We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Caerwylan Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Moelwyn(Criccieth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
George IV Hotel(Criccieth)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
SeaBanks B&B(Criccieth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Portmeirion(Portmeirion)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castell Deudraeth(Portmeirion)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Y Branwen(Harlech)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (416)
Filter reviews
416 results
Traveller rating
341
62
8
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
341
62
8
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew ownerssea viewnarrow roadfirst classhigh standardsea frontlovely hotelstaff were superbcriccieth castlesunday lunchnorth waleswatching the worldpowerful showerpublic areaslambgreat showercomfy chairs
Filter
Updating list...
357 - 362 of 416 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2011

I chose this hotel after searching the web for hotels near Port meirion.
It looked great but as it was only 3 star I thought I may have been disappointed.
The hotel was absolutely marvellous and was only three star because it did not have a 24 hour reception. We certainly class it as 5 star
The rooms are beautifully decorated and the blinds and bedding are really tasteful
All the interior design has been chosen by by the husband and wife team who own it. They love their hotel and it shows.
They also employ staff who also share that love of the hotel and are friendly and pleasant and make your stay totally relaxing.
We had intended going out for meals in the evening, but the food was so delicious we ate there every night and was never disappointed with variety and quality of the meals. All locally sourced.
The position of the hotel (on the front) with wonderful views of the whole bay and the castle is beathtaking. The rooms at the front with bay windows make you want to stay in your room all day and watch the world go by.
We shall return and have recommended this hotel to all our friends.

Room Tip: Allways chose a room at the front
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MossyHadfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

The new owners bought this formerly very ailing hotel suffering from massive underinvestment about 4 years ago and have now almost completed a total refurbishment having taken the building right back to its carcase. I was most impressed by the standard everywhere - General furnishings - bedroom appointments - choice of menu and beautifully cooked by the chef and his team. also small and well thought out wine list with quality wines at reasonable prices. The owners, and indeed all the staff, are most welcoming and helpful and, of course, efficient. I will definitely return in 2012.

Signed Hereford Mariner

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HerefordMariner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We were in Criccieth for four days and stayed at this lovely restored hotel. Found it on the web and were not disapointed. We had a excellent view of the coast from our comfortable room. Nick, the owner, was a great host and the the staff treated us extremely well. I would certainly book here again.

Room Tip: Both rooms we stayed in had ocean views.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alfwilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Booked a single room for one night after searching the internet. Had read many excellent reviews so went ahead. Hotel lived up to ALL expectations, very clean all through. Comfy room with great views across bay. Breakfast cooked fresh and plentiful with good choices and staff very attentive. Couldn't fault the experience and would always use the Caerwylan Hotel as my first option when staying in the area. The cost for the night stay was fantastic so don't hesitate if considering booking up .... A big thanks to the owners and all the staff............

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yetiman7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel in August and again at the beginning of October. We could not fault the hotel. All of the staff are very friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are lovely, all individually decorated and styled. Modern rooms which look to only recently have been kitted out. The bathroom facilities are great too, with excellant showers. The breakfasts are as good as I have had anywhere, and the evening menu is also very good. The chef is wonderful, espically for a relatively small hotel in a small town. The one downside to the hotel is that the restaurant is still is need of refurbishment to match the standards and quality of the rest of the hotel. However I believe this is planned in for the next close season and we will certainly be visiting next summer to try it out. The lounge at the front has lovely views of the beach / sea / castle, and there is also a garden overlooking the beach for those warm and sunny days. The hotel is a great base for exploring the Llyn Peninsula, and in my opinion deserves more than its current 3 stars.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank digglerjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews