We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All round fantastic”
Review of Glyn-y-Coed Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Certificate of Excellence
Neath Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“All round fantastic”
Reviewed 23 April 2007

We have just returned from a weekend break at Criccieth in the Glyn y Coed hotel and what a fabulous stay.
The hotel is situated near the shops with many fine restaurants (we went to Poachers and Granvilles) and is also near the coast.
The rooms were spacious and superbly decorated with many lovely touches to make the break extra nice. My Wife & I were in the 4 poster room (room 6) with stunning views overlooking the sea and my Wifes parents in room 3 which had loads of space and even a 3 seater settee.
Breakfast was lovely (choice of cereal, juices, yogurts, fruit with a full english breakfast as well) and the hosts Noreen & Julie made us feel very welcome and really looked after us.
Criccieth is a great place to stay, near many things, we visited Portmeirion, Porthmadog, Snowdon, and the Blaenau Ffestiniog railway as everything is so close and when we come back again, we will definitiely stay at the Glyn y Coed hotel.
Thanks both.

  • Liked — Everything - location, decor, friendliness, cost.
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike at all
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Attews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    35
    9
    3
    6
See reviews for
57
169
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandhurst, UK
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2007

We have just returned from spending the long Easter weekend at this wonderful little hotel, and would not hesitate to recommend it to anybody.

I initially e-mailed to check availability and then rang and spoke to Julie to confirm my booking. Julie was very helpful, mentioning that the room was on the 2nd floor in case we had trouble with stairs, and provided a list of local restaurants, with a recommendation to book early as Easter is their busiest time.

We arrived at the hotel fairly late and the key was left with a very nice note telling us everything we needed to know about the room, and breakfast the next morning. Julie was still up when we arrived, and she checked that the room was okay and offered to put the heating back on again in case the room was a bit chilly.

Our room (No 7) was spacious, immaculate and very comfortable. It had a wonderful view over the sea and Criccieth Castle. Plenty of wardrobe/drawer space, and a hairdryer provided (unusual in a hotel of this size). Tea and coffee making facilities included sufficient supplies so that we could have a drink morning and night if we wanted. In the bathroom were a few basic lotions and potions (some from Marks & Spencer). If I really had to think of something negative to say then okay, the shower isn't a power shower, but it's certainly good enough to do the job. And if that's the worst thing I can think of to say .......

Breakfast was very good. Fruit juice, choice of cereals, fruit and yogurt. The cooked breakfast is egg, bacon, sausage, baked beans, tomato and mushrooms (any or all of this) - well cooked and not at all greasy, plus toast, jam and marmalade.

The hotel is licenced and there is a comfortable lounge. There is an honesty bar in the dining room with a reasonable choice and decent prices.

From the restaurant list, we ate at Granvilles & The Poachers in Criccieth and The Square in Tremadoc - all excellent.

Julie and Noreen are both very friendly people who go out of their way to do everything they can to help. We certainly plan to go back and would recommend anyone wanting to spend some time in North Wales to stay here - but book quickly - they've only got 10 rooms!

  • Liked — It was immaculate
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Good Names All Gone!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2007

This is the second time we have stayed at Glyn y Coed and the second time we have been thoroughly impressed in all aspects of our stay. Having beed visiting criccieth over the past 16 years I can say that this hotel is in an ideal location for exploring north wales. The panoramic views are breathtaking and a reason not to close your curtains at night is the castle in full view which is lit up and a very romantic setting! The rooms in glyn y coed are immaculate in decor and cleanliness. Very relaxed atmosphere were you can come and go as you please and nothing is too much trouble. The breakfasts are your choice, healthy or not or both!! All served with a smile and a beautiful view across the moelwyn range, criicieth beach and castle. This really is an exceptional b&b with all the right qualities in all the right places and we wouldnt hesitate in going back again (hopefully soon!). Keep up the good work Julie and Noreen! Thanks again.

  • Liked — The whole package
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank alison1804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Normanton Derbyshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2007

This is an excellent hotel to enjoy your stay in Criccieth. The views are stunning (both the castle & the coastline).
Rooms are spotlessly clean, comfortable and decorated to a very
high standard.
Breakfasts are great - they consist of fresh fruit, cereal and full
English (thanks Noreen!).
Both Julie and Noreen will do anything they can to help you, nothing is too much trouble.
A very pleasant stay - will visit again soon

  • Liked — Everything
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsTidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2007

Stayed at this hotel in March 07 and had a beautiful room with a view across the Bay (with snow on the mountains). Very romantic. The hotel was immaculate. Breakfast was healthy - lots of fresh fruit salad and the cooked food was not greasy - loved the Bury Black pudding too. Julie and Noreen, the proprietors were very helpful with advice on local restaurants and places to visit. Criccieth is a lovely clean coastal village / town. We visited Portmeirion and Snowdonia and had a fantastic drive along the peninsula. Criccieth is a great base. What a wonderful weekend. My wife was really impressed with her surprise break - and I scored lots of brownie points!

  • Liked — Spotlessly clean, fresh but comfotable, friendly and welcoming staff but not intrusive
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything (I've already rebooked)
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank feroquaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypridd
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2007

This is a lovely hotel, spotlessly clean. It's in an excellent position just up from the beach on the Portmadog Road. We stayed out of season so it was quiet and we managed to have a peek at most of the rooms. All of these were of a good size. Ours was at the front with a great view of the beach and castle, beyond to Harlech and the Rhinogs across Tremadog Bay. Julie and family, who run the hotel, were very friendly and helpful, with useful tips on local restaurants based on guest reviews. Breakfast was great, all the usual choices (hot and cold). Lots of convenient (off road) parking to the side of the hotel. We couldn't find any fault in the place, unlike many grubby little places we've stayed in within the UK (often recommended by the local tourist information office). If you want a risk-free stay in a beautiful corner of the UK then look no further.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank AP101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huddersfield
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2006

Everything about this hotel is perfect. The best breakfast ever, which besides the full English breakfast, has fresh fruit, yoghurts, cereals etc, served by Julie, who is friendly and efficient. The rooms are exceptionally clean and comfortable and furbished to a very high standard, with the front ones having beautiful views of the castle and beach. The owners are both very helpful and pleasant and are willing to spend time helping with sight seeing arrangements and which are the best restaurants in the area. The hotel is the best value for money I have ever encountered and I've been all over the World, and if you paid double you'd still have value for money !!! There are plenty of parking spaces too. I would have no reservations in recommending this hotel to anyone. I have been several times and the standard is consistent. A delightful discovery in a delightful area of Wales.

  • Liked — The friendliness of the hosts and the breakfasts and the outstanding cleanliness.
  • Disliked — Wasn't there long enough to enjoy it some more.
  • Tips/Secrets — Book early and get a room with a view.
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aloitious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Criccieth
0.1 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
385 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,459 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Moelwyn
The Moelwyn
#6 of 6 in Criccieth
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
4.1 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
690 reviews
3.7 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glyn-y-Coed Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glyn-y-Coed Hotel

Property: Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Address: Portmadog Road, Criccieth LL52 0HP, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Glyn-y-Coed Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the sea, castle and mountains, Glyn y Coed is a ten bedroomed Victorian house offering Bed and Breakfast. We have private parking and are just minutes walk from the beach, castle, cafes and excellent restaurants. We are situated centrally for visiting the Llyn Peninsula (with stunning scenery and beaches), Snowdonia, down the coast towards Harlech and up the coast to Caernarfon. We are also near to Portmeirion, the Ffestiniog & Welsh Highland Railways, the ZipWires etc. We can offer maps and good advice on places of interest. Please call us for more information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Glyn-y-Coed Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel Criccieth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing