We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbeatable B&B!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tide's Reach Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Criccieth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tide's Reach Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 22 Criccieth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unbeatable B&B!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Had a lovely stay at this superbly comfortable B & B. It is situated in a prime position and the views of the bay from the large front double bedroom are fantastic. You can sit with a cup of tea and a biscuit from the hospitality tray and admire the view from the comfort of a rocking chair! Jo and Mark gave us a very warm welcome to their well appointed, tastefully decorated home with lots of little 'extras' thrown in. Breakfast was very good expertly cooked by Mark and cheerily served by Jo. Nothing was too much trouble. My husband is very particular and tried his hardest to find fault and was very pleased to find he couldn't! We would highly recommend Tides Reach if you ever want to stay in Criccieth.

Room Tip: The front room Morannedd is lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lel1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
59
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We found Tide's Reach by pure chance on the Friday evening before the Spring Bank Holiday. We had already been in Wales for a couple of days and had intended to travel back home on the Friday but we changed our minds and decided to try and find somewhere 'on spec'. It must have been our lucky day because we came across Tide's Reach.
We were shown the rooms and immediately fell in love with the Moranedd room and its amazing views of the bay. As others have said, we just sat in the rocking chairs in the window and just let time go by. It is stunning!
Mark and Jo were extremely friendly and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. The accommodation was fresh, clean and comfortable and attention to detail like having a small fridge in the room with milk and water in it made a world of difference.
Breakfast was excellent with a good choice of hot items (pre-ordered the day before) as well as cereals, yogurt, toast etc.
All in all, a beautiful place to stay with lovely hosts. I was almost tempted not to write this review because I'd like to keep this place a secret but I guess that wouldn't be fair! We'll definitely be back.
Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank bickers70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night at Tide's Reach. Mark and Jo gave us a really warm welcome on arrival.

The B&B is beautifully decorated in neutral tones and offers every home comfort you could wish for.

All rooms at Tide's Reach are beautiful and clean and offer above and beyond what you would expect in a B&B with lots of extra touches like a fridge in the room with fresh milk and chilled water. The large front room has an amazing picture view across the whole bay along with two rocking chairs where you can sit and admire.

The beds are very comfortable which meant we all had an amazing nights sleep. There were lovely large fluffy towels in all the bathrooms.

The breakfast was lovely. You are given a form to complete the day before allowing you to choose what you would like on a very generous full English. As well as this, you can have cereal, fruit, yoghurt and toast with options of jam, marmalade and even Marmite (a nice extra touch appreciated by my partner).

All in all Mark and Jo are great hosts and have a beautiful home. They can't do enough for you meaning we had a lovely stay. Can't fault Tide's Reach at all. Thank you.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Tide’s Reach goes above and beyond what you expect from a B&B. A lovely friendly greeting by Jo and Mark, the owners. Spotlessly clean rooms, classically decorated, very filling and tasty breakfast, a great location and nothing’s too much trouble. A home from home but with a better view!

We were lucky enough to stay in the Morannedd room, overlooking the Bay. I laid in bed the first evening watching the moon move across the sky with its reflection shimmering in the water below, magical. Saturday morning , after a hearty breakfast, we discovered we had a flat tyre. Mark helped us remove it and phoned round several local garages until he found one close by that could repair it. Instead of having to wait around for roadside recovery for hours we were able to get on with our day. We loved exploring the local area, thanks to Jo’s recommendations. There are several good restaurants in the town for which Mark and Jo are happy to make the reservations. We spent one evening in our room overlooking the bay, sat in the rocking chairs chatting, we haven’t done that in ages. We’ve paid a lot more for a lot less in other places.

A great Easter weekend break, can’t wait to go back!

Room Tip: If you want a room with a view Morannedd is perfect. Having said that, we got there early and had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

A warm welcome at Tides Reach from new owners, Jo and Mark, who have thought of everything before opening their stylish Bed and Breakfast - literally a stones throw from the beach. Comfortable beds, excellent breakfast, cooked exactly as you want, relaxing atmosphere and amazing fun watching dolphins playing in the bay in the sunshine in mid-April! In fact you could not think of anywhere better as a base for a few days to relax and explore this historic and breathtakingly beautiful corner of North Wales.

Very highly recommended and we shall certainly be visiting again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

As this is a newly established b&b we took a chance and booked on the basis of the lovely photos on the website as there weren't many reviews online. What a great decision we made! The location is perfect - right on the seafront of this charming traditional resort. The sea view double is light and airy with views of the sea you'd be hard pushed to beat on this coastline. Our other family members stayed in the twin room - although this didn't have views of the sea it was very comfortable. The whole place is tastefully decorated,clean, comfortable, great hearty breakfasts and friendly owners. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ManchesterHew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

This is the perfect spot to unwind or explore some of the best North Wales has to offer. Nestled on the beach front under the watch of Criccieth Castle, Tide's Reach is in an idyllic location to enjoy the charm and warmth of Wales. Mark and Jo, the lovely owners, make perfect hosts with plenty of local knowledge on how to make the most of your stay or they are more than happy if you just want to relax and enjoy the panoramic view if you stay in the Morannedd en-suite. The rooms are well equipped, spacious and the beds are very comfortable. The breakfast is home cooked to your taste with plenty of choice. There is ample free parking right outside and you are in easy walking distance of local craft shops, pubs and restaurants. Really enjoyed our short stay and can't wait to return to Tide's Reach to what we are certain will soon become another Criccieth treasure. Thanks for a lovely stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Criccieth
0.3 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
0.3 mi away
George IV Hotel
George IV Hotel
#4 of 6 in Criccieth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lion Hotel
The Lion Hotel
#1 of 22 in Criccieth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tide's Reach Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tide's Reach Bed & Breakfast

Property: Tide's Reach Bed & Breakfast
Address: Cantref House 9 Marine Terrace, Criccieth LL52 0EF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Criccieth
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family run Bed and Breakfast with just three bedrooms. Our three bedrooms: Morannedd, Llandanwg and Ynysgain are each named after our favourite local beaches. They have all been recently refurbished and we hope they will provide a luxurious and tranquil base from which to explore our beautiful surroundings. Nestling beneath Criccieth's 13th century castle, our family home overlooks one of the town's three beautiful beaches. Marine Terrace was built in Victorian times and has changed remarkably little in its 150 years. Tide's Reach is a beautifully restored period property situated on the seafront overlooking Tremadog bay.We are on the quieter west side of the town, but still only a few minutes stroll from its many excellent restaurants and cafes. It is a place to reflect and relax, enjoying a slower pace of life for a while, whether it be lazing on the beach or exploring our town. If you're looking for a more active break, the Wales Coastal Path passes our front door making us the perfect stop for walkers enjoying this new stunning trail. Snowdonia itself is also close by, with its breathtaking mountains, lakes and cool rivers. Please note that we cannot accept dogs or other pets at Tide's Reach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tide's Reach Bed & Breakfast Criccieth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing