We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant stay at a lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A very pleasant stay at a lovely hotel”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I stayed two nights while visiting Portmerion and other sites nearby. We had a beautifully decorated room with a large four-poster bed and a well appointed altbeit small bathroom. The entire hotel was lovely and had a warm feel to it. Staff were friendly and responsive.

The gardens are large but parts of it could use some maintenance. We enjoyed the lovely sea views from the spacious terrace where we had pre-dinner drinks, and on one night, post-dinner drinks.

Dinner each night was very good but not quite outstanding. Breakfast was a little slow the first day and came in drips and drabs. The second morning, the waiters had remembered how we wanted to be served and it was much better. The Garden Room restaurant is a conservatory which opens to the outdoors. It seemed a bit too spacious (i.e.empty) for the number of people dining but much better than being crowded together.

The beer and wine by the glass selection was limited (I don't like Savignon Blanc) but the wine list by bottle was much better and reasonably priced. My husband was happy with the local beer. There is no real bar area to sit in, but happily, the weather was great and we sat outside.

We would definitely stay again if we are in the area. It is a good spot for visiting this part of Wales. It is a true country house hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are more accessible than the second floor as there are lots of stairs and n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simmkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Welsh_Manager, Owner at Bron Eifion Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Many thanks for your kind and constructive review

Kind regards
Mary Heenan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    47
    20
    19
    12
See reviews for
67
136
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Went to a friends wedding at this hotel recently and found the location to be beautiful especially as the weather was perfect and most guests enjoyed sitting outside in the sun. The gardens are beautiful and well maintained. The room where the reception was held was a little crowded making it a bit of a squeeze to get from one end to the other but the tables were nicely decorated.Unfortunately the food was a little disappointing. Starter lovely, main course, which took 20 mins to be served from the top table to the furthest table with just two waitresses serving over 100 people, was just ok. Portion sizes were small and some plates didn't have the full choice of vegetables that others did. Desert was nice. The room was also very hot which made it visibly uncomfortable for some guests, perhaps some fans or air con? I think that had there been more staff and more attention paid to the main course my review would have been excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audtommo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Welsh_Manager, Owner at Bron Eifion Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Sorry we disappointed you, the Bride and Groom were delighted with their wedding day!

Kind Regards
Mary Heenan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Just back from a 3 night stay at the Bron Eifion Country House Hotel which is just outside Criccieth North Wales the entrance is well sign posted on the A497 so you can't miis it. This hotel is a great place to act as a base as you tour north Wales. From booking to leaving we could not have been made more welcome, the staff are wonderful nothing is ever too much trouble for them and Marie the hotel manager is always on hand. This is not a large group owned hotel this is a small hotel that puts quality and individual service first which makes a refreshing change. Our room (room 9) was on the first floor and designated a superior double. It had a super king sized bed two small chairs wardrobe and dressing and 2 bedside tables with a en suite bathroom.more than big enough for the two of us very comfortable. Good wi fi speed and was spotlessly clean and tidy. The food here was second to none. They do not serve fast food they serve fresh food, well cooked and seasoned.and presented.In fact I would say it was some the best food I have had in UK hotel. Even if you can't find the time to stay here if you are passing then book a dinner you will not be disappointed. Overall I would highly recommend visiting this hotel sit back a relax in the gardens enjoy a nice pint of beer and just let time go by for a while enjoy a superb dinner back out onto the patio for a coffee or brandy and then off to a lovely room for a peaceful night sleep. . .. .

Room Tip: All rooms look nice but the more you pay the bigger the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamworth_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Welsh_Manager, Owner at Bron Eifion Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Bron Eifion in the future

Kind regards
Mary Heenan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

What a lovely hotel - set in beautiful well maintained gardens with a good location for the town centre and beach (approx 10 min stroll). Staff were friendly and attentive, room was very clean, tastefully decorated (as is the rest of the hotel) and well serviced. Food served in the elegant 'Garden Room' was very nice and the great weather allowed us to enjoy the wonderful surroundings with a drink on the patio. Quiet and relaxing, this is a gem we will definitely return to (good location for golf courses).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trevellor66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Welsh_Manager, Owner at Bron Eifion Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Lovely! Thanks for taking the time and trouble to review Bron Eifion. I hope we can welcome you back again another time

Kind regards
Mary Heenan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pwllheli
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

What can i say this hotel has to be one the best in the criccieth area's
Bathrooms ar great food was great staff were happy to help and polite
And the grounds were out of this world
I regret i didn't get hitched here
The wife loved it so much and there was a lot to see in the area

Credit to the managment for trying to keep the old looks 5* for me

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank tbarryev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed a lovely wedding at Bron Eifion. Weather matched the lovely venue. Facilities are superb for a small or large wedding. The balcony area was bathed in glorious sunshine and made the day perfect.
Staff lovely food great 10/10. Everything was excellent.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank arigriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Attended a wedding at this hotel set in beautiful grounds. Weather was perfect and we were able to enjoy and soak up the sunshine as the hotel has a wonderful patio and seating area adjacent to the bar and function room. The attention to detail was very impressive and as the hotel had been exclusively hired by the bridal party we felt very relaxed and enjoyed every bit of the day.The staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble even with over 120 guests attending. The food was very good and the bar prices very reasonable. Top marks and thank you for a lovely day!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Criccieth
1.0 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
372 reviews
0.9 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
283 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
George IV Hotel
George IV Hotel
#4 of 6 in Criccieth
221 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Moelwyn
The Moelwyn
#6 of 6 in Criccieth
106 reviews
5.0 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bron Eifion Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bron Eifion Country House Hotel

Property: Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
Address: Hwy A497 | Criccieth Gwynedd, Criccieth LL52 OSA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bron Eifion Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificent country house in 5 acres of gardens. Peace and tranquility, superb cuisine, well-stocked wine cellar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bron Eifion Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bron Eifion Country Hotel
Bron Eifion Country Criccieth
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel Criccieth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing