We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B & B & service with a smile.”
Review of Glyn-y-Coed Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Certificate of Excellence
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely B & B & service with a smile.”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Got a very warm welcome on arrival. We were in Room 6 which is a lovely spacious room, nice & bright with fantastic views. Breakfast was lovely & served in a lovely light dining room with plenty of choice for what we wanted. Having been out one day Julie made us a Pot of tea to have in the lounge which we thought was a nice touch. There are plenty of places to visit round there so it is a good base to go from, & there were plenty of information leaflets & books in the lounge if you needed any ideas. All in all a very enjoyable stay & we hope to do a return visit sometime. It also transpired that Julie knows the area that we live in so we had a chat about it which was nice.

Room Tip: Room 6 has excellent views & even though the B & B is on a busy road it didn't bother us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnitaH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    35
    9
    3
    6
See reviews for
56
165
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We had room number 1 with a lovely view to both the beach and the castle, the room was spacious and well equipped, the shower a bit dated. The breakfast was limited as they did not provide boiled or poached eggs or any fish. The time for breakfast is limited to 45 min so guest from 10 rooms have to be served at the same time. You cannot checkout until 9.30 unless you want to pay the night before,which in case we could not, as they were all out.They are all very friendly,but I would stay in a place with less restrictions another time.

Room Tip: Room 1 with the seaside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myopinion70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Really lovely B&B very friendly and welcoming, worth having one of the sea view and castle view rooms, very pretty views. Breakfast was lovely and the owner Julie made a lot of effort to make sure your stay was comfortable and provided lots of great information about Snowdon for us. Only thing to note is to book direct and not to use late rooms or one of the other websites as they take so much commission that the B&B doesn't make any money!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gemsz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed at Glyn-y-Coed two years ago then returned in August 2013 with friends. Julie and her staff look after their guests really well. All rooms and en-suite bathrooms are beautifully appointed and have all the comforts you could want. Our rooms were on the top floor with a sea view. The lounge is comfortable and has information about places to visit - in fact, Julie provided some excellent advice about locations we weren't aware of. Criccieth is a great base for visits to Lleyn, Snowdonia and Anglesey and it also has a choice of excellent restaurants - The Moelwyn, Tir a Mor and Poachers. Also, just opposite the Lloyd George Museum in Llanystymdwy, Tafarn-y-Plu is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent but ones with sea views are worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sg01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2013

we had a brilliant weeks holiday here,had a super room with the loveliest view from a b & b we've ever had,the owner,Julie,who together with her assistant Karen gave us a very friendly welcome,and also gave us loads of information about wonderful places to visit on the Llyn peninsula which we never would have found ourselves.
Spotlessly clean and comfortable everywhere,excellent breakfasts,within easy walking distance of pubs and restaurants in Criccieth.All in all a great find,we definitely hope to be back!

Room Tip: pay extra for a larger room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meldon2793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2013

A last-minute booking just before a bank holiday.

Clean, recently-decorated rooms. Very friendly and attentive host, who was happy to offer useful information. Good choice at breakfast, with items cooked to order. Pleasant lounge with great view of the castle. Nice location- not far from main restaurants/pubs and the beach.

Room Tip: Slept in the room 4 (twin) annex at the back. I didn't mind having to cross the car park to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yangtseoryonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We were given a great welcome and throughout our stay Julie was very friendly and helpful. Spotlessly clean and stylish ( - the rooms as well as Julie!). Good view of the floodlit castle. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 900Diana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Criccieth
0.1 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
374 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,440 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Moelwyn
The Moelwyn
#6 of 6 in Criccieth
107 reviews
3.7 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
4.1 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glyn-y-Coed Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glyn-y-Coed Hotel

Property: Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Address: Portmadog Road, Criccieth LL52 0HP, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Glyn-y-Coed Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the sea, castle and mountains, Glyn y Coed is a ten bedroomed Victorian house offering Bed and Breakfast. We have private parking and are just minutes walk from the beach, castle, cafes and excellent restaurants. We are situated centrally for visiting the Llyn Peninsula (with stunning scenery and beaches), Snowdonia, down the coast towards Harlech and up the coast to Caernarfon. We are also near to Portmeirion, the Ffestiniog & Welsh Highland Railways, the ZipWires etc. We can offer maps and good advice on places of interest. Please call us for more information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Glyn-y-Coed Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel Criccieth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing