We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the Best”
Review of The Abereistedd

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Abereistedd
Ranked #11 of 21 Criccieth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2009

We've stayed at the Abereistedd Hotel many times and from the start always receive a very warm welcome. This hotel is in a perfect quiet sea-front location. The proprietors and staff are always friendly and extremely helpful. All the rooms are great and very clean and the food is excellent, even my faddy Husband is catered for. Have recommended it to many friends.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2009

Having been guests at The Abereistedd over the last six years the proprietors Linda and Brian have never been anything other than extremely welcoming, friendly and accomodating.The needs of all guests are always catered for and nothing is ever too much trouble.Rooms are always spotlessly clean,food always excellent, and a well stocked bar and comfortable lounge all make for an enjoyable stay. On our regular visits to the hotel we often meet with other guests who like ourselves are returning to enjoy another wonderful break.Having just returned today from a short break we are already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2009

We have stayed at this lovely hotel enjoying a long weekend on several occasions. The rooms with sea views are a delight, with stunning uninterrupted views out the over the bay. Each time we have arrived we have been greeted with such friendliness and warmth that makes our stay so relaxing and comfortable. The food is superb with plenty of choice and well presented. The hotel is quiet and very clean throughout with a nice lounge and a small bar. The staff are always happy to help when we have requested information about the best places to visit and have even booked a table at a local restaurants for us on the odd occasions that we choose to eat out. During our last visit, after a very enjoyable but tiring trip to Snowdon we were more than happy to spend a quiet evening in the hotel. After our delicious evening meal we enjoyed pleasant company in the lounge/bar without feeling that we had to rush off to our rooms. We have also made some good friends with other regular guests and we are now looking forward to our next visit – along with our new friends. I would not hesitate to recommend this clean and delightful hotel to anyone. With it’s friendly atmosphere it is the perfect place to enjoy a little peace and quiet, lovely refreshing walks along the beach and some very interesting places to visit that only require a short car journey. Can’t wait for our next vist.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank relaxed05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2009

Recently returned from a second visit to this welcoming hotel, as we wanted to go back again as the first visit was highly enjoyable. Proprietors, Linda and Brian exceed the role of Host and Hostess and go out of their way to make every guest feel at ease and that nothing is too much trouble.
Once again, food was excellent with a wide variety of choice to suit everyone. Service was also up to a very high standard, with more than enough time to enjoy meals.
Our room on both visits were spotlessly clean and very comfortable and bathroom facilities were to the same high standard.
Location suitable for all ages with adequate parking at the hotel and across the road. Overall excellent value for money and have recommended this hotel to family who have had equally enjoyable visits.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank feb14NorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2009

Spotlessly clean room on the top floor,good job I was fit enough.En suite very small with hand basin in the bedroom,not very convenient.Wonderful sea views.A bit of a frosty welcome which continued until our departure. My dietry needs were catered for but the soya milk was placed on the table in its Tesco carton.Gluten free bread was duly provided.The proprietor was not,however, prepared to offer any other gluten free cereal than Rice crispies,which when charging £72 for 2 is a bit on the tardy side.
This is not really a hotel,more of a guest house.
Last orders for breakfast was 8.45 which on holiday is far too early.We certainly would not return.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fothers23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2009

guests are there at the convenience of the owners and often it does not seem convenient. Tables in dining room so close together you bang elbows with next table. breakfast between 8am and 8.45am ONLY and be after 8.30 at your peril!! plates collected before you;ve finished eating. Orange juice etc taken away prematurely to hurry you up. Proprieter has 'favourites' and doesn't engage with other guests. you cannot be in your room between 9.30am and 12.30pm so elderly people are sitting in cars on the promenade in the rain from 9.15am,. tension in atmosphere and you cannot feel comfortable. Bathroom from 1960s bright yellow and shower ancient. Boot camp. Never again!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Oh - one good thing - the breakfast is nice if you are willing to eat VERY FAST!! And you need to know what you want for dinner before you start your breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LancashireBasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ebeam, Owner at The Abereistedd, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2009

I am in contact with Tripadvisor in an attempt to find out who wrote this review, so I can institute proceedings for libel, as his statement regarding guests not being allowed in their rooms is a downright lie.

The guests at the Abereistedd are given a warm welcome, and can come and go as they wish, AT ANY TIME!

We have owned the Abereistedd for 6 years, and in that time, have comletely refurbished every bedroom apart from room 1, which this person was obviously in. The shower may be old, but it is well-maintained, and works perfectly.

The dining room is not overly large, but is adequate for purpose. The times of breakfast are in line with other similar establishments in Criccieth. Dinner orders are taken AFTER breakfast has been eaten. The rest of this "gentleman"'s comments I put down to the fact he obviously didn't like us, which unfortunately happens occasionally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2008

Great place. We had a family room (room 8) which was more than enough for us - two linked bedrooms with views over the castle. Very clean, very friendly staff and very good food - not much else you could ask for!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank EricCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Criccieth hotels
0.5 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
397 reviews
0.5 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
302 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lion Hotel
The Lion Hotel
#1 of 21 in Criccieth
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Moelwyn
The Moelwyn
#6 of 6 in Criccieth
111 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marine Hotel
Marine Hotel
#15 of 21 in Criccieth
101 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gwynle Boutique B & B
Gwynle Boutique B & B
#6 of 21 in Criccieth
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abereistedd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abereistedd

Address: West Parade, Criccieth LL52 0EN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Criccieth
Price Range: £64 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Abereistedd 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Book Direct Rooms and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Abereistedd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Abereistedd Criccieth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing