We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Right on the Sea” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Abereistedd

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Abereistedd
Ranked #10 of 22 Criccieth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Right on the Sea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

My family and I stayed for three nights in room 8 which is on the top floor. This is a large house with lots of stairs. It is quite a climb with heavy luggage. The room was actually a room with a double bed and very tiny bathroom and an adjoining room with two twin beds for our boys. The decor is quite pink and there is no air conditioning. Luckily the weather was perfect the entire time. Breakfast is only from 8 to 8:45 but it was well prepared and there were choices available. The inn is right on the sea and within a short walk to the castle. Most of the beaches are pebble but we did have one day warm enough for swimming and the boys enjoyed it immensely. This was the beach past the castle about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. We wish that the bed had been larger for the two of us. The room was quite small. For the four of us, the cost with breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs ask for a room on a lower level. No elevator. Castle view rooms see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank igads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    23
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
17
55
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tean
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Rooms were clean and quite well-equipped tho' the late 1990's decor wouldn't be to everyone's taste. Breakfast was fresh and well-cooked but 'eggs cooked any way' didn't include an omelette but did include scrambled eggs! The location is pleasant - on the sea front near the castle but Criccieth apparently closes down after 9.00pm - even on a Saturday in August! It was dark and dreary. Couldn't help comparing the town (unfavourably) with similar sized Cornish ones in the holiday season. We probably wouldn't go back because there are so many similar guest houses to choose from and we were not given a warm welcome - it was polite but definitely had a touch of !he 'seaside landlady' to it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackbird1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ebeam, Owner at The Abereistedd, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Not a very warm welcome? Let's discuss manners - This large group, five rooms, had told us they would arrive between 2.00 pm and 3.00 pm. I had to ring one of the guests at 7.30 pm to ask if they were actually coming, and what time they were going to arrive. The reply was, they weren't sure what time they would be there. They actually straggled in between 8.00 pm and 9.00 pm. Not one person had the basic good manners to let us know they would be late. If they feel their welcome wasn't particularly warm, that's probably the reason.

All the rooms in The Abereistedd were decorated between 2004 and 2012, so it's hardly 90s decor.

As to the rest of this party's behavior, they were slamming doors at 4.00 am, one of the party invaded our private quarters,totally inebriated, and my wife nearly vomited clearing up the mess one of the party had left in the bathroom of their room.

I also don't see what relevance their opinion of Criccieth has to their review of our establishment, but given their attitude, I am sure that Criccieth generally will be glad they are not coming back, and I would not let them back in our establishment under any circumstances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

I stayed for a couple of days over the summer, I was made to feel very welcome and I was given a few pointers on where to eat in town, the hotel was very clean and tidy and well kept inside and out.

My single room was great, it was lovely to have a top view across the sea and a queen size bed rather than a pokey single bed. The room was spotless and there were some nice little touches, the bathroom was nicely presented too. The only problem was that the cord for the kettle didn't reach the plug so you had to boil the kettle on the floor. However the breakfast was great and there was a good choice and the breakfast room had an amazing view.

Criccieth is a lovely little town and an ideal base for the area. The Aberesistedd is in a perfect location, a quiet part of town, overlooking the sea with plenty of parking around but just 5 minutes walk to the centre of town, the castle, shops and restaurants.

The hotel was great value for money and i'll certainly be staying there again when I visit this wonderful part of the country.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CinnabarMoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Brian and Linda are great hosts, who made our stay a good experience. Right by the sea, with views of the sea and castle, this B+B is comfortable and clean, with a calming atmosphere and is in a great location. There is ample parking nearby and the accommodation is just a short 10 minute stroll to the centre of Criccieth. Not only do Brian and Linda know the best places to eat, but they also have the menus available so you can decide where to go before leaving the accommodation. Breakfast was fab. We have a small hiccup but Brian's professionalism had it sorted in a jiffy. I can wholehaeartedly recommend this accommodation.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a sea view, some a caslte view. All excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenOLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales Great Britain
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

This was excellent value for money ... My single room was clean & comfy .. The hosts were very helpful .. The location was wonderful & the view from the breakfast room stunning ... No complaints but one suggestion a longer cord on the kettle in the room .. Had to boil it on the floor !! Would stay there again if I stayed in Criccieth

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cerys101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

Whilst looking for places to stay on a motorcycle trip I came across this little gem on here, it seemed to be one of the few that doesn't punish you on the price for travelling alone! The single room was clean, excellent decor and very comfy bed! Tv was great with plenty of channels to choose from also. Linda and Brian excellent hosts and I was made to feel very welcome and given a nice secure spot for my motorcycle so top marks there! Breakfast was excellent, coffee lovely and really set me up for the days bike riding across the rest of Wales. Didn't have an incredible amount of time to explore Criccieth, but will be back next month with the other half to find out more! Top marks!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank satanspawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

Went to Criccieth with the WSCC club members and stayed at the Abereistedd for three nights B & B. The owners, Brian and Linda are very friendly, excellent, clean and comfortable rooms. Great cooked English breakfast. Stunning views across the sea with a view of the mountains and Criccieth Castle. Would definitely stay again and recommend for short or long stays.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shindha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Criccieth
0.5 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.5 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
George IV Hotel
George IV Hotel
#4 of 6 in Criccieth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Awel Mor
Awel Mor
#3 of 22 in Criccieth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lion Hotel
The Lion Hotel
#1 of 22 in Criccieth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abereistedd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abereistedd

Property: The Abereistedd
Address: West Parade, Criccieth LL52 0EN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Criccieth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Abereistedd 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your The Abereistedd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Abereistedd Criccieth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing