We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dreadful place!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Lion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 22 Criccieth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dreadful place!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2009

Bedroom, bedding, pillows, curtains were all smelling of cigarette smoke! Carpet not cleaned, very dated (approx. crirc 1960) decoration and furnishings! Bathroom 1/2 inch in dust. Old p[ink sink and toilet but they didnt even match the toilet seat up (as they couldnt because it was so old) and that was white! Asked that the bathroom be cleaned properly but was still dirty when I got back that night. The bath mat was disgusting with black mould marks on it. Also there was black mold on the windows. My breakfast on my last day was cold so I took it back to the waitress. She brought another one but that was cold as well! This hotel is well dated and seems to cater more for very old people, and of course this age group dont complain. The meals were only big enough for someone with very little appetite as there were only minute portions of meat! There were a number of people complaining about the datedness of it and the uncleanliness of this hotel so how they have got any good comments I dont know!! It needs to be dragged into the 21st Century and everything in it needs to be replaced with more modern furnishings, re-decorated and cleaned thoroughly! Cant say that all the staff were nice either!! Went into the bar for a drink and there were quite a few very drunken young men swearing terribly!! I and my friend would certainly never go there again!!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DREAMBABY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serenstar22, owner at The Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2010
We are very sorry that you found it necessary to write such a poor review, we realise how disgruntled you must have been after being politely asked not to drink your own bottle of wine in the restaurant. The rest of your party were full of complimentary remarks about the hotel, food and service (they completed questionnaires too).
The hotel has had a new fire safety system installed which is so sensitive that cigarette smoke would trigger it. We are delighted that smoking in the bedrooms is definitely not an option.
The hotel has a lovely sociable atmosphere and we agree it is not a modern building - it actually dates back to 1721. There are a great many antiques in the building and we have tried to preserve the welcoming, homely atmosphere for which we are famous by retaining as many comfortable, traditional furnishings as possible.
After 30 years at the Lion we have implemented vast and varied changes and upgrades and continue to do so for the comfort and pleasure of all our guests. The lounge bar refurbishment was completed at the end of January. We will continue to invest in the Lion – a genuine family business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    266
    100
    34
    14
See reviews for
126
318
20
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
N Wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2009

This hotel is full of character and but is a little dated. Have recently returned from a very enjoyable trip there.
When we checked in we were greeted by a very pretty white cat sitting on the reception desk !!!!
That was one of the quirky parts of our stay.
Our room was lovely and had a sea view. The breafast was delicious with a good choice, and served in a pink dining room.
We enjoyed a few drinks in the bar and we were served by a grey haired gentleman we nicked named "smiler" because of the miserable expression on his face.
My hubby and I would definatly return to this pleasant hotel and we love the Criccieth area.

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank RossiNWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2009

We had travelled quite a long distance from Scotland and when we arrived the friendly receptionist gave us a welcoming smile. All hotel staff efficient and friendly at all times. Food was great, quick service, super portions and staff were also catering at that time for two coaches. Hotel is ideally located to sightsee various popular tourist attractions. Rooms were clean, we had a great view of the sea and castle. Would recommend this hotel to all with no hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HMCScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2009

Stayed for only one night of the three we booked during our honeymoon. Was given one of the "cottages" in the courtyard, i.e a pokey en-suite room with a strong smell of damp. Food was decent and the bar looked well used by locals, Which is good or bad depending how you look at it.

Decor in the main hotel is dated, the carpet is the same 1970's Axminster carpet I grew up with at my parent's home, Which says it all really. This was a quality hotel 30 years ago, but now gives the impression that you're in a dying seaside town.

Beware the contrived cancellation policy, We ended paying the equivalent of £238 for one night. We were told that they were full and had been turning people away, however a sneaky look at the computer screen in reception later proved otherwise, in fact the hotel was 2/3rds full at most.

We left with the empty promise that they would refund us if they re-let the room. Strangely enough it never happened.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2009

Very enjoyable weeks holiday

All the staff were very pleasant, helpfull and well organised. I was particulary impressed with the meal I had on Monday evening, it was excellent very much so considering the kitchen was also dealing with two coach parties at the same time.

Room had a nice view of the bay, was well located in the town and was in easy walking distance of the station. Room was comfortable and clean, with everything we needed, lounge was a pleasant place to enjoy a drink from the bar.

I would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel to friends, and will certainly consider going again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ticket99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli Carmarthenshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2009

We were a party of three couples When we arrived we were given a very warm welcome by Gwenda and her staff Our rooms were all together so that we could socialise. The rooms were very clean and were sufficient for all our needs. The food at the hotel was superb nothing was toomuch trouble for the waiters and waitresses, we were even given an early breakfast one day to allow us an early day out. The location of the hotel is excellent for touring North Wales. Llanberris is a must for Snowdon and for the Slate Museum at Llanberris where you can be given the opportunity to split a piece of slate. I highly recommend this hotel and plan to return there in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucykins14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2009

Just returned from a wonderful weekend at the Lion Hotel. Would like to thank the staff for such a fantastic time. Food was great and room was very clean. Had a relaxing time.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank willlou25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Criccieth
0.2 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
George IV Hotel
George IV Hotel
#4 of 6 in Criccieth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
4.2 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion Hotel

Property: The Lion Hotel
Address: Y Maes, Criccieth LL52 0AA, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Criccieth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lion Hotel Criccieth
The Lion Hotel Criccieth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing