We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Meal”
Review of Caerwylan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Caerwylan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool United
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Whilst staying in Criccieth recently, it was our wedding anniversary and we were looking for somewhere a little bit special to have a meal to celebrate. We were not disappointed, we rang to book a table before going to Criccieth and when we arrived we had a lovely welcome from Anwen, who oversees the restaurant. We were taken into the lounge, which overlooks the beautiful vista of the bay and the castle where we had a pre-dinner drink. The whole ambience of the lounge and restaurant was faultless.

We were very impressed with the quality of the food and service of the staff, very attentive without being obtrusive. We had the Sunday set menu with a good selection of starters and mains at a reasonable price. £13.95 for two courses and £17.95 for three courses.

All in all I would thoroughly recommend this hotel's restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Childwall020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    58
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
54
222
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
279 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We booked a room with a sea view - worth extra money.

We could not fault the hotel except that the lighting in the lounges were poor and could not read a book in the lounge in the evening.

Wifi in the bedrooms was not available

Parked with difficulty against the wall outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Worthwhile to pay that bit extra to obtain a more expensive bedroom, overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John42Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

With my work I tend to stay in many hotels around Wales, some are poor, some are mediocre, but now and again, you come across some gems, The Caerwylan definitely falls into the later category.

It has a sea front location and views directly towards Criccieth Castle.

The interior has been modernised to a very high spec as has all the rooms, I wasn't fortunate enough to have a sea view, as I booked last minute, next time maybe.

The food was of the highest standard, both breakfast and evening meals, we didn't bother going out to any restaurants during our stay as we didn't think anywhere could better the food at Caerwylan.

I've also got to mention the staff at the hotel, I could not believe the number of staff that were at service for breakfast, practically a waitress for each table! all very helpful, polite and very good at their jobs.

It's clear the owners of this establishment pride themselves on the quality they offer to their guests.

Well done to everyone at The Caerwylan. A truly magnificent hotel.

Room Tip: Try to book a sea facing room, the views are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AirMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire united kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Great place to stay,ideal location,with amazing views.Accommodation was of a very high standard,with luxury in every way,the seating in the large bay window in our room was an added bonus.The staff very so welcoming and extremely friendly.Excellent food and service with a smile from all.The parking was restricted,but for the amazing cost of just £1.75 one can hire a garage just around the corner.we will be returning

Room Tip: excecutive suite was large with amazing sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank she00123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in an absolutely wonderful position with the most beautiful views. It provides a very high standard of accommodation in the communal areas as well as in the rooms. All sympathetically decorated and extremely comfortable. The service was great and the staff are warm and welcoming and extremely helpful. The quality of the food for dinner and breakfast was high. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzie50302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Great position, in good decorative order, friendly staff and an excellent restaurant that is well attended by local mature people, so its necessary to pre-book for dinner. A lounge overlooking the sea to sit in whilst dinner is prepared for you allows you to enjoy the setting. An enjoyable stay and I suspect will return at some point which is a rarity for us. The kitchen staff deserve a pat on the back. The bedroom was adequate and comfortable albeit at times a little hot at night. We stayed during good weather and this made the break the more enjoyable.

Room Tip: Room 33 overlooks the side garden, Criccieth castle and faces west, so the sun can raise the temp of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We have stayed on two occasions at this fabulous hotel - In February 2013 and again in April 2013. On both occasions we had a great experience. Room was fab - wonderful sea views with seating area in bay window. Modern décor, well maintained and clean. Slept really soundly. Breakfast was good on both occasions with plenty on offer. During February the hotel restaurant was not open mid-week so we ate out at nearby restaurants but in April the restaurant was open every night and we experienced fine dining at a reasonable cost. The staff were helpful and friendly and the owners were on site on both occasions and were great. We book a garage (at the back of the hotel) for the car and that was fine. All in all we would recommend this hotel and we will definitely be returning. Excellent value - well done all.

Room Tip: no swimming pool or fitness centre - with its situation on the sea front you need neither just sit i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Criccieth
0.1 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
282 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,419 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Moelwyn
The Moelwyn
#6 of 6 in Criccieth
106 reviews
0.2 mi away
George IV Hotel
George IV Hotel
#4 of 6 in Criccieth
221 reviews
4.1 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caerwylan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caerwylan Hotel

Property: Caerwylan Hotel
Address: Beach Bank | Criccieth, Criccieth LL52 0HW, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Caerwylan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Wales 2014 and 2015 Gold Award. The Caerwylan Hotel probably enjoys some of the best coastal views in North Wales. We are the ideal base to explore Snowdonia or the many beaches, steam railways, castles and attractions in this beautiful and relaxing corner of Wales. For walkers The Caerwylan is situated on the Wales Coast Path.Unwind in one of our contemporary en-suite bedrooms. Our sea facing Executive Bedrooms offer space and luxury, making them perfect for that special occasion. After a day of exploring let our Chefs prepare you a relaxing dinner in our stylish Tonnau Restaurant. Most of our food is sourced from, local suppliers.Our contemporary bar serves a range of local beers plus the traditional lagers, spirits and a varied selection of wines. See our web site for more information and on-line booking.TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence Award 2012, 2013 & 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Caerwylan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caerwylan Hotel Criccieth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing