We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lion Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Moelwyn(Criccieth)
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
George IV Hotel(Criccieth)
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Caerwylan Hotel(Criccieth)
US$194
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Y Branwen(Harlech)
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SeaBanks B&B(Criccieth)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Hotel Portmeirion(Portmeirion)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (893)
Filter reviews
893 results
Traveller rating
372
349
119
35
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
372
349
119
35
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbar mealsbuffet breakfastmurder mysterycoach partygroupon dealfamily roomfriendly hotelhotel barnorth walesplenty of choicelounge areaevening mealcomfortable roomweekend breakcoach triphotel is situateddining room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
788 - 793 of 893 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel. staff was friendly and helpful. Our friends suggested this hotel to us and I think that was good choise . Price and the location is good . Also our dinner was good in the hotel on our last night

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Joseph T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Have just had a great break on a murder mystery weekend. The deal was fantastic value for money. We checked into a super room on the second floor. Very spacious and a huge ensuite bathroom. The room was comfortable and spotlessly clean. Had recently been painted so was sparkling!
Food was of a high standard and although we had a set menu for the deal as opposed to a la carte, there was enough choice and variety.
Breakfast buffet was kept topped up and there were other items that could be ordered fresh.
The staff were pleasant, friendly and helpful.
We will be returning.

Room Tip: Our room was super, but will not tell you the number cos we might want it when you do!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bewdleyjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

we have been staying at the Lion gor years now when visiting local family, i've never thought to write a reivew but was asked when we visited last month if I would. Well, for the past 5 years unfortunately my brother downsized so was unable to accomodate us when we visited. We decided on the Lion in Criccieth as advised by my brother. Everytime we stay were treated more like family than guests, the manager Sandra is very friendly and welcoming, the furnishings of the hotel are not the most modern out there but instead it gives the hotel a warm welcoming feel with an unmatched atmosphere. I'd say the best thing about the Lion is the staff, however the food is very good and exceptional value, the breakfast is all you can eat so we overinduldged on a full welsh breakfast every morning. The attached bar is warm cosy and modern, we invited my brothers family over one night for drinks and pub grub and it was good, also got talking to some of the interesting locals. Anyway, i'll be seeing all the staff next year. Thanks again.

Room Tip: Get one at the front or castle view cottage (I think that's what it's called) offers unbeatable views of the Sea and Castle.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cecilmac123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Our second visit in as many years for a meal only. Stayed elsewhere. Very good food and good value but both last year and this year we had to tell the barman we had chosen meals from the 2for £12 offer. Other than that great place, lovely atmosphere and child/family friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Spent two nights in the hotel on their special offer and found it to be great value. Having looked at the restaurant menu would have liked to enjoy the excellent variety offered but were a little disappointed that the dishes were not available in the bar. Nevertheless we were given vouchers to cover the cost of dinner in the somewhat limited bar menu.

Room Tip: With a mobility problem they were kind enough to give us a room near the lift.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews