We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, well run hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Glyn-y-Coed Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, uk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Comfortable, well run hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

Comfortable, spacious room with view of sea and castle (we had room 1). Very clean and decoration looked fresh. Julie friendly and helpful. Good breakfast, parking to the side of the hotel. The only room available for an elderly relative was the annexe
but this proved ideal with no stairs and walk-in shower. It has obviously just been refurbished to high standards. The hotel is well placed overlooking the sea and close to restaurants. Criccieth is a clean, well kept small town with several restaurants. Everyone seems to go to the Poachers but found decor and food disappointing. Tyr a Mor good and nearby Chinese restaurant also good with very friendly staff. Prince of Wales pub has a nice atmosphere and only a short stroll away.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guywick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    35
    9
    3
    6
See reviews for
56
157
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2010

A really excellent B&B hotel. Well located with plenty of parking.
Bedooms stylish and comfortable, with several thoughtful extras. Downstairs drawing room beautifully furnished and welcoming.
Food generous in quantity and healthy in presentation.
Owner unfailingly cheerful, solicitous and helpful.
Really good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cestrians09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2010

For our first ever visit to Wales we choose The Glyn Y Coed because of its excellent revieuws and we were not disappointed. Having asked for a king size bed, we got the family room, which was great because of the seperate seating area (especially with the football on).Because we had to arrive a day early, we stayed our first night in room 8. It is a charming room,decorated with a lot of attention to detail which gives it a luxuary feel.
Throughout our stay we felt Julie puts a lot of thought and effort into into making her guests welcome. Having a room at the back she gave us a table with a vieuw in the breakfast room. I often associate 'English Breakfast' with greasy. Not Julies! A healthy first class breakfast. The icing on the cake for me was the fresh fruit salad. All this accompanied by soft music and Julies always cheerfull smile. A perfect way to start your day! We certainly fell in love with Wales,Criccieth and The Glyn Y Coed. Thank you Julie.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HuggyBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2010

We spent 4 glorious days at this hotel. The rooms were outstanding & the breakfast was excellent. Julie the very caring , friendly & helpful owner went out of her way to make us feel at home!! She even went out & bought black pudding especially for me for my breakfast. The hotel is 2 minutes from the town & has incredible views of the bay & the castle. I would heartily recommend this to anyone who is looking for a lovely place to stay in Criccieth

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank growlysgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2010

My husband grew up in Criccieth and despite no longer having family there we do like to come back once or twice a year. we always head straight to Glyn y Coed where we have been going since the current owner, Julie Key, took over some 8 years ago, it is second to none. It is ideally situated less than 5 mins walk from the shops, restaurants and beach and the welcome is always so warm and friendly.

The hotel is spotlessly clean, the beds divinely comfortable with soft matress toppers and high quality bedlinen that is changed more frequently than any hotel we have known. Small touches such as sachets of hot chocolate, packets of biscuits and full bottles of delicious smelling bubble bath and body lotion in the rooms show just how much thought and care goes into making your stay a real treat. Yes, the 4 rooms at the front are larger than the rest and have stunning views of the bay and castle but they are also slightly more expensive and obviously very popular. If want the best rooms our advice is to book well in advance and request the same when booking to avoid disappointment. That said we have stayed in most of the rooms over the years and all are very comfortable, tastefully decorated and with newly added flat screen TVs (with freeview). The couple who thought it was cold clearly had not read the guest literature or enquired because radiators can be adjusted to your liking (even in June they could be turned on a nippy evening). If you are disappointed not to get a sea view room there is a superbly kept garden with terrace and a very comfortable longe with 2 sofas and a large bay window seat both overlooking the bay and Julie is always happy to serve guests fine steaming pots of tea and coffee (with more yet buscuits) in either.

Breakfast is also worth a mention. In the dining room (again some tables overlook the stunning view) you are greated by the smell of an endless pot of freshly brewing ground coffee. An array of fruit, yogurts, juices and cereals is followed by the full English made with fine local bacon and sausages from the independent butcher on the high street, eggs, beans, fresh tomatoes, mushrooms and as much toast (brown or white) as you can eat. Flavoured teas are also available.

Finally, nothing is too much trouble for the propritor, from directions, sharing knowledge of places to visit, booking restaurants, etc it is all provided. We travel a lot in the UK and abroad, we have high standards and are very choosy about where we stay. We can honestly say that Glyn y Coed is one of the best small hotels we have stayed in, not a single gripe or disappointment in 8 years and we will keep and coming back time and again. You only have to read the guest book to see that we are not alone in this view.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatwomanLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2010

When booking I was asked whether I wanted a room front or back I chose back. Then I was asked, bath or shower, i chose shower. On arriving nobody there, just a key in the letter box! We were given room 8 on the first floor the note said. Having passed every bedroom, doors open and not being used, we arrive on the second floor at room 8. I am not exaggerating when I say that it is the smallest room in the building. The "bathroom" was that small that if you were using the toilet your knees would be inches from the shower curtain, and the basin was in the bedroom. The room was cold. If the "hotel" was full I could accept, but not when we were one of two couples staying there. What a way to treat a customer!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SAMUELLIVERPOOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarragona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2009

Our four night stay at the Glyn-y-Coed started with a welcoming pot of tea in the cosy lounge area. Julie, the owner, was happy to chat with us and immediately made us feel very welcome.

We stayed in the family room at the rear of the property. This was a very quiet room with plenty of space to relax in as it also has a little snug area with a sofa and a tv and video player. Thoughtfully provided for children are more than 50 videos which our daughter made the most of. Tastefully decorated and well maintained, this room was our retreat after long days out touring northern Wales.

Breakfasts consisted of plenty of fruit and cereals and a full cooked option (in addition). The service was speedy, well organized and friendly.

Located just 2 minutes walk from the sea front and the town centre, where several good restaurants can be found (we can recommend the Granvilles in particular), the Glyn-y-Coed is very well situated. We also found it a good base for visiting Snowdonia, Portmeirion, Porthmadog and Caenarvon.

The Tripadvisor recommendations we read for this hotel before booking were borne out completely and we were very satisfied with our choice. Would definitely stay here again if we decide to visit again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCR100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Criccieth
0.1 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
George IV Hotel
George IV Hotel
#4 of 6 in Criccieth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
4.1 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Moelwyn
The Moelwyn
#6 of 6 in Criccieth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glyn-y-Coed Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glyn-y-Coed Hotel

Property: Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Address: Portmadog Road, Criccieth LL52 0HP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Glyn-y-Coed Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glyn-y-Coed Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel Criccieth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing