We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Turkey & Tinsel experience”
Review of The Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 21 Criccieth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Seven of us went to this hotel late November for a Turkey & Tinsel holiday. We all enjoyed the experience and the staff were friendly and helpful, the food excellent and the entertainment kept us amused ! My room was warm and comfy and I have no complaints. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I had a room on the first floor on the side of the hotel - this was not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dianne68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (846)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

699 - 705 of 846 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

Sue and I spent Christmas at the Lion Hotel in Criccieth with Barnes Coaches Swindon. We left on 20th.Dec. and returned 27th.Dec.. Every thing about this break was brilliant. The coach trip to North Wales was very good, with comfort stops and lunch on the way. The hotel was family run and very homely. Food was exceptionally good and the staff were very helpful and friendly, the rooms were comfy and clean. The lounges were very comfortable....with roaring fires and lovely arm chairs to relax in. The entertainment every night was very good, and the drinks at the bar were at bar prices. All in all a wonderful holiday, full marks to The Lion Hotel and full marks to Barnes Coaches

Room Tip: grab the armchairs by the fire !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trevor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

We our just about to leave the lion and am very sad to go. have been here for 7 days over the Christmas holidays.
The hotel is in good location and we were offerd a very friendly welcome after horrendous journey. offer of assistance was kindly taken and it was lovely to chill out in front of open fires.
The hotel is very nicely decorated in older style but that is perfect for us .
plenty of moden faceless hotels for those people like that.

but here you get a family run and friendly. very clean.
food in dining room was very varied and plenty of choice each evening and local welsh products.

Good entertainers each night varied to suit most tastes.

I was also taken back by jordan who worked there he was very freindly helpful and went the extra mile makeing you feel special. not that often this day and age.



Will be coming back already booked.

You will enjoy a stay here true welsh hospitality

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
4  Thank blucruiser64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

My wife and myself have just returned from a 3 night break at the lion hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.All the staff were lovely and very helpful.The room was smashing,and all the meals were lovely,evening meals and the breakfast.Would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bobbydazzler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Just arrived back after a five day stay at the Lion Hotel, very good food and compfortable rooms although the furniture in our room was from all our yesterdays but we did see other rooms and they were very modern, very friendly staff, entertainment average, Criccieth itself has nothing of interest only a ruined castle, would deffinately use the hotel again if it was in another place,

Room Tip: number 14 and 17 very nice fooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cockles55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Good clean room, very comfortable. Friendly staff. Breakfast good. Easy access to here via the bus services and train to next towns and within walking distance to some great pubs and dining places. Would stay here again on our next visit...

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Blackpooltraveller49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed here for 5 days with a holiday group and was delighted with everything. My room was very clean and had a new bathroom. The food and service was excellent. I think the hotel was pretty full so the staggerd times for breakfast was a sensible idea although some people did grumble about it. I will look for future holidays that stay at the The Lion because I would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ann_drew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Criccieth
0.2 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
397 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
302 reviews
4.2 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,347 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
George IV Hotel
George IV Hotel
#4 of 6 in Criccieth
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion Hotel

Address: Y Maes, Criccieth LL52 0AA, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Criccieth
Price Range: £67 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lion Hotel Criccieth
The Lion Hotel Criccieth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing