We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a lovely experience”
Review of The Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 21 Criccieth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just a lovely experience”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

The Lion Hotel was just perfect for us. The décor in the lounge sitting room area gave you the feeling of being back in another time. It reflected the character of the place. Our room was great having a view of the ocean was fabulous. The Service was excellent, We came away from there feeling fortunate that we were able to stay there. Perhaps the only thing which was negative was the lift, but in the scheme of things it did it's job. Sue B

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    297
    109
    35
    16
See reviews for
158
365
22
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

The hotel is old and certainly needs a refurb, especially the terrible pink restaurant! The staff are friendly and very helpful. Limited parking. Garden overgrown. Great for the price and great central location to travel around.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

The Lion is an old Hotel, though equipped with en-suite facilities, its interior is somewhat rambling with thin walls and noisy plumbing. The decor is also somewhat dated.
Our room was spacious with 3 chairs! Bed comfort was acceptable but not exceptional.
Nevertheless, the staff more than make up for these few inadequacies. They were universally friendly and helpful.
The restaurant is particularly to be commended. The food is excellent, served hot with very good choice. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front seem to be best. Avoid annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dot T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

just stayed at the Lion hotel on a golfing weekend break with 6 other guys. our twin room was very nicely decorated, nice sized en-suite, with large separate shower. The hotel is well sited in the centre of the town. It has its own public bar, which was crowded on the Saturday night we were there. Good mix of families, couples and groups of guys, who were also on golfing breaks. Breakfast on sunday morning was all self-serve, and plenty to go at.

Room Tip: we were in room 9 right above the main door, with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhiloWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

As single traveller, I often find myself stuck in an inferior room, but the one I had at The Lion really was the worst I had ever had.
One of the other reviewers who had not been impressed with the hotel said this ' It may be a great hotel for the grey pound tourist on a coach trip ' - well, I was one of those, and , believe me, I was not impressed with this hotel in comparison to other hotels to which I have travelled on similar coach trips.
I was given my key to my room on the first floor, and when I opened the door on a sunny afternoon, I thought I had been allocated the broom cupboard. It was dark, stuffy and had a superb !! view of the kitchen roof and a large bright blue fire escape. The smell rising from the kitchen was nauseating - particularly to me as I suffer from diverticular problems and when I complained about the stuffiness, I was given a fan, as when I tried to open the heavy sash windows, the window shot down and a maintenance man had to come to lift it back up.
The bathroom was tiny and windowless and I got a splinter in my hand from the door which had obviously been recommissioned from somewhere else.
I did complain to reception and was told there was nowhere else, even though I offered to pay more for a more suitable room. I was offered the coach driver's room as a substitute ( how much had he paid for the stay, I wonder?) -but though the room was better than mine, I couldn't manage the stairs up to that room.
Although the young staff there were pleasant, someone at reception whom I think was management, was totally dismissive of my problems.
On other holidays, whenever I have had problems because of my disability, I have found staff to be most understanding and helpful. Not so in this hotel,where breakfast was like a scramble at school dinners.
Some of the other reviews seem positive and happy. I don't like being treated as a second class citizen, just because I happen to be a) with a coach party, and b) travelling on my own, so I would not advise anyone in either of these categories to expect an enjoyable stay at this second rate hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Elinor_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyneham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

37 of us had a very comfortable stay at The Lion Hotel over the weekend of 16th June. Breakfast was a feast, with all dishes being topped up regularly.
The young staff were very helpful and friendly.
Our room was very large with a double and single bed, 2 large chests of drawers, large wardrobe and settee (room 19)
I would definitely choose to stay in this hotel again.
Many thanks to the Hotel Management.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

I picked this hotel for a short break with my elderly mother (I hope she doesn't read that!) I know Criccieth as my partner, me and our dog stayed there in a self catering cottage last year and it's an excellent location and a pretty little town and beach.

Overall the hotel was very good. There is on site parking, though your chances might be slim if you arrived in the evening. There is an extremely comfortable reception / lounge area, a bar, dining room and outside lawn and patio area. All the staff were extremely friendly and courteous.... including the cat that works reception! Our room was good, though maybe the decor was a little tired. Carpets were clean, good quality linen, clean white towels and a very big bathroom. For £89 a night we thought it good value.

The dining room menu was perhaps a little dated and not very adventurous. We ate in the bar and the quality was fine. Very big portions too. We were also quite impressed with the breakfast which was served buffet style. There was fresh juice, fruit, cereal, porridge. You could also help yourself to sausage, bacon, tomatoes, beans, fried and scrambled eggs. You could also order boiled or poached eggs and kippers from the kitchen. Toast and tea and coffee were served at the table.

We both really enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: See if you can get a first floor room over looking The Green (there is a lift)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thebearsguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Criccieth
0.2 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
291 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
690 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Moelwyn
The Moelwyn
#6 of 6 in Criccieth
109 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion Hotel

Property: The Lion Hotel
Address: Y Maes, Criccieth LL52 0AA, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Criccieth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lion Hotel Criccieth
The Lion Hotel Criccieth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing