We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disturbing”
Review of George IV Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
George IV Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Reviewed 26 August 2008

One of the worst places that I have ever stayed in. The service is disgusting. As for the General Manager who thinks he can treat people the way he does, has a lot to learn about the trade. He was rude and dissmissive of any complaints. This was an aweful experiance of north Wales and will not be in any hurry to return. The only good thing that i can say about the hotel was the checking out. My advice would be to take your own food as the food and service was very poor.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller011SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2008

Not a great experience and we'd recommend asking to view the rooms you will be staying in before paying your money over if you stay here.

We were shown three rooms before we found one that had windows that opened and considering the heat we're having lately this made our stay uncomfortable to say the least.

To be fair, we understand that the hotel is up for a full refurb over the next two years so it may come out well over time but this doesn't help those looking to travel in the meantime.

The hotel's kitchen seems to be a contradiction. Breakfast was okay but portions were disappointingly small. The small portion theme continued into the main evening meal but the quality dropped dramatically. A definite miss if you're looking for good food.

All this said, we would want to say that the staff who helped us were great.

Wouldn't recommend at the moment

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SteelerCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2008

A nice, friendly well run hotel. Despite this being a budget break at no time did we feel they were cutting corners. Staff are reasonably well trained and management are hands on.

Nice easy stroll to the town centre.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigbusdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2007

Stayed at the George with my fiance and three year old daughter plus 15 other family members. The hotel is very close to the castle, beach and black rock either by car or on foot.
The hotel is on a busyish main road with a large car park opposite the hotel and we all got our cars in it.
We had a family room which was extremely large with small double bed and single bed with two armcahirs and tv etc. The room was also ensuite with an enormous bathroom. The bathroom was ok but didnt have a proper shower instead a hand held one which was ok but im 6'3 and when you streched to your head to wash it went cold straight away?? so used the bath instead.
The furniture and decor is very dated and needs replacing!! we didnt eat at the hotel in the evening but had breakfast which was not too bad. cereal, fruit, fruit juice and buffet full English with toast and tea and coffee. the staff were extremely helpful but didnt speak much English OR welsh!!!
Overall a good pleasnt stay for one night with enough rooms for us all to stay in with helpful staff!!
Forgot to mention - Although we visited in October it was very warm but the hotel was so hot it was unbelievable!!! Plus the radiators weren't turned on?? it was still warm at 03:05 hours the following morning as it kept me awake!!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellingstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2007

We stayed there for a night and had a decent, clean double room. The hotel itself is quite nice, the service was good, staff were friendly and helpful and the dinner was actually very good.

The hotel could do with a bit of works as the furniture is quite old fashioned, it was like staying in a Victorian era doll house.

Very good value and would go back again.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank JonathanWKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2007

Apart from the rather shabby rooms etc. our main grievance is the attitude of the staff in regards to our evening meal or rather lack thereof.

Having made our meal selections from the menus available in the lounge, we enquired to serving times and were told last service was at 9.30pm and reserved the first available table for 8.45pm.

Upon arrival in the dining room, children were running up and down the room, staff looked unable to cope, in short the situation was a shambles, exacerbated by inexperienced dining room staff who didn’t speak much English.

Having already waited, we then waited again for some attention. Eventually we were waved off to a table where we waited for the menus. We then asked for the menus but were informed that the á la carte menu was no longer available, there was only a buffet.
The buffet food was not appetising especially as children were picking bits of meat off the joints with their fingers.

We asked to see the duty manager and were told we would have to wait a further 10 minutes, at this point I left the table and went to the reception.

By chance I meet the general manger, his manner was immediately defensive, aggressive and very rude. We were told we could have the buffet or nothing. Amazingly we were even told to ‘go hungry’.
No apology was made for the confusion caused by the dining room staff, No offer of a freshly cooked meal or even sandwiches (which according to the hotels literature they can provide) was made. When we told the staff that our guest was 79 years old they didn’t seem to be concerned at all.

By now it was nearly 9.30 pm, too late to make alternative arrangements. We eventually ended up buying sandwich materials from a local shop to make up in one of our rooms.

In the morning we settled our bill and left in haste and disgust. Having stayed in hotels all over the world and the UK our treatment at this hotel ranks amongst the worst we have ever experienced.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank housecall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2007

Reviewer: John
Stayed with my wife over last weekend at the George IV Hotel. The reason was primarily to view the re-construction works of the nearby Welsh Highland Railway. Picked hotel at random from Criccieth accomodation website.

Booked a special price deal listed on the hotel's own website, by phone. Very pleasant Welsh sounding receptionist took our details very efficiently.

Enjoyed a nice and clean double room on the second floor at the back of the hotel, overlooking a hillside meadow. Plenty of 'real' opening windows with three in bedroom and another in en-suite.
As mentioned in other reviews, lift a bit quirky - but did the job required!

Enjoyed good carvery meal on Sunday evening at a very reasonable price. Self service breakfast on Sunday was good, except for congealed eggs (also mentioned in other reviews), but with the limited number of guests at this time of year - probably unavoidable. On Monday the breakfast was freshly cooked and excellent. Service provided by 'James' was both fast and attentive.
Hotel situated in centre of Criccieth, 3 minutes to the railway station, 5 mins. from castle via pretty little park, and less than 10 mins. from beach.

We found Criccieth to be a lovely little coastal town. nice Welsh castle, good beach and no need to use car at all!

Stayed: February 2007
3  Thank caseyatthatcham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Criccieth
0.2 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
397 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
302 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,500 reviews
4.3 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
714 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Moelwyn
The Moelwyn
#6 of 6 in Criccieth
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George IV Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George IV Hotel

Address: 23-25 High Street, Criccieth LL52 0BS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Price Range: £66 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — George IV Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
George IV Hotel - Criccieth [3 Alpha & AA Three Star]Situated on the High Street in the centre of Criccieth with magnificent views towards the sea and castle from many bedrooms. 47 bedrooms with central heating and bath or shower and WC (most have bath and shower). All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, intercom, hair dryer and TV with radio channels. Extensive public areas include a delightful cocktail bar, attractive large restaurant, entertainment room with additional bar and a cosy lounge. A small lift serves first and second floors (not the third floor) and there is ample car parking. A Leisureplex Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your George IV Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Iv Criccieth
George IV Hotel Criccieth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing