales. The Bron Eifion seemed to fit the bill as it was central to where we wanted to visit. The hotel was a joy to behold from the moment we arrived. A beautiful country manor in well maintained gardens, overlooking the sea. We were greeted and shown to our room, whereupon we were informed we had been give an upgrade, we were delighted to find a spectacular bedroom and bathroom, there was plenty of storage with a wall mounted flat screen television and tea/coffee making facilities. There was no air conditioning but we requested a fan and it was in our room after we came back from dinner. Drinks prices were not extortionate as in some hotels and the food in the restaurant was beautiful. The staff were very friendly, nothing too much trouble. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blusher15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Set in a beautiful, peaceful location, Bron Eifion's attentive staff provided us with an excellent and discreet service. Our afternoon tea was delicious.
We shall be returning to Criccieth later in the year, and will most definitely be returning to Bron Eifion. Perfect location surrounded by the most majestic land and seascapes.
Thank you for everything.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
Thank Catryn37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

This hotel is just outside of Criccieth in a secluded location. The building is pretty with a large dining room enclosed by walls of windows overlooking the property of lawns and woods. Impressive ceiling, stairs and railings upstairs. A roaring fire in the fireplace. Very nice, accommodating staff, both in the hotel and restaurant. Probably one of the best dinners we had on our week-long journey, with the kitchen willing to make personal adjustments to our meals. Our room was nicely decorated and cozy.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 917AJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Criccieth
0.9 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
397 reviews
0.8 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
302 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,063 reviews
0.6 mi away
George IV Hotel
George IV Hotel
#4 of 6 in Criccieth
242 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Moelwyn
The Moelwyn
#6 of 6 in Criccieth
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bron Eifion Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bron Eifion Country House Hotel

Address: Hwy A497 | Criccieth Gwynedd, Criccieth LL52 OSA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Price Range: £103 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificent country house in 5 acres of gardens. Peace and tranquility, superb cuisine, well-stocked wine cellar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bron Eifion Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bron Eifion Country Hotel
Bron Eifion Country Criccieth
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel Criccieth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing