We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic, nice, great location, great service”
Review of Glyn-y-Coed Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2005

We had a very nice time at the hotel. Location is outstanding, we had a water view to die for. The rooms are large, cozy, well decorated, with big bay view windows and a nice sized bathroom. Everything is very clean and has a nice touch to it. Service is excellent, thank you Julie!

Breakfast ends too early on weekends, yet is very good. You will get excellent recommendations on what to do and where to go in the area.

We definetly recommend this hotel! Very romantic!

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank katya73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2005

We booked 2 nights bed and breakfast at the Glyn-y-Coed Hotel which is right on the main road as you head into Criccieth from Porthmadog. The hotel and rooms were absolutely immaculate and decorated no expense spared in a modern but very welcoming style. The owners of the hotel were welcoming and friendly and prepared to give you advice if asked. The breakfasts were very good too, we have stayed in hotels where the breakfasts come to you swimming in grease but not here! We would recommend a stay in this hotel. We stayed in room 10 which was a double ensuite room with a sea view. The view from the room was stunning - a full sea view and a view of the castle. The only downside of the room was you needed to shut the window to sleep as the main road was quite noisy and the train line ( although not many trains run on the line) is nearby too but the view made up for it! We used the hotel as a base for sightseeing a lot of North Wales and it was an ideal location. There's not a lot to do i the town itself, but there are several good places to eat. We tried the Tir-a-Mor and the food was very good. Best to book though.

13  Thank tinka14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Magnus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moyogalpa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank GIauEF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Chambre 3 pour les familles : un grand lit, deux lits superposés, et encore un petit salon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tram_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Criccieth
0.1 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
397 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,500 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Moelwyn
The Moelwyn
#6 of 6 in Criccieth
111 reviews
15.4 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,340 reviews
0.2 mi away
George IV Hotel
George IV Hotel
#4 of 6 in Criccieth
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glyn-y-Coed Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glyn-y-Coed Hotel

Address: Portmadoc Road, Criccieth LL52 0HP, Wales (Formerly Glyn-y-Coed Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Price Range: £78 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glyn-y-Coed Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the sea, castle and mountains, Glyn y Coed is a ten bedroomed Victorian house offering Bed and Breakfast. Private parking and just minutes walk from the beach, castle, cafes and excellent restaurants. We are situated centrally for visiting the Llyn Peninsula (with stunning scenery and beaches), Snowdonia, down the coast towards Harlech and up the coast to Caernarfon. We are also near to Portmeirion, the Ffestiniog & Welsh Highland Railways, the ZipWires etc. We can offer maps and good advice on places of interest. Please call us for more information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and LateRooms so you can book your Glyn-y-Coed Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel Criccieth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing