We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ignore the 'old' reviews”
Review of George IV Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
George IV Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Ignore the 'old' reviews”
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Things seemed to have changed a lot here over the last few months, so I think you can safely ignore any ‘old’ reviews. The hotel has been/is being refurbished, and things are definitely improving from what they once were.

I had a very enjoyable stay here with a coach party from Northumberland. My room (129) was spotlessly clean, and the bed was comfy. My en-suite had a lovely walk in shower cubicle, too.
There was no view from my room, but I didn’t need one – I was out every day. The room was at the end of the corridor, and quiet (apart from one night when I was woken up by what sounded like a gas leak, but was, in fact, the plumbing! Someone in a room above me must have flushed the loo. It scared the life out of me for a few minutes!)

We were told what time we would have our meals (for me: breakfast at 8.20am, evening meal at 6.20pm), but this staggering of the meal times worked (and the times suited me just fine) I am sure that if anyone wants to eat at a different time, it will not be a problem. Just ask!

All staff were very friendly and helpful. A special mention here for our waitress Bistra from Bulgaria, who anticipated my every need, and always had a smile for us. I thought that the food was good, and there was plenty of variety.

Every evening there was bingo (I gave it a miss) and a quiz (which I enjoyed). It’s what older people do when they are on holiday, so don’t knock it!

Seriously, I would have no hesitation in coming to stay here again, in a group or on my own.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NUTMEG52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    107
    32
    13
    9
See reviews for
21
95
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

This hotel is in a old town with an older client. Understand that the coach market will like consistency and regimentation but forcing all to eat between very limited hours and offering zero choice in the restaurant is, depending on your age and views, nostalgic or simply dud service. The hotel has made an effort in modernising the rooms that are serviceable without being inspired in any way (Where are you Alex Polizi!!) but the room we had a view of the wall next door and the drain at the back - despite the fact the hotel couldn't have been more than 1/3 full (generous estimate BTW). Look, it's in a C19th seaside resort in Wales - suspend all expectations and you won't be disappointed but five star it is not...

Room Tip: As for a room facing the outside of the hotel and preferably facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UKviaAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dagenham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

On arriving at the George IV we were allocated room 102.It was at the back of the hotel . As soon as we walked in my wife was adamant that she could not stay in this room. It was small , dark and dingy and there was the continuous noise from the kitchen extractor fans. I must say that when we complained to reception the staff were very helpful. Within an hour or two they invited us to look at another room (room 302).This room was much better.The only criticism was that due to the unusual shape of the room it was on the dark side but this we could put up with.The room was larger and afforded us a side view of the sea.Another big plus was that the bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I have slept in.The staff at the hotel were excellent . Friendly efficient and obliging .The food was also very good . Although it was a pleasant enough stay we would not return as there was not much to see or do in Criccieth .

Room Tip: The room we were first given(room 102) badly needs renovating. Upper rooms appear to be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Went Wednesday till Sunday with Alfa in August this year.Had a lovely spacious room on the 2nd floor,newly refurbished to a high standard with a large bathroom and very large walk in shower. The food was good with friendly waitress, forgot to request a table for two when booking so had to share with another couple who turned out to be very nice & friendly ( could easliy have been different ) All the staff, mostly East European were excellent.Take note when returning home we had a stop for 3 hours in Llangollen then a further hour plus at the interchange waiting for our feeder coach home which was coming from Eastbourne hence the wait..We went to Torquay in March this year so not much waiting around due to the distance.. can,t fault the Alfa stAff at the interchange or the drivers who are all friendly & professional..Would use Alfa again

Room Tip: Can,t use your elderly bus pass in Wales but you can get a concessionary day ticket for £3.50 per da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank tez_kelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We have been on quite a lot of coach tours with both Alfa and other companies and this hotel must surely rate as one of the best. We had a large room on the first floor at the front of the hotel with a lovely bay window and, although we could not see the castle (we had not paid the supplement!) we had a side view of the beach and the hills beyond. The bathroom was huge with just about the most powerful shower we have ever used. The food was excellent with larger portions than we have often encountered and the entertainment was first rate. There was a quiz every night which was great fun and then bingo with a hilarious caller (thank you, Parman, we have never enjoyed bingo so much!!). The singers actually encouraged us to dance and, although, because of the refurbishment the restaurant was doubling as an entertainment room, this in no way spoiled our pleasure. However, we are looking forward to returning once the new ballroom has been completed.

Most importantly, what really makes this hotel superb is the staff; the manager, the ladies on reception, Parman who was in charge of the bar as well as being the bingo caller, our lovely waitress, Danny - all of them wonderful people who could not do enough for us. This was highlighted on the last couple of days of our holiday as my husband had a fall on a riverside path whilst walking on a free day. He broke his arm quite badly and had to be taken to hospital 40 miles away in Bangor, operated on and kept overnight. The kindness shown to us was outstanding. Although this is a review of the hotel, I must mention our driver, Paul from Grayway coaches, who looked after Mike, making sure he was comfortable on the return journey. We will certainly go back - after all we have two days of holiday still to do!!

Room Tip: Any room on the front of the hotel would be good - those on the second and third floors have the bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MarianVaughn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Just returned from a very enjoyable four night stay at the George IV. Felt a bit apprehensive after reading some of the other reviews but although the hotel is being refurbished we were able to use the new (very efficient) lift to our new comfortable, well appointed bedroom on the second floor. As we were part of a coach party we were allocated a table for our meals but as this meant we had the same delightful waitress (Danny) this was a bonus. Nothing was too much trouble for her and by the end of our stay she knew exactly our likes and dislikes. There was an excellent choice of food (even for my vegetarian friend) which was served promptly and at the right temperature. The rest of the staff were equally brilliant and I would have no hesitation in staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Pam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We have just returned from the George 1V Hotel at Criccieth and a most enjoyable stay it was. We had a front room with a view of the castle and the beaches either side, altho there were trees in the middle of this view it did not deter from the enjoyment but would have been STUNNING !!! if they not been there.
This is a very friendly hotel, the staff are amazing and always smiling , nothing being too much trouble for them , the meals are very well cooked with a good choice and ample portions and served with a smile.
Our room was comfortable as was the beds, and very clean , plenty of hot water and towels changed daily.
This hotel is on the high street with the shops and beaches a short walk away , there is not much to do here but ideal for walking and the scenery is wonderful and the town very pretty.
We went on a 5 day trip with Alfa and our driver Ian was the best, a lovely gentle man with humour to match .
Portmerion is a must if you are on this trip and bring your camera its amazing alho' you will need a lottery win for shopping. There are good shops at Pothmadog with a pretty harbour and its cheaper.

The star of the show is The train up to the top of Snowdon , it is sensational with views to die for.
Criccieth and the George are a great base if you are travelling by car, and once all the refurb in the hotel is finished it will be lots better as the restaurant has to double up as an entertainment room at the moment .

We cannot comment on the entertainment as we didnt stay in for that as we went walking instead, but were told there was bingo and quiz nightly and the singers that were there were good. We are looking forward to returning to this holiday venue with Alfa.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have the view but being on the main road could be noisy for some people altho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Myra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Criccieth
0.2 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
371 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
282 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,419 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Moelwyn
The Moelwyn
#6 of 6 in Criccieth
106 reviews
4.0 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George IV Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George IV Hotel

Property: George IV Hotel
Address: 23-25 High Street, Criccieth LL52 0BS, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — George IV Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
George IV Hotel - Criccieth [3 Alpha & AA Three Star]Situated on the High Street in the centre of Criccieth with magnificent views towards the sea and castle from many bedrooms. 47 bedrooms with central heating and bath or shower and WC (most have bath and shower). All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, intercom, hair dryer and TV with radio channels. Extensive public areas include a delightful cocktail bar, attractive large restaurant, entertainment room with additional bar and a cosy lounge. A small lift serves first and second floors (not the third floor) and there is ample car parking. A Leisureplex Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your George IV Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Iv Criccieth
George IV Hotel Criccieth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing