We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ice cream, ice cream, ice cream!”
Review of Cadwaladers

Cadwaladers
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Criccieth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$8
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Description: Cadwaladers was established in 1927 in the little village of Criccieth by David and Hannah Cadwalader. Over the years, we have expanded our popular ice cream and coffee cafes all over Wales and England, bringing the best quality service and products to our customers. We are proud to still serve our traditional recipe ice cream developed by Hannah Cadwalader (which still includes the famously secret ingredient!) and now our specially developed exclusive blend of espresso, hot chocolate and loose leaf tea which have been designed to redefine the standards of excellence in hot beverages. With our competitive prices, special products and caring team, we can assure you that we can provide options for all the family, including gluten free ice cream and cakes.So bring your friends, children, partner and dogs! To our lovely cosy cafés and relax in comfort whilst our friendly team treat you to the very best Wales can bring, served with a great deal of love and care.
Reviewed 28 July 2014

You've got to be determined! Situated on quite a steep slope, Cadwaladers is the place for ice cream. With more flavours that you can shake a wafer at, and toppings to match this is a must for all ice cream lovers. Be prepared to work of it though. The walk up the slope from the beach can really test anyones resolve, but don't give up. You'll love it when you get there. PS, take more money than you think you need, it's a little pricey.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Zpiatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CadwaladersMarketing, Public Relations Manager at Cadwaladers, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for your review.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon!

Kindest Regards
Cadwaladers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (690)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

518 - 522 of 690 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

What seems a great variety of ice cream, my grandson enjoyed a chocolate variety and an amazing variety of cones to choose from. I personally struggled back to the beach with mine as it was a hot day and soon melted. I was also trying to carry two take out coffees but with no take out holder to place them in this was a dodgy and risky encounter. It never ceases to amaze me the shops that advertise take out hot drinks and expect you risk all carrying them.

Thank themarle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This ice cream is to die for! Being pensioners, the climb up the hill can be a bit of a challenge, but well worth it. A choice of lovely crispy cones and around twenty different flavoured ice creams. Stand there and drool while you decide!
They also have a very good café with breath-taking views over the bay, should you wish to sit a while.

Thank kenrick48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CadwaladersMarketing, Public Relations Manager at Cadwaladers, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for your lovely review.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again very soon!

Kindest Regards
Cadwaladers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Cadwaladers is must stop ice cream shop. It is always full of dedicated ice cream eaters.loands if tempting fatours are exciting ANC interesting. As yet I have nothing I don,t like, so i surprise I will be a customer for years. C

Thank Eileen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CadwaladersMarketing, Public Relations Manager at Cadwaladers, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for your review!
We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kindest Regards
Cadwaladers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

What a shame. It's lost its originality. Tasted very ordinary. The shop has changed into a cafe. My boys used to love going in there and looking at the ice cream maker and picking what sprinkles to have on their plain ice cream as that was all they sold. Shame, shame.

Thank waldershelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CadwaladersMarketing, Public Relations Manager at Cadwaladers, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for your review.

We take customer service very seriously and truly appreciate your feedback.

For us to investigate further and rectify the situation please email: info@cadwaladers.com

Kindest Regards
Cadwaladers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cadwaladers also viewed

 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Cadwaladers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing