We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good time!”
Review of George IV Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
George IV Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Dagenham, Essex.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“good time!”
Reviewed 30 September 2010

I stayed here with my husband on an Alfa coach trip for 4 nights dinner B&B. The hotel windows were being replaced at the time but it didn't put us off. The staff were so friendly, they would do anything for you and the food was good. The room we were given could have been better,but, it was very clean and for the amount of time we were in it, it didn't really matter, We were out most of the day with Doug our driver anyway! We would definatlygo back to the hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kirby_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    108
    32
    13
    9
See reviews for
21
95
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, Lancashire, Great Britain
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2010

A large coach party from Alfa Holidays visited this hotel and on arriving at the hotel quite a few eyebrows were raised at the state of the hotel facade. Windows were missing all replaced with wood boards and the stonework appears to be in need of renovation. It turns out that the hotel is being renovated and the leaded light windows have been removed for restoration and will be returned to the hotel in the near future, also the stonework will be renovated as time and money will allow.
On arrival we were greeted nicely by the duty manager and quickly found our allocated rooms although if you are able use the steps as the lift is VERY SMALL. The rooms are nicely decorated with new beds and clean linen and towels and are of an adequate size.
The staff at the hotel are very helpful and all seem to speak good english even though the staff appear to be very thin on the ground and have to do more than one job around the hotel.
Food is of a reasonable standard, not large portions, but ample for the older generation.
The service in the dining room by only two waiters/waitresses is very quick and the staff are very attentative to all your food needs. A nice touch is the quiz paper at reception which can be collected most days and finding the answers will pass quite a bit of time in the nicely decorated lounges of the hotel in the evening, also a small selection of table games are available in one of the lounges (we passed quite a bit of time playing dominoes). Entertainment is available each night with a game of bingo first, then live entertainment although the singers could be a bit loud as the room is not that big.
All in all an enjoyable hotel but if you`re looking for four star service go to another hotel, but if you`re looking for value for money why not try it.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Europeexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2010

Forget all the old reviews. This place has been totally refurbished, at least on the inside. The scaffolding is still up outside though but that doesn`t matter and they had a water leak all over the new carpet in the foyer that they didn`t seem to be able to stop. Maybe welsh plumbers do not work over the weekend. It is now run by Leisureplex.
Anyway this is a great place to stay and very cheap. We went with Alpha tours for a walking holiday. With fifty people arriving back at the same time sometimes there was a problem with hot water but that happens everywhere and it soon got hot again. The staff are still fantastic as other people said. Our room was not exactly enormous but was OK with enough storage space. The bathroom was new as was the bed(and the linen) but I have to say it was not particularly comfortable. The food was as good as any of the other coach operators, such as Shearings or Highland Heritage. The evening entertainment was similar too but we felt sorry for the singer, who was very good, but only had two guests in the audience.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norman1932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northumbria
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2009

Coach tour to the george iv hotelBuilding in place,s need,s to be modernised and bedrooms a bit dated Staff work very hard and can not be faultedManager and reception staff very friendly and the food was excellent Evening entertainment spot onNice walk to the castle and beach,sLocation to some local beauty spots and the fantastic Portmerion VillageAll in all alovely stay but in need of revamp

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tourerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2009

My wife and I arrived wondering what to expect after reading some of the existing reviews. We travelled from Kent for a five day break with Alfa Travel and got to the hotel at about five o'clock. Our room was on the first floor and adequate for our needs. The en-suite facilities were ample and clean with complimentary toiletries and, one of my favourites, a squeaky board just inside. No chance of quick, quiet visit to the loo in the middle of the night! (see my previous reviews!)

The service was impeccable with attentive staff and beautifully cooked food. The staff were always ready to provide everything you needed and were genuinely sorry to see us go home (I think)

The hotel is now part of the Leisureplex group and I think that this accounts for the 'improvements' noted in previous reviews.

The location is good and, although situated on the main road through Criccieth, there never seemed to a large amount of traffic.

As our group, approximately 25, were the only inmates (sorry ... guests) things were very quiet in the evening and the entertainers were often entertaining a handful of guests, but they soldiered on with typical Welsh determination until it was time to finish.

I would have no hesitation to go back again and would recommend it to those travelling to North Wales at any time.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianCropster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2009

At first sight, the hotel looked rather grand, if a little ''faded'' BUT although that was the case inside too....the staff and food more than made up for the lack of spendour that one would have liked! however this hotel needs thousands if not millions to bring it back to its former glory. I would stay there again despite this, just because the room was clean, and the smiles that I received all the time from the members of staff. And the Manager was always attentive.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Welshvisiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2009

Although the interior decor is quite old fashioned, there are some very pleasant new soft furnishings. The meals are varied, there is regular evening entertainment and the hotel is comfortable. But above all its the efficiency and care of the staff which makes this hotel memorable.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Armchairgardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Criccieth
0.2 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
373 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
283 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,424 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Moelwyn
The Moelwyn
#6 of 6 in Criccieth
106 reviews
4.0 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George IV Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George IV Hotel

Property: George IV Hotel
Address: 23-25 High Street, Criccieth LL52 0BS, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — George IV Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
George IV Hotel - Criccieth [3 Alpha & AA Three Star]Situated on the High Street in the centre of Criccieth with magnificent views towards the sea and castle from many bedrooms. 47 bedrooms with central heating and bath or shower and WC (most have bath and shower). All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, intercom, hair dryer and TV with radio channels. Extensive public areas include a delightful cocktail bar, attractive large restaurant, entertainment room with additional bar and a cosy lounge. A small lift serves first and second floors (not the third floor) and there is ample car parking. A Leisureplex Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your George IV Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Iv Criccieth
George IV Hotel Criccieth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing