We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could have stayed longer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Certificate of Excellence
Lake District, U.K.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wish we could have stayed longer”
Reviewed 12 February 2006

A lovely hotel in a superb situation just on the outskirts of Criccieth. Public rooms and grounds excellent and views out towards the sea, fantastic. Bedrooms of varying shapes and sizes as you would expect in an old building, far preferable to so many city centre, modern, standard boxes.Our bedroom was large with a nice bathroom with shower over and a 6 foot bed. We had dinner and it was excellent and the wine list was exceedingly fair priced. Friendly staff, log fires, nice food, beautiful views, lovely situation. Would we stay again, can't wait!

Stayed February 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank OldVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    45
    18
    19
    11
See reviews for
63
135
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2006

This hotel is a good location for basing oneself for a driving holiday in the north west of Wales.

The hotel has beautiful public areas, and a lovely dining room. I only ate here at breakfast which was great - excellent food and service.

The room I had was adequate and comfortable though not large (I was booked into a single room). The only drawback to it was that it was on the top floor and getting bags up the two flights of stairs gave me quite a workout!

I Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aeryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2005

This hotel is absolutely gorgeous and the staff were really friendly and helpful, (especially to our 8 month old son), during our short stay. We enjoyed a bed&breakfast and evening meal package, and were very impressed with the food served for dinner, (eg. Welsh lamb, lemon sole with banana & curry sauce, duck with kumquat, pear and whisky tarte etc)
The location is fantastic with views over the sea, and the public rooms are superb with an ornate minstrels gallery as you walk into the hotel.

Our room (#9) was a great size (=big!) and felt incredibly homely. The only reason I've knocked off 1 star is that our bathroom was a little dated (although it was spotlessley clean). [1970's avacado green suite with brown walls and a shower head that needed de-scaling]. This, though was genuinely minor in the grand scheme of things, and I would thoroughly recommend, (and look forward to revisiting), this great hotel.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Eskimo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2005

Stayed here at the end of May - just the one night but a lovely country house hotel - beautiful gardens and excellent rooms. Didn't eat in the restaurant which did seem a little pricey, but otherwise found absolutely nothing to fault this hotel which makes a pleasant change for hotels in the UK. Staff were very friendly as well - which always helps make for a better stay.

Helpful?
4 Thank OliversArmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsley
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2004

Stayed at the Bron Efion for five nights at the beginning of June on a bed, breakfast and evening meal basis. We had a family room on the top floor of the hotel (overlooking the lovely gardens) which was very spacious. The staff were extremely friendly and professional and very 'jokey' with our son (aged 10). The food was wonderful with plenty of choice. We were also particularly blessed with wonderful weather! The hotel was great with an older child but I don't think is an appropriate choice for young children.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank biddy1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 29 September 2003

A beautiful hotel with very friendly and courteous staff who all seemed aware of who we were, how long we were staying, what room we were in etc.

We stayed in one of the superior rooms for a small surcharge and the decor and facilities were superb.

The hotel is surrounded by beautiful gardens which were a pleasure to stroll around while I waited for my wife to get ready for dinner!

The restaurant is first class and the ambience perfect for a wonderful evening dining.

As we were there for only one night it was a shame to leave so soon. We will definitely be back when we have another anniversary to celebrate.

  • Stayed September 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Criccieth
1.0 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
356 reviews
0.9 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
275 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
George IV Hotel
George IV Hotel
#4 of 6 in Criccieth
207 reviews
5.0 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
658 reviews
8.9 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bron Eifion Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bron Eifion Country House Hotel

Property: Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
Address: Hwy A497 | Criccieth Gwynedd, Criccieth LL52 OSA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bron Eifion Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificent country house in 5 acres of gardens. Peace and tranquility, superb cuisine, well-stocked wine cellar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bron Eifion Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bron Eifion Country Hotel
Bron Eifion Country Criccieth
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel Criccieth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing