We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Immediate relaxation”
Review of Glyn-y-Coed Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2011

We had a fantastic 3 night stay at this friendly, well run hotel.
After finishing work one afternoon we drove to Criccieth from our home, 3 hours away and upon arrival were transported to a place of relaxing calm and quiet .
Rooms are tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean.Views are great and breakfast must not be missed ( my wife made sure of that).
Julie is a charming host and unobtrusively assists with your every need.Offered tea on arrival, gave us and other guests maps and ideas for tours of the peninsula (don't miss the Welsh language centre) and directed us to the best places to eat..She surely is an ace concierge, check in assistant, maitre'd and hotel manager all rolled into one!
How does she do it?
Room for imporovement?-Can't think of anything.Stay there yourself and see if you can find anything!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisreidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
There are newer reviews for Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2011

We have just stayed for the Easter break for 3 nights. The hotel is spotlessly clean and tidy and the decor is excellent. Our room was at the side of the house overlooking the car park / driveway, but we could still see the castle if you looked to the left. We had booked the 'smaller' room which was totally fine, think we were the first people to use this recently refurbished room. The ensuite was beautifully tiled and immaculate, the pretty touches of elegant light fittings, cushions, bed throws, vase on window sill made the room lovely. The carpet was new and fluffy, walked around in bare feet - not something I normally do in hotels etc.
Julie was very welcoming and helpful with chats about where to go. Breakfast was lovely, a buffet area with cereals, bowls of various fruits such as chopped grapefruit and raspberries and melon, fresh tea and coffee, orange juice, yoghurts, fruit. Followed by a non greasy cooked breakfast and toast. Lovely.
There are quite a few restaurants and pubs just up the road, and a fab chippy near the castle. We went to the poachers restaurant and had a 3 course meal for £19, worthy of a 5star hotel, excellent.

Room Tip: An excellent location and very clean and tidy.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen-9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights and relaxed immediately. The house is an elegant Victorian house which has been sympathetically decorated.You feel you are in good hands with Julie who is the best travel guide. If she tells you somewhere is worth going to - it is! We stayed here with a view to visiting Snowdon but ended up touring the peninsular (with Julie's uniquie maps!) which has some unexpected delights. The hotel is spotless and has views of the sea from the front rooms.. The road and trains can be a little noisy so if that would bother you, have a rear room. This has the loveliest guest lounge, a great honesty bar and a relaxed atmosphere.

If you want to tour the beatiful Llyn Peninsular (do!) and Snowdonia it is a perfect spot and has an abundance of eateries even out of season. We didn't get to Snowdon as the cloud was very low so we will be coming back to try again -and we will stay here

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank expectsthebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

Julie makes you feel very welcome.
The rooms are great as are the breakfasts - help yourself to fruit, cereal and/or yoghurt and then tailor you cooked breakfast.
Julie was very helpful with her recommendations or places to visit.
Would definitely stay here again and would wholeheartedly recommend.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank BOA99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2010

Having just stayed for two nights here, my wife and I both agreed that we will certainly be returning. The place has been furnished to a very good standard and is spotlessly clean. The breakfasts have enough variety to suit the most picky (Julie is happy to provide any derivation of the traditional cooked breakfast). Having a bowl of fresh fruit was also a bonus which I've not often seen at British B&B's or small hotels. Julie and her staff are friendly and helpful without being intrusive. The only (small) concern we had was the size of our toilet/shower. It was perfectly functional but a bit on the small side. However, this just might have been particular to our room. Regarding eating out in the area, we dined both nights at Poachers which is within 5 minutes walk. The set menu is excellent value and the food is superb.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geffroi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

Julie and Dafydd were warm and welcoming hosts for whom nothing was too much trouble. My elderly mother and I stayed at the Glyn-y-Coed for four days and were so delighted with our stay that we plan to return in the spring for a few days.
The rooms are well appointed, beds supremely comfortable, food service and presentation excellent, cleanliness....well my mother couldn't find any dust... which means there wasn't any !
We both regularly holiday on cruise ships which are renowned for their quality of service and can honestly say that for comfort and being well looked after this hotel is just the place to stay.
To the person who complained about not getting a reply to their email, I had this problem and discovered it was due to the web hosting company failing to link correctly. When I copy and pasted the email address into my own mail service I got a very nice note of reply immediately.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markrenaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2010

What more can i say, greeted with a pot of tea, stunning views over sea and mountains, clean beautifully decorated rooms with a hostess to match. Julie made us very welcome pointing out places of interest. We have already booked our next stay!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annebrackett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Criccieth
0.1 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
390 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,475 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Moelwyn
The Moelwyn
#6 of 6 in Criccieth
110 reviews
4.1 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
696 reviews
3.7 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glyn-y-Coed Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glyn-y-Coed Hotel

Address: Portmadog Road, Criccieth LL52 0HP, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Price Range: £75 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glyn-y-Coed Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the sea, castle and mountains, Glyn y Coed is a ten bedroomed Victorian house offering Bed and Breakfast. We have private parking and are just minutes walk from the beach, castle, cafes and excellent restaurants. We are situated centrally for visiting the Llyn Peninsula (with stunning scenery and beaches), Snowdonia, down the coast towards Harlech and up the coast to Caernarfon. We are also near to Portmeirion, the Ffestiniog & Welsh Highland Railways, the ZipWires etc. We can offer maps and good advice on places of interest. Please call us for more information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Glyn-y-Coed Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel Criccieth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing