We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool, castle-like hotel. Not too expensive.”
Review of George IV Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
George IV Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Stathelle, Telemark, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Cool, castle-like hotel. Not too expensive.”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Came in the middle of the night (3:00AM), but the portier was nice and leet em in like it was nothing. Sadly, checkout-time was 10 AM, and I was hoping to stay a little bit longer, but ok.. Didn't have time for any breakfeast. Mind you aswll, this hotel has table-spot-system at breakfast. You have a table number for an hour, i.e. from 9:00 to 10:00. I did not catch that. Didn't matter. Was busy sleeping. The bed was comfy, and the room was fresh.
Not too much paarking outside, but they might have more somewhere else..

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Glenn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    110
    32
    14
    10
See reviews for
21
97
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ulverston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

I booked this hotel for a weekend stay on the 19th of April for me, wife and daughter, we stayed in room 112. On arrival my wife asked how to work the lift so I could get into the reception area (because I use a wheelchair) only to be told it's not working, not a problem the receptionist says, you can push him uo the hill and we can let HIM in the side door. Not to be put off by this we try and make the most of our weekend. The room itself was dirty, wallpaper hanging off also our view was looking straight into someone elses room, so we had to keep the curtains closed most times or else you would feel that you were sharing rooms you are that close. We went out at the evenings to vist our family that live in this beautiful town (stayed out till midnight) could not get back into the hotel at this time for 10-15 mins because the doors locked and you have to wait for the night staff to let you back in. The worst bit about this place was that at 5 am there was a horrible banging noise, the pipes started to rattle and tap for a hour or so (no sleep after this starts). I hope you are getting the picture about this place!!!. When this got mentioned to the staff, your answer is sorry about that. I never complain about much but this place was a joke and since me and my family have got home (shatterd) I've rang & emailed the hotel and still had no response. PLEASE AVOID THIS PLACE.

Room Tip: Book a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank dale a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013 via mobile

On arriving we was hit with a bad smell like drains. This put us off eating at the hotel, it felt like we had walked into a home for the elderly, Queen Anne chairs everywhere, in sitting room we noticed some wallpaper coming away with damp around the window area.
Staff are friendly, room was very clean but small, bathroom was nice, the bed was so uncomfortable we struggled to sleep, music on the Friday night was so loud it felt like it was in our room, we had gone for a quiet relaxing weekend. Looking out of the window we had asked for a view & got to look at a part of the hotel in disrepair damp walls will upload pic of our view. We went to bed on the second night but just couldn't settle. The room was very dark during the day as the wall we were looking at blocked the light. We wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jjrober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

On a recent tour of North Wales I used the George iv hotel as a base. It is Ideal for visiting places like Portmadoc, Caernarvon, the Isle of Anglesey and many more places. It is an old style building but very pleasant. The staff were very friendly and very helpful. The whole atmosphere of the place was very good. It was very clean and the rooms very nice. The food was excellent. I would recommend a stay at the George iv hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bigjohn2_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bolton
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We stayed at the hotel on an Alfa tour for five days. Our room was at the front of the hotel with a view of the castle. The room was spacious and the bathroom excellent. The room was spotless and the towels were changed every day.

The food was very good in the restaurant and the service was excellent. All the staff were very nice and friendly most of them were eastern european. Nothing was to much trouble for them and they were very obliging if you wanted to alter something on the menu. The entertainment was ok but a lot of guests dont seem to stay down at night to see it.

We would have no problem in recommending this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gordann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

I stayed at George IV for two day with my little ones. I intended to stay only for one night, but stayed for another night as the experience so nice. The management seems to be so friendly. The room in which we were in so good and comfortable. Nice to see a new wing added to the hotel, well decorated. As I wanted to leave early, the management provided us with packed lunches and a small gift for the kids. Thanks to the manager and the staff. I will visit George IV in the future.

Room Tip: There is new wing added to the Hotel with brand new rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HENRY J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham UK
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Well off on an ALFA tour to this hotel, they own it, and having paid £149 for travel,trips out,porterage and most meals and entertainment did I get value. Yes I did. Well appointed rooms,however initially we were very disappointed with the midget TV ( 14") in such a big room. We paid extra for a Castle view and we did have a view but some of the rooms were better than ours, however in old hotels it is not easy to have all rooms the same.
Meals were hot and tasty and a very varied menue. I really enjoyed the Hamm and Eggs for breakfast. Service varied a bit but I think they had lost a staff member during our stay so that may have a bearing.
New lift and renovated rooms seem to move this hotel up a notch. Entertainment was varied and in the most part enjoyable and , of course, included in the cost.
Staff were all friendly and this made a big difference to our stay. It costs nothing to have a smile and joke.
Well situated for a Scenic stay.
Just down the road towards the Station there was a very friendly pub called the Castle, well worth a stop for a bit of liquid enjoyment.
Overall excellent value for money and would go back

Room Tip: Just ask for a renovated room, although I susepct they will all be by next year
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rdwooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Criccieth
0.2 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
374 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
284 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,438 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Moelwyn
The Moelwyn
#6 of 6 in Criccieth
107 reviews
4.0 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George IV Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George IV Hotel

Property: George IV Hotel
Address: 23-25 High Street, Criccieth LL52 0BS, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — George IV Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
George IV Hotel - Criccieth [3 Alpha & AA Three Star]Situated on the High Street in the centre of Criccieth with magnificent views towards the sea and castle from many bedrooms. 47 bedrooms with central heating and bath or shower and WC (most have bath and shower). All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, intercom, hair dryer and TV with radio channels. Extensive public areas include a delightful cocktail bar, attractive large restaurant, entertainment room with additional bar and a cosy lounge. A small lift serves first and second floors (not the third floor) and there is ample car parking. A Leisureplex Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Priceline so you can book your George IV Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Iv Criccieth
George IV Hotel Criccieth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing