We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“North Wales coach holiday.”
Review of George IV Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
George IV Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed at this hotel on an Alfa coach holiday. This is quite an imposing hotel both inside and outside. The service is good but tends to reduce in quality when the hotel is full [diningroom].. There are two bars, one also being the entertainment room. Problem with the bar is the beer, like other Leisureplex hotels it's Tetleys. Not a tempting beer. Our room with a castle view [£20-00 extra each] was very spacious with a bathroom having both a bath and a walk-in shower.
This hotel is situated on the front street, and therefore front rooms suffer from a lot of traffic noise. There is also a pub opposite the hotel which had an outdoor disco on our first night at the hotel. Noise was horrific and together with the traffic noise did not make sleep easy. Food is of a fair standard and there are choices for all courses. Would I go here again,? Most definately as it's quite near to Snowdonia which is absolutely breathtaking.

Room Tip: If your a light sleeper, ask for a back room, no view but a lot quieter than front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thumper1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

I too spent 7 days here as part of an Alfa coach tour. Rooms were the problem as normal; when you are a single person paying a supplement it seems the smallest rooms are allocated. Room 102 is small, dark and window is beside the fire escape so that I could not open it. The mess around the area outside was disgusting; the kitchen fan hummed continually and the smell of cooking was unbearable. I was given another room next day which was slightly better looking into the wall of the building opposite but no fan and no smell. Another guest moved twice, once because of the size of the room and secondly because the phone was not working - 88 yr old who does not use a mobile. Happily 3rd time lucky he was given a room in the new part of the building with a phone that worked. The staff and the food are both excellent though don't ask for anything Welsh, as a chain they don't do local food. The entertainment the first night is great but after that it's a bit of the same. A rather sad old hotel needing TLC.

Room Tip: Avoid room 102, 201 is slightly better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jay63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

It was the only hotel available in the area at short notice and we came to it with some trepidation, seeing all the armchairs lined up against the wall in the large lounge and reading the information that breakfast was only available between 8 and 9am and the time of the evening meal time would be advised to you, and if you missed your slot.......
However, we needn't have worried, the staff were pleasant and helpful and the room beatifully presented with a newly refitted bathroom. The view from the room was less than inspiring, over a derelict building next door , but hey ho it was a base and we were warm and clean and enjoying ourselves in beautiful weather.
The main bar was enlightening with it's dance floor and entertainment from the residents explaining their operations and displaying the scars - we were in bits.
The breakfast was particularly pleasant with unusual choices to eat and an abundance of rich characters that stopped any talk on our table whilst we watched and listened to the waiters and other guests that were better than the evening floorshow.
The only shortcoming was the parking , which was a little hit or miss.
We left fullfilled with food and humour that we shall drink out on for some time to come. I would thoroughly recomend a short to encounter such a delight.

Room Tip: Book on line it is so simple and the checking out was even easier. The front bedrooms overlook the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Have just spent 7 days in this Hotel and was made very welcome by all members of Staff.
Some parts have not yet been refurbished but still were very clean.
We had a huge room (109) which was at the front of the Hotel. A good tip is to telephone the Hotel and ask for a front view bedroom as some of the side rooms looked straight out on to the wall of the next building.
The bus service runs about every half an hour to either Pwllheli or Porthmadog, another tip is if you show your Bus Pass you get a reduced fare.
The food was always very hot and well cooked with a good choice of dishes.
They do have entertainment and Bingo some evenings and have a well stocked Bar.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Handel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Have just returned from a 7 day coach trip with Alfa.
The hotel was spotless, including bedroom and bathroom.
Being a non meat eater there was always plenty of choices to suit. Never any problem to slightly alter the menue. Cooked food was always piping hot and plentiful.
Hotel in a quaint village but to reach the beach, down a steep hill. Being with a coach party we had plenty of trips and there was not time to spend on the beach so no problem.
All the staff were very cheerful, friendy and keen to please.
We had a small problem but the manager and under manager dealth with it promptly with no fuss.
Special thank you to our waiter Parvo/Pawel who was very attentive and charming.
Would vistit the hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank superspray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Criccieth is a beautiful place to holiday and this hotel is in a handy location on the main street and close to shops. The beach, promenade and castle are an easy walk away for the mobile. There is obviously a lot of history attached to the hotel. Photographs depict it as an imposing building in 1891, as the resort begins to develop and it retains its lovely facade. On entering the hotel, the public could be forgiven for thinking that they have strayed into an elderly people's home. The lounge areas have sofas and chairs arranged neatly around the perimeter of the rooms, rather than in the more informal settings recognisable in the majority of today's hotels. Whilst this may facilitate ease of movement around the public areas, it should be remembered that the majority of us 'silver surfers,' who do appear to represent the majority of guests, appreciate the sort of modernity we enjoy in our own homes. Other coach tour operators have recognised this in their modernisation programmes and understand that it is possible to blend the contemporary into an historic building.

We had paid a premium for a 'castle view,' and, making our way up the lovely staircase, could hardly wait to see what awaited us. On opening the door to the room, we could indeed see that the room lived up to its description. It was well-proportioned with a large bay window overlooking the main road and the view beyond to the castle. In the future, there will need to be a culling of trees to maintain this attraction, but for the time being, the view was excellent and it was also possible to see the sea from the left elevation. The room boasted mismatched furniture and a prehistoric television on which it was impossible to alter settings, so the BBC news presenters all looked like orange OomphaLoompas. Bathroom towels had been left on the bed. Why? There seems to be an inclination to do this in some places. I am never sure whether bedspreads are changed between guest changeovers in the same way that sheets are. It is therefore one of life's mysteries why towels would not be placed where they belong i.e. in a bathroom and not on a bed. On entering the bathroom to place the towels that had been left on the bed onto the towel rail designed for the purpose, I noticed the state of the toilet. It had clearly been left in a mess by the previous occupant and had been overlooked by the housekeeping staff. It needed a deep clean. I went back to reception and explained the problem to the manager. Shortly thereafter someone was despatched to deal with the problem, which was explained away as 'rust from the fixings.' I have an academic BA (Hons.) and also a PGCE but, better still, a PHd from the university of life........! The bathroom seemed to have been half-refurbished. Again, a room of good proportions and poor lighting, it had a bath and effective separate shower with modern-ish tiling, while the rest of the room suffered from poor peeling decoration and shabby flooring. Why had the re-decoration stopped where it had? It looked tired and in need of a good clean.

What about the dining experience? The dining room/s could have looked lovely, in a very traditional way, but again fell victim to mismatch and a general lack of care. Breakfasts were okay. The fish was always good. Everything is served at table. Some waiting staff were very efficient, whilst others were 'in training.' Dinners were variable, between poor and average. The poor selection of vegetables was overcooked and tinned sweetcorn was a popular option. The rack rate for dinner is £14. Criccieth is blessed with many fine restaurants offering locally produced fresh food for the same price.

To summarise, this hotel is beautiful from the outside and has retained some of its original features. The owners have not capitalised on its appearance or invested in upgrading the public areas in a contemporary way, sympathetic to its historical origins. Even re-arranging the furniture would contribute to this. We were blessed with fantastic weather throughout our stay, which took us outdoors most of the time. We would not have wanted to spend time in the lounges had the weather been bad. Hoteliers could place themselves in the position of guests to obtain a clearer view of the actual experience of staying in a place to gain a better insight.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank planeteer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

we have just returned from a 5 day break to this hotel the room we had was small number 121 it is very small but it was clean and had a lovely shower , The food was a good and you got a great choice The head waitress was called Britsa and she was lovely very attentive to the meals were hot when it came the bar staff ,
also nice as well. The only downsize was the beech it is to steep to go down,if you are elderly but it was a great break

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elizabeth78494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Criccieth
0.2 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
397 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
303 reviews
4 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 2 in Portmeirion
1,541 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
15.4 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George IV Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George IV Hotel

Address: 23-25 High Street, Criccieth LL52 0BS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Price Range: £61 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — George IV Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
George IV Hotel - Criccieth [3 Alpha & AA Three Star]Situated on the High Street in the centre of Criccieth with magnificent views towards the sea and castle from many bedrooms. 47 bedrooms with central heating and bath or shower and WC (most have bath and shower). All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, intercom, hair dryer and TV with radio channels. Extensive public areas include a delightful cocktail bar, attractive large restaurant, entertainment room with additional bar and a cosy lounge. A small lift serves first and second floors (not the third floor) and there is ample car parking. A Leisureplex Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your George IV Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Iv Criccieth
George IV Hotel Criccieth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing