We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs upgrading!!”
Review of George IV Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
George IV Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Needs upgrading!!”
Reviewed 23 April 2013 via mobile

On arriving we was hit with a bad smell like drains. This put us off eating at the hotel, it felt like we had walked into a home for the elderly, Queen Anne chairs everywhere, in sitting room we noticed some wallpaper coming away with damp around the window area.
Staff are friendly, room was very clean but small, bathroom was nice, the bed was so uncomfortable we struggled to sleep, music on the Friday night was so loud it felt like it was in our room, we had gone for a quiet relaxing weekend. Looking out of the window we had asked for a view & got to look at a part of the hotel in disrepair damp walls will upload pic of our view. We went to bed on the second night but just couldn't settle. The room was very dark during the day as the wall we were looking at blocked the light. We wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jjrober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    108
    32
    13
    9
See reviews for
21
95
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

On a recent tour of North Wales I used the George iv hotel as a base. It is Ideal for visiting places like Portmadoc, Caernarvon, the Isle of Anglesey and many more places. It is an old style building but very pleasant. The staff were very friendly and very helpful. The whole atmosphere of the place was very good. It was very clean and the rooms very nice. The food was excellent. I would recommend a stay at the George iv hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bigjohn2_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bolton
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We stayed at the hotel on an Alfa tour for five days. Our room was at the front of the hotel with a view of the castle. The room was spacious and the bathroom excellent. The room was spotless and the towels were changed every day.

The food was very good in the restaurant and the service was excellent. All the staff were very nice and friendly most of them were eastern european. Nothing was to much trouble for them and they were very obliging if you wanted to alter something on the menu. The entertainment was ok but a lot of guests dont seem to stay down at night to see it.

We would have no problem in recommending this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gordann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

I stayed at George IV for two day with my little ones. I intended to stay only for one night, but stayed for another night as the experience so nice. The management seems to be so friendly. The room in which we were in so good and comfortable. Nice to see a new wing added to the hotel, well decorated. As I wanted to leave early, the management provided us with packed lunches and a small gift for the kids. Thanks to the manager and the staff. I will visit George IV in the future.

Room Tip: There is new wing added to the Hotel with brand new rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HENRY J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Well off on an ALFA tour to this hotel, they own it, and having paid £149 for travel,trips out,porterage and most meals and entertainment did I get value. Yes I did. Well appointed rooms,however initially we were very disappointed with the midget TV ( 14") in such a big room. We paid extra for a Castle view and we did have a view but some of the rooms were better than ours, however in old hotels it is not easy to have all rooms the same.
Meals were hot and tasty and a very varied menue. I really enjoyed the Hamm and Eggs for breakfast. Service varied a bit but I think they had lost a staff member during our stay so that may have a bearing.
New lift and renovated rooms seem to move this hotel up a notch. Entertainment was varied and in the most part enjoyable and , of course, included in the cost.
Staff were all friendly and this made a big difference to our stay. It costs nothing to have a smile and joke.
Well situated for a Scenic stay.
Just down the road towards the Station there was a very friendly pub called the Castle, well worth a stop for a bit of liquid enjoyment.
Overall excellent value for money and would go back

Room Tip: Just ask for a renovated room, although I susepct they will all be by next year
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rdwooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012

You can now disregard most of the negative reviews here as the renovation work has been completed to a high standard. We stayed in August and the Hotel was busy but the service was good. The staff coped very well at all times with a full hotel.The cuisine could not be faulted well above the 3 star rating and we intend to return for a further week next summer. True there may be more exciting hotels in the town some with better views but the first room we had was excellent and was not a premium added room we don't think though we only had it for 5 minutes. Heres the bad news after being about to settle in to our double roomwith a lovely view we were asked by the reception lady to move as there had been a mistake and an elderly couple (we're mid sixties) who had booked a twin room needed the room. As we may need the same favour in our latter years we agreed to move though it turned out to be to our detriment. The room we were moved to was facing a blank wall 10 feet away with views of crumbling gutters and fall pipes. As it happened our allocated dinner partners on our table were the very same couple whom we had bequeathed our room to and with whom we became very friendly with over the week.
There was evening entertainment provided in a newly createdand humid but otherwise comfortable room. I'm not a bingo fan but the bar/restaurant manger doubles as the caller at least for duration of our stay and to say he was hilarious is an understatement. The most entertaining bingo you are ever likely to witness.
From the reviews I was not expecting great things but all in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and I think the room placement was a genuine error which overall did not spoil our stay. I suspect that we were possibly put in a premium view room although it was side sea facing and premium rooms are advertised as 'Castle View'. Who knows?

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keith3895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

My friend and I had a very nice week end at the George Hotel . We found the staff, particularly the Reception Staff to be very helpful and friendly and the dining/bedroom/kitchen staff were also most accommodating. Our bedroom was very comfortable and well appointed and we only had breakfast but it was excellent with a good variety to choose from. On my return I gave details of the hotel to my local coach operator as I am sure that they would find it to be a very suitable place to take folk to in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chadwick_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Criccieth
0.2 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
372 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
283 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,419 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Moelwyn
The Moelwyn
#6 of 6 in Criccieth
106 reviews
4.0 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George IV Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George IV Hotel

Property: George IV Hotel
Address: 23-25 High Street, Criccieth LL52 0BS, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — George IV Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
George IV Hotel - Criccieth [3 Alpha & AA Three Star]Situated on the High Street in the centre of Criccieth with magnificent views towards the sea and castle from many bedrooms. 47 bedrooms with central heating and bath or shower and WC (most have bath and shower). All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, intercom, hair dryer and TV with radio channels. Extensive public areas include a delightful cocktail bar, attractive large restaurant, entertainment room with additional bar and a cosy lounge. A small lift serves first and second floors (not the third floor) and there is ample car parking. A Leisureplex Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your George IV Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Iv Criccieth
George IV Hotel Criccieth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing