We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“three night coach trip”
Review of George IV Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
George IV Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
303 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“three night coach trip”
Reviewed 22 October 2012

i went on a three night tour stopping at the hotel three night
all the staff were very friendly and helpful danny the waitress in the dinning was excellent the food was very good the manager was very helpful
the hotel is having lost of refershment undertaken
at night there was musice and entirement the singers were very good well done
the hotel was easy to walk to the beach
a number3 bus pass hotel to portmaorg were ther is a railway with steam
to all staff well done tony mbe

Room Tip: room 318 had a very good view of the bay and high street the room as been decorated and look good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tony726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    103
    32
    13
    9
See reviews for
21
90
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed here as we were attending a wedding close by. We weren't expecting much after reading some of the earlier reviews however were pleasantly suprised. The staff were all very friendly and even gave my husband a lift to collect his car the following day. The breakfast was adequate, warm and served quickly, however it was very apparent that the hotel catered for the coach trip market as the breakfast room was full of the more mature of us! The hotel is vast and all the areas were although dated in some places, immaculately clean. The room itself was basic and overlooked another room and drainpipes, however yet again it was very clean and the showed was excellent. I felt a sort of warmth towards this hotel and felt all there were trying hard to make it the best it could be.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Izzywizzyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croxley Green, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We had a great holiday and were very impressed. with the standard of the whole hotel. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Sitting rooms very comfortable and plenty of room. We went with Alfa and was one of the best short breaks we ever had.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Things seemed to have changed a lot here over the last few months, so I think you can safely ignore any ‘old’ reviews. The hotel has been/is being refurbished, and things are definitely improving from what they once were.

I had a very enjoyable stay here with a coach party from Northumberland. My room (129) was spotlessly clean, and the bed was comfy. My en-suite had a lovely walk in shower cubicle, too.
There was no view from my room, but I didn’t need one – I was out every day. The room was at the end of the corridor, and quiet (apart from one night when I was woken up by what sounded like a gas leak, but was, in fact, the plumbing! Someone in a room above me must have flushed the loo. It scared the life out of me for a few minutes!)

We were told what time we would have our meals (for me: breakfast at 8.20am, evening meal at 6.20pm), but this staggering of the meal times worked (and the times suited me just fine) I am sure that if anyone wants to eat at a different time, it will not be a problem. Just ask!

All staff were very friendly and helpful. A special mention here for our waitress Bistra from Bulgaria, who anticipated my every need, and always had a smile for us. I thought that the food was good, and there was plenty of variety.

Every evening there was bingo (I gave it a miss) and a quiz (which I enjoyed). It’s what older people do when they are on holiday, so don’t knock it!

Seriously, I would have no hesitation in coming to stay here again, in a group or on my own.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NUTMEG52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

This hotel is in a old town with an older client. Understand that the coach market will like consistency and regimentation but forcing all to eat between very limited hours and offering zero choice in the restaurant is, depending on your age and views, nostalgic or simply dud service. The hotel has made an effort in modernising the rooms that are serviceable without being inspired in any way (Where are you Alex Polizi!!) but the room we had a view of the wall next door and the drain at the back - despite the fact the hotel couldn't have been more than 1/3 full (generous estimate BTW). Look, it's in a C19th seaside resort in Wales - suspend all expectations and you won't be disappointed but five star it is not...

Room Tip: As for a room facing the outside of the hotel and preferably facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UKviaAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dagenham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

On arriving at the George IV we were allocated room 102.It was at the back of the hotel . As soon as we walked in my wife was adamant that she could not stay in this room. It was small , dark and dingy and there was the continuous noise from the kitchen extractor fans. I must say that when we complained to reception the staff were very helpful. Within an hour or two they invited us to look at another room (room 302).This room was much better.The only criticism was that due to the unusual shape of the room it was on the dark side but this we could put up with.The room was larger and afforded us a side view of the sea.Another big plus was that the bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I have slept in.The staff at the hotel were excellent . Friendly efficient and obliging .The food was also very good . Although it was a pleasant enough stay we would not return as there was not much to see or do in Criccieth .

Room Tip: The room we were first given(room 102) badly needs renovating. Upper rooms appear to be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Went Wednesday till Sunday with Alfa in August this year.Had a lovely spacious room on the 2nd floor,newly refurbished to a high standard with a large bathroom and very large walk in shower. The food was good with friendly waitress, forgot to request a table for two when booking so had to share with another couple who turned out to be very nice & friendly ( could easliy have been different ) All the staff, mostly East European were excellent.Take note when returning home we had a stop for 3 hours in Llangollen then a further hour plus at the interchange waiting for our feeder coach home which was coming from Eastbourne hence the wait..We went to Torquay in March this year so not much waiting around due to the distance.. can,t fault the Alfa stAff at the interchange or the drivers who are all friendly & professional..Would use Alfa again

Room Tip: Can,t use your elderly bus pass in Wales but you can get a concessionary day ticket for £3.50 per da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank tez_kelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Criccieth
0.2 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
4.3 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Moelwyn
The Moelwyn
#6 of 6 in Criccieth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George IV Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George IV Hotel

Property: George IV Hotel
Address: 23-25 High Street, Criccieth LL52 0BS, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — George IV Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
George IV Hotel - Criccieth [3 Alpha & AA Three Star]Situated on the High Street in the centre of Criccieth with magnificent views towards the sea and castle from many bedrooms. 47 bedrooms with central heating and bath or shower and WC (most have bath and shower). All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, intercom, hair dryer and TV with radio channels. Extensive public areas include a delightful cocktail bar, attractive large restaurant, entertainment room with additional bar and a cosy lounge. A small lift serves first and second floors (not the third floor) and there is ample car parking. A Leisureplex Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your George IV Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Iv Criccieth
George IV Hotel Criccieth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing