We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money and location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Lion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 22 Criccieth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great value for money and location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

We stayed here last bank holiday weekend, and have no complaints whatsoever. would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trevor d astley a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    263
    100
    34
    14
See reviews for
126
315
20
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed luckily only one night during the Bank Holiday. We booked a twin room and was given a double room in the 'Annexe' as they didn't get our booking for a twin room from the online booking agency. The room in the annexe smelled awful of damp old caravans. It had just one tiny window and we had to keep the lights on to see. The fittings and furniture were broken and the wardrobe door would not close due to the dampness. The bedding and towels were clean and fresh but the pillows were old and very lumpy. I was awake all night due to the awful musty smell and the noise from a water tank filling up. The room rate was £87 but I complained to the hotel owner who took my complaints as a personal insult. I told her that I was purely stating fact. The owners need to address some issues: the hotel is tired, worn and in desperate need of refurbishment. The rooms and hotel lounge have not been refurbished in 30 years and it shows. Some people who use the bars there and the hotel are obviously of a class that find this kind of place acceptable. Once they had a few pints the noise became louder and we really did not want to drink in there. It was like a rough working mens club. From reading other reviews it seems that some people have low standards and find this kind of place acceptable. We did get a discount from the owner but believe me, I found her attitude shocking. We thought this was just like Fawlty Towers. We then moved on to Barmouth on spec and found a fantastic B&B with three CLEAN, MODERN and FRESH SMELLING luxury rooms with the most beautiful view of the bay, ALL for only £80. The management can contact us and arrange to view this B&B and perhaps this can give them an idea of what kind of standards most people would like to find. The management also need to get to grips with reality and update the annexe and the hotel and at least get a damp proof course and some proper heating. Perhaps we can put your name forward for 'Hotel Inspector' I think Ruth Watson would be willing to give you some ideas on how to improve this relic.

Room Tip: Do not use the annexe, its very damp.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosyblooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights in August, location of the hotel is great. Breakfast was good and a nice selection of hot and cold food. The thing that lets this hotel down is the rooms. We stopped in the "annex" in the hotel carpark, I can only describe it as a prefabricated shed. The walls were very thin and all night we could hear the people above us walking round, watching TV, using the shower, etc. It was also only after one day we noticed the signs saying the water was supplied from a tank and not the mains and could be unsuitable for drinking! The sign was small, plus if I was paying 89 a night I would expect a "mains water supply".
I imagine the rooms in the main hotel were nicer. Wouldn't stop here again.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank donatelloUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

This hotel is ideally located in the centre of Criccieth. The room we were allocated was a good sized twin with en suite. It was clean, if a liitle dated and tired.The bedding and towels were very clean.
The hotel lounge area was large and comfortable with plenty of seating. The dining room was large and light. The breakfast buffet was a good choice of both hot and cold food. It was well presented and was well cooked.
The staff at the hotel were pleasant and helpfull.
Overall, this was a good hotel to visit.

Room Tip: There were rooms in an annex at the back of the hotel which were ok. The best rooms, it seemed, were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dpc021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

We were on a coach holiday and we highly reccomend this hotel as the location is good. We really enjoyed the excellent food and found the staff were friendly, efficient and helpful. We would go there again when visiting North Wales.

Room Tip: We had room 25 which had a double and a single bed. Also a setee and excellent bathroom facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulie027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Can be described as full of character, the room we had was ok, bathroom better.
Overall it is a clean & comfortable hotel, albeit a bit on the pricey side, however, the owners & staff were very pleasant and friendly, they do seem to be improving the fabric of the hotel although the decor can be a little quirky in places.
We had a lot of rain (no surprise) and spent some time in the hotel, the free wifi is welcome as was the hotel bar.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel, the views are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MPFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

As a base for visiting golf courses in this part of Wales it is ideally placed, good value for money and a friendlier welcome you could not wish for.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Criccieth
0.2 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
4.2 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
0.1 mi away
George IV Hotel
George IV Hotel
#4 of 6 in Criccieth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion Hotel

Property: The Lion Hotel
Address: Y Maes, Criccieth LL52 0AA, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Criccieth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lion Hotel Criccieth
The Lion Hotel Criccieth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing