We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Comfortable and Good location”
Review of Glyn-y-Coed Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Clean, Comfortable and Good location”
Reviewed 14 October 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights and relaxed immediately. The house is an elegant Victorian house which has been sympathetically decorated.You feel you are in good hands with Julie who is the best travel guide. If she tells you somewhere is worth going to - it is! We stayed here with a view to visiting Snowdon but ended up touring the peninsular (with Julie's uniquie maps!) which has some unexpected delights. The hotel is spotless and has views of the sea from the front rooms.. The road and trains can be a little noisy so if that would bother you, have a rear room. This has the loveliest guest lounge, a great honesty bar and a relaxed atmosphere.

If you want to tour the beatiful Llyn Peninsular (do!) and Snowdonia it is a perfect spot and has an abundance of eateries even out of season. We didn't get to Snowdon as the cloud was very low so we will be coming back to try again -and we will stay here

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank expectsthebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    35
    9
    3
    6
See reviews for
56
166
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tenby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

Julie makes you feel very welcome.
The rooms are great as are the breakfasts - help yourself to fruit, cereal and/or yoghurt and then tailor you cooked breakfast.
Julie was very helpful with her recommendations or places to visit.
Would definitely stay here again and would wholeheartedly recommend.

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BOA99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2010

Having just stayed for two nights here, my wife and I both agreed that we will certainly be returning. The place has been furnished to a very good standard and is spotlessly clean. The breakfasts have enough variety to suit the most picky (Julie is happy to provide any derivation of the traditional cooked breakfast). Having a bowl of fresh fruit was also a bonus which I've not often seen at British B&B's or small hotels. Julie and her staff are friendly and helpful without being intrusive. The only (small) concern we had was the size of our toilet/shower. It was perfectly functional but a bit on the small side. However, this just might have been particular to our room. Regarding eating out in the area, we dined both nights at Poachers which is within 5 minutes walk. The set menu is excellent value and the food is superb.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geffroi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2010

Julie and Dafydd were warm and welcoming hosts for whom nothing was too much trouble. My elderly mother and I stayed at the Glyn-y-Coed for four days and were so delighted with our stay that we plan to return in the spring for a few days.
The rooms are well appointed, beds supremely comfortable, food service and presentation excellent, cleanliness....well my mother couldn't find any dust... which means there wasn't any !
We both regularly holiday on cruise ships which are renowned for their quality of service and can honestly say that for comfort and being well looked after this hotel is just the place to stay.
To the person who complained about not getting a reply to their email, I had this problem and discovered it was due to the web hosting company failing to link correctly. When I copy and pasted the email address into my own mail service I got a very nice note of reply immediately.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markrenaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2010

What more can i say, greeted with a pot of tea, stunning views over sea and mountains, clean beautifully decorated rooms with a hostess to match. Julie made us very welcome pointing out places of interest. We have already booked our next stay!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annebrackett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, England
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2010

Just got back from another very pleasant 3 night stay at the Glyn y Coed, & as ever, the welcome, service, food & room were all very good. Julie is lovely, very bubbly & friendly, & makes you feel at home immediately. We were a bit late arriving, about 9.30 pm, but were greeted with a pot of tea & a chat in the guests' sitting room. The room was lovely, with a view of the sea & the castle. Breakfast each morning was excellent, & although the hotel was full, was definitely not rushed (despite a comment from 6th Sept, from a guest who was there at the same time as us). The place is always very clean, & again, we had no trouble getting a towel change by leaving the towel in the bath. As I said at the top of the review, this is our 5th visit, but our first review. We only wrote this one because we thought that the comments of the previous reviewer were unfair. We have recommended the hotel to several friends & family, who have all had the same very favourable impressions as us. We also had 2 very good evening meals over the weekend, one at the Moorings in Borth y Gest, & the other at the Moelwyn in Criccieth. We will be going back again next year. Thanks to Julie & staff for another lovely stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMonkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane Australia
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2010

They self style as 5 star but the board outside on the roadway states AA/RAC 4 star and Welsh Tourish Board, 3 star!! The Welsh one would be far more accurate. We have just had 2 nights here at the Glyn y Coed and had 2 rooms. We paid the most we have paid anywhere during our 10 day tour of northern Wales and were therefore expecting top accommodation. For 85 pounds a night for the double room, we had a room overlooking the carpark. There were no biscuits or chocolates supplied with the tea/coffee making facilities. No plunger coffee either, just instant. No wine glasses in the room and no face washers which we have experienced in less expensive accommodation (and had come to expect in Wales). No signage to say if you want fresh towels place them in the bath; you just don't get fresh towels during your stay! Breakfast is served very late at 8.30am which makes an early start difficult. Breakfast itself is very nice and a good choice, however was very rushed. Having only a 3/4 hour window for breakfast, they try to get eveyone fed quickly. Our toilet float broke and the water kept fillling up. Julie was unable to fix this or get it repaired as it was a Sunday. Although they had available rooms, we were not offered to move to another room. Instead, my husband devised a means of using plastic cups to hold the lever until it could be repaired. We checked out before this happened. Location is good; plenty of parking.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiR46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieShoes, Owner at Glyn-y-Coed Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2010
This family were made as welcome as any of our guests and, although they were particularly demanding over the two days, we met their needs and they seemed happy at all times. At no point did they express any disatisfaction. (I even turned a blind eye when they took our wine glasses from our bar area and then purchased drinks from the local Spar shop).

However, on checking out and paying, the gentleman said he assumed that I would be knocking money off the bill otherwise he would have to put bad comments on TripAdvisor. I refused and he became verbally aggressive, rude and upsetting.

Incidently, we are graded as 5-Star Guest Accommodation by Visit Wales / Welsh Tourist Board - not by ourselves!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Criccieth
0.1 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
377 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,442 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Moelwyn
The Moelwyn
#6 of 6 in Criccieth
107 reviews
4.1 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
681 reviews
3.7 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glyn-y-Coed Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glyn-y-Coed Hotel

Property: Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Address: Portmadog Road, Criccieth LL52 0HP, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Glyn-y-Coed Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the sea, castle and mountains, Glyn y Coed is a ten bedroomed Victorian house offering Bed and Breakfast. We have private parking and are just minutes walk from the beach, castle, cafes and excellent restaurants. We are situated centrally for visiting the Llyn Peninsula (with stunning scenery and beaches), Snowdonia, down the coast towards Harlech and up the coast to Caernarfon. We are also near to Portmeirion, the Ffestiniog & Welsh Highland Railways, the ZipWires etc. We can offer maps and good advice on places of interest. Please call us for more information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Glyn-y-Coed Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel Criccieth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing