We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hospitality at its best....”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Glyn-y-Coed Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Certificate of Excellence
Minchinhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Hospitality at its best....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

From arrival to departure the owner was friendly and helpful, and particularly nice to my elderly parents (even gave my mother a gift on her birthday!). The breakfast was really good and the rooms, lounge and breakfast room spotlessly clean. For the views and a bit more space it is definitely worth the extra for a room at the front, overlooking the sea and the castle. And Julie is a fount of knowledge about the local area if you need advice on where to go, what to visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    35
    9
    3
    6
See reviews for
56
157
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

We have just returned from staying here. The room we stayed in was lovely - beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and with a beautiful view over the sea, mountains and the castle. the bed was so comfortable I slept for 10 hours last night. Julie, the owner, could not have been more helpful.

Room Tip: we paid extra to get a sea view and I would highly recommend this. The view is so beautiful the fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunwick
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

We as a family have just spent 2 night here. The accommodation is very good, it's modern yet homely.

I was also impressed with the cleanliness.

It's very accomodating, friendly and has a great location.

We were a family of four and stayed in the family room the first night which was very spacious and had many dvd's, and games etc.. and then as we decided to stay another we had two twin rooms.

Very hard to fault.

We will be looking to stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Studious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

I've stayed at this lovely B & B twice this year, first with my husband in March then I took a party of 4 American visitors in April. The owner Julie is friendly, helpful and professional, the rooms (especially the front ones with sea views) are beautifully furnished and the whole place is spotlessly clean. The lounge and the breakfast room are spacious, well decorated and furnished and breakfast is fab. Nothing is too much trouble for Julie. Criccieth is a pretty little town and a good spot for touring North Wales. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are sunny, light, spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

Stayed in a family room with our grandchildren for the weekend.The whole hotel is clean and comfortable. breakfast was lovely, plenty of choice and freshly prepared. Julie, is pleasant and helpful and we were made to feel very welcome. The hotel is ideally situated in Criccieth without having to get into the car for the beach or restuarants. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dosyoldtwonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

We chose to stay here as a result of good trip advisor reviews and were not disappointed. Excellent location on the main Portmadog road, friendly welcome and a pot of tea were just what we needed. The front facing rooms and lounge have superb views of the coast and mountains. Our family room at the back looked over gardens and the chickens and was a excellent size with a comfy sofa, room to move around, tea and coffee facilities and a wide range of board games and DVDs. Everywhere was beautifully decorated with special flair. Plenty of parking to the side of the house. Julie is a charming host, friendly and interested and very willing to help you plan a day out. She gave us an itinerary for a drive round the Lleyn peninsular that we would never have worked out ourselves that took us to some stunning views. An excellent choice for us.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms for a stunning view but all are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FussyPeeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

Recently spent 3 nights here for a relaxing break. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, breakfast was excellent, ample choice to set you up for the day. Hotel decor lovely, someone has an eye for interior design. Front rooms have fabulous view over the bay and castle. Towels, toiletries and hairdryer provided and tea and coffee in room, even had chocolate treat one day. Lovely and warm for an off-season break. Spotlessly clean. Car parking on site and a stone's throw walk from town centre with several places to eat. Julie is a very attentive and knowledgeable host and would recommend you avail of her local knowledge with regard to visiting picturesque areas of the peninsula which you may otherwise not come across. By the same token she is not over-intrusive. All in all would thoroughly recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: First floor double room at front fabulous view and very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freewheelerhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Criccieth
0.1 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
George IV Hotel
George IV Hotel
#4 of 6 in Criccieth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
4.1 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Moelwyn
The Moelwyn
#6 of 6 in Criccieth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glyn-y-Coed Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glyn-y-Coed Hotel

Property: Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Address: Portmadog Road, Criccieth LL52 0HP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Glyn-y-Coed Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glyn-y-Coed Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel Criccieth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing