We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place”
Review of The Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 21 Criccieth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Stayed here in March, loved this place, the staff were friendly and welcoming from the offset. The rooms were clean and food was exceptional value for money. The bar was warm and welcoming and we nearly spent a whole day in there as the weather was a bit on the cold side for us Aussies! Breakfast was really good, a buffett style so I made the most of that. Really enjoyed our stay here, if you get a chance to visit Criccieth it is a very nice little town, if we were to ever come back I'd stay at the Lion.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christides_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (870)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

757 - 763 of 870 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2013

We had a great time at the Lion Hotel. The room was quiet and comfortable with free wi-fi though this I think depends where your room is. They say it's only available in the public areas and make no claims for bedrooms! Breakfast was excellent with a good choice of items. We also enjoyed two evening meals there with good home style dishes. The hotel is pleasantly situated in the centre of Criccieth and is a few minutes walk from the sea and the castle. The staff were very friendly and helpful. There are several restaurants in the town if you don't want to eat at the hotel, though watch out for opening times! Criccieth is conveniently located for visiting Snowdonia and the Lleyn Peninsula.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Breizhlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

From the moment we arrived, for the whole three days we stayed, the service could only be described as out standing.
On arrival, Gwenda the Receptionist explained the hotel amenities and locations, and all the details needed when you arrive at a new location.
Restaurant service was again, excellant. Food quality was very good and plentiful.
During our stay we had a minor problem in the room. The whole thing from reporting to resolution, took less than 20minutes.
Very helpful and willing staff.

Thank you for a very pleasant stay

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We have just spent a long weekend at The Lion. It was most enjoyable. It is in the process of being renovated ,but that was not a problem. We travelled with a group ,but the Hotel coped with the numbers very well. We had a pleasnt room or I should sat two rooms. We were in a family room with one double bed room and the other room had two singl e bedss

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggieanne-M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Beautiful location, friendly and helpful staff, a bit tired but i understand it is being updated, a convenient and pleasant place to stay. very convenient for the castle and beach, a good start point for the mountains

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We made our advance booking for a family room. When we reached there, we were told that our family room was given to someone else and they can adjust us in a double room. Apologies were offered, however, considering we (two adults) had to spend a night with a young son on a small double bed, the night stay was very uncomfortable. I did ask for a discount, and was given one too, but needless to say that our stay there was very uncomfortable.
The room next to us had two dogs, who barked all night!
All in all, I will not recommend this hotel, nor will be returning to it anytime soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Dolly049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Our stay was very nice. The breakfast and service was good with friendly staff and a nice warm room with a good view. The lounge was comfortable and we spent quite a lot of time with a drink watching the world go by. The hotel is well situated for walks into the town and along the promenade. We would re-book if we were to go back to the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel so that you can see the mountains and the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richardn63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Criccieth
0.2 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
397 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
303 reviews
4.2 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
3.9 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Moelwyn
The Moelwyn
#6 of 6 in Criccieth
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion Hotel

Address: Y Maes, Criccieth LL52 0AA, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Criccieth
Price Range: £68 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lion Hotel Criccieth
The Lion Hotel Criccieth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing