We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel an owner. Very lucky to find it on the day.”
Review of Glyn-y-Coed Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Certificate of Excellence
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel an owner. Very lucky to find it on the day.”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Went to Abersoch on Bank hoilday Sunday and decided to stay over if we could find somewhere available. Very busy in Abersoch so decided to try Criccieth and were fortunate to find a room available at Glyn-y-Coed. It is in an outstanding position and our room (6) overlooked the sea and the castle. Julie, the owner is a very friendly person, breakfast very good and room really light an airy. The bed was really comfy and we both had a good nights sleep. The only small criticism was the very ornate but hard wooden chairs in the bedroom window, which was the only place to sit, apart from the bed, but by piling on lots of cushions, of which there were quite a few on the bed, I managed to make myself a comfortable seat. There was also an honesty bar where you helped yourself to a wide variety of booze and put the money in the pot.

All in all and to say we went on spec, we found a grand place to stay and would definitly recommend. Well done Julie

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carole022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    35
    9
    3
    6
See reviews for
56
166
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Batley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Upon arrival we were warmly greeted and served very good coffee. The room was spotlessly clean though small, and views were over peoples back gardens. I'd strongly recommend booking one of the spacious front sea view rooms.
Breakfast was nicely cooked; however vegetarian option was the breakfast without the sausage and bacon - I was given extra mushrooms.
Nice touches: crystal glasses in the bar
candles in the bathroom
umbrellas and fishing nets
not so great: views from room
noisy plumbing

Room Tip: Rooms 1, 6, 7 or 10 are spacious and have lovely sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyB_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stopped over in Criccieth after finding the only hotels in Abersoc was full and others not suitable. Well thats the best thing than can happen in life because not only is Criccieth great but the Glyn-y-coed has the best hostess and rooms you could possible want its one hotel you can recommend to friends and cant wait to go back again soon.
Many thanks to Julie for providing a great great place and a great example of how a hosts and hotel should be.
David and Vicki xx

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D19VET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, England
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

We have just spent 4 lovely nights at this lovely B&B. we had looked at the forecast which wasn't good for the week but it was totally wrong! We arrived to a beautiful blue sky, mill pond sea and a very warm reception from Julie, the owner. We only had a shower of rain on the Wednesday evening but it didn't last. The acuweather forecast was wrong each day and Julie said they often get people cancelling as they check the forecast. That area has its own micro climate and was lovely each day. If it started cloudy, it cleared by midday. The B&B was as beautiful as Criccieth itself. Don't drive through and ignore it. It knocks the surrounding towns into submission as it is very unspoilt. Lovely restaurants or pub grub if you prefer. A must for all. We will definitely go again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfreton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Lovely room, fab freshly cooked breakfast and great location. Parking is easy and off road - perfect for exploring the town and this wonderful area. Would highly recommend it. And the tea on arrival was much appreciated.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank waversuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypridd
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Very nice hotel in centre of Criccieth and an owner who makes you very welcome. Julie asked if I wanted a cup of tea as soon as I walked through the door. Parking is easy just off the main road. I was in "the Annexe" which is a lovely self contained room at the rear of the main hotel. Breakfast was freshly cooked and very filling I did need lunch that day. I would definatety go back again. There is a very good restaurant just up the road The Poachers and a real ale pub The Prince of Wales! You can't go wrong really! :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LewPontypridd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peak District National Park, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We arrived at the Glyn-y-Coed hotel after a long journey. Julie the owner greeted us with a warm welcome and a drink on the patio. Our room was very nicely decorated and the bed very comfortable. The views over the sea and Castle are wonderful. One of the mornings we were going to walk up Snowdon and Julie very kindly gave us an early breakfast to set up up for the day. She also recommended the places to eat in the local area, all of which were within a 5 min walk. Julie is really super host and will give you lots of information if you need it on places to visit. We had a super time here.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paddywack-8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Criccieth
0.1 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
378 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,444 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Moelwyn
The Moelwyn
#6 of 6 in Criccieth
107 reviews
4.1 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
681 reviews
3.7 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glyn-y-Coed Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glyn-y-Coed Hotel

Property: Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Address: Portmadog Road, Criccieth LL52 0HP, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Glyn-y-Coed Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the sea, castle and mountains, Glyn y Coed is a ten bedroomed Victorian house offering Bed and Breakfast. We have private parking and are just minutes walk from the beach, castle, cafes and excellent restaurants. We are situated centrally for visiting the Llyn Peninsula (with stunning scenery and beaches), Snowdonia, down the coast towards Harlech and up the coast to Caernarfon. We are also near to Portmeirion, the Ffestiniog & Welsh Highland Railways, the ZipWires etc. We can offer maps and good advice on places of interest. Please call us for more information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Glyn-y-Coed Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel Criccieth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing