We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great break in great surroundings”
Review of Glyn-y-Coed Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Warm welcome, fresh décor, super home-made food and lots of ideas for a grand day out. Our small group stayed in rooms 2 and 8 - very clean and comfortable. Pot of tea on arrival started a great break. Well done Julie and Karen - we'll return.

Room Tip: All have been recently decorated - nothing to chose between them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobmelton87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2013

A warm welcome, easy, off-road parking, ideally sited for walking to the restaurants, castle and beaches, great breakfast. Not only is the decoration fresh and immaculate, but (to my eyes, at least) tasteful and luxurious. The room I had puts a number of multi-star, "superior quality" hotels to shame. It is also wonderfully quiet at night. I would not hesitate to stay here again as I think this hotel is exceptional. (For anyone considering visiting Criccieth for the first time, it is a lovely, unspoiled seaside town with plenty of good places to eat and a great base for Snowdonia).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

From arrival to departure the owner was friendly and helpful, and particularly nice to my elderly parents (even gave my mother a gift on her birthday!). The breakfast was really good and the rooms, lounge and breakfast room spotlessly clean. For the views and a bit more space it is definitely worth the extra for a room at the front, overlooking the sea and the castle. And Julie is a fount of knowledge about the local area if you need advice on where to go, what to visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We have just returned from staying here. The room we stayed in was lovely - beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and with a beautiful view over the sea, mountains and the castle. the bed was so comfortable I slept for 10 hours last night. Julie, the owner, could not have been more helpful.

Room Tip: we paid extra to get a sea view and I would highly recommend this. The view is so beautiful the fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We as a family have just spent 2 night here. The accommodation is very good, it's modern yet homely.

I was also impressed with the cleanliness.

It's very accomodating, friendly and has a great location.

We were a family of four and stayed in the family room the first night which was very spacious and had many dvd's, and games etc.. and then as we decided to stay another we had two twin rooms.

Very hard to fault.

We will be looking to stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Studious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

I've stayed at this lovely B & B twice this year, first with my husband in March then I took a party of 4 American visitors in April. The owner Julie is friendly, helpful and professional, the rooms (especially the front ones with sea views) are beautifully furnished and the whole place is spotlessly clean. The lounge and the breakfast room are spacious, well decorated and furnished and breakfast is fab. Nothing is too much trouble for Julie. Criccieth is a pretty little town and a good spot for touring North Wales. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are sunny, light, spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sue j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Stayed in a family room with our grandchildren for the weekend.The whole hotel is clean and comfortable. breakfast was lovely, plenty of choice and freshly prepared. Julie, is pleasant and helpful and we were made to feel very welcome. The hotel is ideally situated in Criccieth without having to get into the car for the beach or restuarants. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dosyoldtwonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Criccieth
0.1 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
397 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 2 in Portmeirion
1,541 reviews
3.7 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Moelwyn
The Moelwyn
#6 of 6 in Criccieth
111 reviews
4.1 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glyn-y-Coed Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glyn-y-Coed Hotel

Address: Portmadoc Road, Criccieth LL52 0HP, Wales (Formerly Glyn-y-Coed Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Price Range: £82 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glyn-y-Coed Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the sea, castle and mountains, Glyn y Coed is a ten bedroomed Victorian house offering Bed and Breakfast. Private parking and just minutes walk from the beach, castle, cafes and excellent restaurants. We are situated centrally for visiting the Llyn Peninsula (with stunning scenery and beaches), Snowdonia, down the coast towards Harlech and up the coast to Caernarfon. We are also near to Portmeirion, the Ffestiniog & Welsh Highland Railways, the ZipWires etc. We can offer maps and good advice on places of interest. Please call us for more information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Glyn-y-Coed Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel Criccieth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing