We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Plas Isa Hotel(Criccieth)
US$127
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marine Hotel(Criccieth)
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Moelwyn(Criccieth)
US$132
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
George IV Hotel(Criccieth)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Caerwylan Hotel(Criccieth)
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$209
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eisteddfa Caravan & Camping Site(Criccieth)(Great Value!)
US$28
Pitchup.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$172
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (947)
Filter reviews
947 results
Traveller rating
405
369
119
36
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
405
369
119
36
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbar mealsbuffet breakfastmurder mysterycoach partygroupon dealfamily roomfriendly hotelnorth walesplenty of choicecoach triphotel is situatedweekend breakevening meallounge areacomfortable roomdining roomtea and coffee
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 947 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Go with a coach trip with trips included , if you like little trains you will be in heaven or if you go by car use the Lion as a base and explore the many wonders of North Wales We found the staff very friendly and obliging Nothing seemed too much trouble

Room Tip: Room 38 a spacious quiet room with a shower and very good decor , a few stairs but worth the effort.
Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Yorkies145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lioncricc, Manager at The Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Meirion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What can I say but FABULOUS HOTEL, just returned from this hotel, and I can honestly say you will not be disappointed, the room we stayed in over the wkend was No.17 beautifully decorated , beds are so comfortable, brilliant shower, lounge & bar are so relaxing, beer garden quite big, breakfast was delicious ( buffet styl), always greeted with a smile, everything about this hotel is quality , they've not cut corners wonderful place , I will certainly be returning & highly recommend this hotel to all my family & friends,

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank P1364YUlindal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lioncricc, Manager at The Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for this amazing review, we are all glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back soon.
Meirion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Late morning risers, especially when on a mini break. So decided to venture into Criccieth for something to eat.
Parked on a 'Long Stay' carpark, (£1 for 4 hours, with free clean toilets. !). Walked back up the hill to the Lion Hotel. They have a large beer garden. Part under cover/part on the lawn. A small playboat for children to keep them occupied. Although there were no children at the time of our visit.
Read through their Menu, which was on a board by the garden gate. Decided to sit in the beer garden, with our two Dogs, tied to the table legs, they settled and were well behaved.

We ordered two Welsh Rarebit with Crispy Bacon. Enjoying two pints of a lovely Bitter from the Conway Brewery. Full bodied and flavoursome. Whilst we waited for our food.
This was served quite quickly by a very nice young Lady who was efficient, friendly and polite.
This was just what the Dr ordered. !! Very Tasty. !! Lots of Cheese and Crispy Bacon, on a thick cut Pannini. Small side Salad with a lovely Salad dressing.

It was lovely and peaceful, sitting out in the beer garden. We could relax and enjoy our meals as both dogs were very happy and settled by our feet.
We were so glad we made the decision to go into Criccieth and look for somewhere to eat a late Breakfast/Early Lunch. Even more happier with our choice of venue to eat also.

It was a brilliant day, strong Sunshine, broken up by the roofing on the terrace where we ate, so neither too hot for the Dogs or Us.
Simply perfect before our venture over to Porthmadog for the Afternoon.

Thank You, we will certainly be back to taste further delights from this lovely Hotel with a great beer garden and terrace.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lioncricc, Manager at The Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review, hope to see you soon
Meirion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Pleasant traditional hotel just off the main road through the village. Comfortable and clean rooms , well kept dining areas and public rooms. Excellent choice at buffet breakfast. The car park in insufficient for the number of guests if the hotel is full however street parking is available close by. Five minutes walk from the station if coming by train.

Stayed: June 2018
Thank Bobcat202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lioncricc, Manager at The Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind review, that is not a title we would put on ourselves but if you insist we will accept.
We hope to welcome you back soon.
Meirion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Three nights B&B at the Lion was a true pleasure, wish we could have stayed longer. Our room (7) was comfortable with a good clean efficient shower room.
Excellent choice at breakfast with fast service and well cooked buffet.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Philip J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lioncricc, Manager at The Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review, we are so happy that you had a nice stay.
We hope to see you back again with us soon
Meirion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews