We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flawless”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bron Rhiw Guest House
Ranked #4 of 21 Criccieth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2012

The massive, airy room was wonderful - opening the door for the first time was a genuine 'wow!' moment. I've had smaller apartments!
The hosts - I certainly wouldn't say 'staff' - couldn't have been more welcoming, offering restaurant recommendations and knowledgeable conversation about the area. It makes such a difference to be treated as guests rather than customers.
The breakfasts were excellent; the freshest of fruit salads deserves especial mention, alongside high-quality local produce cooked to order. No corners cut!

The hotel is couple of hundred metres off Criccieth High Street, up a slight hill, which provided breathtaking views across Cardigan Bay as one strolled to the beach or restaurants.
Limited space in the private parking area meant we used on-street parking, but that was no problem, even on a Bank Holiday weekend.

I'm struggling to think how the experience could be improved; maybe the free wifi (on request) could have been advertised?

Highly recommended, and our immediate first choice for next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MinistryOfInfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2012

Just returned from a wonderful weekend in Criccieth at the Bron Rhiw Hotel. Claire and Sian are fabulous hosts, nothing is too much trouble.The breakfast was excellent. We will be returning and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Just returned from a Golf trip to North Wales.
Our Twin rooms with en-suit was better the excellent from our hosts Claire & Sian.
I have never been to a small hotel that was so pristine clean.
Our breakfasts where delivered as ordered and very enjoyable.
Could not fault it.
Return again "You Bet"

Room Tip: All rooms excellently decorated and very compfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobsummers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

This is a relatively large B&B, but don't let that put you off. Claire and Sian were assiduous hosts. They were friendly and helpful: always willing to stop and have a chat, provide recommendations on where to visit and willingly met the little requests that we had. The rooms were large and clean - though the bathroom represented a challenge to somebody as fat as me. Breakfasts were excellent. The hotel was in walking distance of a very wide range of good restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david_brown42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

We stayed at the Bron Rhiw for two nights over Easter weekend 2011. The owners were extremely friendly and welcoming and the room (and indeed the rest of the hotel) absolutely spotless. On arrival, the owner wanted to make sure we were non-smokers, so it seems that smoking is either not allowed or frowned upon, which we were pleased about. The bed was very comfortable. The hotel is in a great location, a short walk up the hill from Criccieth town centre, so nice and quite yet within easy reach of the pubs, restaurants, beach etc. The village of Portmeirion (the purpose of our visit) is a 15-20 minute drive away. The breakfast was absolutely lovely!
Overall highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manctofu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 27 July 2010

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay here. We found the staff pleasant, helpful and kind. Cleanliness was of a high standard and the breakfasts were lovely. The location was perfect and a beautiful place to be. The Car park was limited but on road parking was free and plentiful so not a problem. We would definately visit again. 5 star.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2009

The room was clean and the breakfast excellent. Reasonably priced B&B accommodation and if ever we ventured back to this part of the world again I would make a point of staying there again. There is a certain country charm and appeal about the place.

The thing we liked most was the friendly owners who were extremely helpful. The thing we liked least was that we did not stay longer in Criccieth.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BallinaAustraliacrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Criccieth hotels
0.2 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
302 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gwynle Boutique B & B
Gwynle Boutique B & B
#6 of 21 in Criccieth
72 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lion Hotel
The Lion Hotel
#1 of 21 in Criccieth
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Awel Mor
Awel Mor
#3 of 21 in Criccieth
182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Morannedd Bed & Breakfast
Morannedd Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 21 in Criccieth
42 reviews
0.3 mi away
Plas Isa Hotel
Plas Isa Hotel
#5 of 21 in Criccieth
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bron Rhiw Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bron Rhiw Guest House

Address: Caernarvon Road, Criccieth LL52 0AP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Criccieth
Price Range: £74 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bron Rhiw Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA 4 Gold Star and Breakfast Award and Visit Wales 4 Star guest accomodation. All rooms are en suite. Come and try one of our delicious award winning breakfasts. Criccieth is the ideal place to stay to explore the beautiful area. Visit the mountains, sea and coast all in one holiday. Go on one of the little trains - the Ffestiniog, Welsh Highland or Snowdon and enjoy the scenery. If you want more adventure try a high rope course or a zip wire. There is something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bron Rhiw Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bron Rhiw Guest House Criccieth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing