We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Holiday at The Abereistedd”
Review of The Abereistedd

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Abereistedd
Ranked #12 of 21 Criccieth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I'm now well into double figures with my stays at this friendly and well-appointed hotel. Brian and Linda are excellent hosts, giving guests a warm welcome and nothing is too much trouble for them. Rooms are clean and comfortable, and the home-cooked food is wonderful with a good choice and generous portions. Guests meet in the comfortable lounge before dinner to share their day's activities over a drink, and it's great to meet people again as there are so many "regulars" who return each year (or often more frequently). The quiet location at the end of the promenade is perfect, and just a few minutes walk into the centre. I've already booked again for the autumn !

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorksGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

First thing that struck me upon arrival were the neatly mowed lawn out in the front, the scrupulously vacuumed carpet on the staircase within, and the tasteful 'Happy Easter' decorations that had been put up (as this was the Easter weekend).
It was plain from the outset that this little hotel was owned by proprietors who took great pride in their house, and wanted to make guests feel as welcome as possible.
Brian immediately attended and explained the necessary information, and also recommended suitable restaurants in Criccieth.

My stay in Room 5 was lovely - a singe room, compact and cheerful with a comfortable bed. Also the room had 6 powerpoints. Ideal if you have chargers, phones etc!
The ensuite bathroom was, again, meticulously clean, well-lit and well appointed.

Breakfast - I had the full breakfast - tasty and nicely prepared, with the option of more toast and tea; an excellent start to the day.

My only regret is that I had only two days in Criccieth. Should I return I would book a week at the Abereistedd as I was made welcome here, and the room was good value.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EWEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Had a very nice stay, sadly only for one night. We were in Room # 3 and Brian showed us the room first as well as carried our bag up for us. Beautiful view out onto the water and nice king bed with a sofa. Town only a a couple of minutes away and castle just down the road. Other guests friendly as well and repeat stayers.

Room Tip: Room # 3 has nice view of water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I believe this is the 6th time we've stayed here and we tend to book the dates round the availability of one particular room. We are always made welcome and Brian and Linda always have time for their guests. Linda is an excellent cook and her sauces are fantastic. Our room (no 3) was, as always, very clean and the bed comfortable. If the weather is not so good we can always return to our room and look out over the shoreline and watch the world go by

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cegidfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We have been staying at The Abereistedd regularly for seven years and in recent times in room 4. The view from the window is excellent across the bay to Harlech and in the other direction The Lleyn Peninsular can be seen. Dolphins are a regular sight as they feed just off shore.
The Hotel is very welcoming and Brian and Linda do an excellant job. Breakfasts are an annual treat and worth the 12 month wait. I understand that the evening meals are very good but after breakfast at my age another cooked meal would be to much. The room is always clean and fresh on arrival and is kept that way during the stay. Room 4 is spacious with a large on-suite and dressing area. It is a charming family run hotel. You can come and go as you please. You can even return for an afternoon nap.

Room Tip: Get a room on the front for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Old_Codger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

My family and I stayed for three nights in room 8 which is on the top floor. This is a large house with lots of stairs. It is quite a climb with heavy luggage. The room was actually a room with a double bed and very tiny bathroom and an adjoining room with two twin beds for our boys. The decor is quite pink and there is no air conditioning. Luckily the weather was perfect the entire time. Breakfast is only from 8 to 8:45 but it was well prepared and there were choices available. The inn is right on the sea and within a short walk to the castle. Most of the beaches are pebble but we did have one day warm enough for swimming and the boys enjoyed it immensely. This was the beach past the castle about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. We wish that the bed had been larger for the two of us. The room was quite small. For the four of us, the cost with breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs ask for a room on a lower level. No elevator. Castle view rooms see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank igads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Rooms were clean and quite well-equipped tho' the late 1990's decor wouldn't be to everyone's taste. Breakfast was fresh and well-cooked but 'eggs cooked any way' didn't include an omelette but did include scrambled eggs! The location is pleasant - on the sea front near the castle but Criccieth apparently closes down after 9.00pm - even on a Saturday in August! It was dark and dreary. Couldn't help comparing the town (unfavourably) with similar sized Cornish ones in the holiday season. We probably wouldn't go back because there are so many similar guest houses to choose from and we were not given a warm welcome - it was polite but definitely had a touch of !he 'seaside landlady' to it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blackbird1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ebeam, Owner at The Abereistedd, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Not a very warm welcome? Let's discuss manners - This large group, five rooms, had told us they would arrive between 2.00 pm and 3.00 pm. I had to ring one of the guests at 7.30 pm to ask if they were actually coming, and what time they were going to arrive. The reply was, they weren't sure what time they would be there. They actually straggled in between 8.00 pm and 9.00 pm. Not one person had the basic good manners to let us know they would be late. If they feel their welcome wasn't particularly warm, that's probably the reason.

All the rooms in The Abereistedd were decorated between 2004 and 2012, so it's hardly 90s decor.

As to the rest of this party's behavior, they were slamming doors at 4.00 am, one of the party invaded our private quarters,totally inebriated, and my wife nearly vomited clearing up the mess one of the party had left in the bathroom of their room.

I also don't see what relevance their opinion of Criccieth has to their review of our establishment, but given their attitude, I am sure that Criccieth generally will be glad they are not coming back, and I would not let them back in our establishment under any circumstances.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Criccieth hotels
0.5 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
303 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
397 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Lion Hotel
The Lion Hotel
#1 of 21 in Criccieth
871 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Moelwyn
The Moelwyn
#6 of 6 in Criccieth
111 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gwynle Boutique B & B
Gwynle Boutique B & B
#6 of 21 in Criccieth
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abereistedd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abereistedd

Address: West Parade, Criccieth LL52 0EN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Criccieth
Price Range: £64 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Abereistedd 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Evoline ltd, Book Direct Rooms and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Abereistedd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Abereistedd Criccieth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing