We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 Star luxury for the price of 3”
Review of Caerwylan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Caerwylan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Certificate of Excellence
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“5 Star luxury for the price of 3”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Oh what a Gem.
A wonderful Three star hotel that should easily be rated Five.
The Hotel itself was Exceptionally clean from top to bottom.
With `Waterfall taps in the Public toilets downstairs to Modern `Flat panel` radiators throughout the public areas everything about this Hotel was carefully thought about when they decorated it.
The rooms are spotless and well dressed.
A bowl of fresh fruit in your room to welcome you ,very nice.
The food was just as good and nicely prepared and served.
I am Disabled and walk with a stick and use a scooter and was made to feel right at home.
Everything was thought of here to make our stay a relaxing and enjoyable one.
Had a good laugh with the staff when they asked if we wanted water on our table at dinner...i replied `No thanks` i prefer my table dry!.A good laugh all round with real friendly staff.
Will definitely be visiting again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 27 on the 2nd floor with Bay windows and a great view of the sea,well worth the ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sculpterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    56
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
53
219
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed 3 nights over a weekend in a superior room (35), spacious with great views over the whole bay. The hotel, which is in a great location, has been fully refurbished over the last 5 years and is attractively decorated and fitted out. Staff are extremely helpful, for example we said are duvet was too hot and it was immediately changed for a sheet and blanket (with one in reserve). Breakfast was fairly run of the mill, but perfectly adequate. The food in the restaurant was well prepared and largely locally sourced. A garage (at £1.75/night!) is money well spent in high season. Overall, an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmblingRambler61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Lovely Sunday lunch with friends, nothing was too much trouble and the staff were very friendly. Excellent food with a table looking out to sea.. What more could we ask for!! Although we didn't stay at the hotel what we saw was a wonderful place and one that we would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed for 3 nights during a hot spell, I would say its better than its 3 star rating. We had one of the front bedrooms which had an amazing seaview! The food was very good, and all the staff were very efficient, sometimes it felt that they were a little bit inflexible as things had to be done a certain way, for example when we checked in the receptionist wanted to take us up to show us the room, and my husband had unloaded the car at the front of the hotel but had to move the car as the road outside was very narrow and vehicles were unable to get past. We were given no option as to unloading the bags in reception, moving the car and going to the room after, we had to go the room right that minute! The rooms were of a high standard, they were very hot at night due to the heat of the day on the windows and the duvets felt very heavy, lighter ones would be preferable in the summer. All in all a very pleasant stay and great value for money!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcestershire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

First class all the way! Booked 'on spec' for one night only, very good receptionist helped us with a very nice sea view room, could not have been better. Evening meal in their restaurant was superb, home cooked locally sourced food served by a team of perfect waitresses in a lovely room overlooking the sea.
Very peaceful nights sleep in room 37 excellent en-suite all with perfect sea views. Breakfast offered an excellent choice again served by perfect waitresses in the same sea view restaurant, a great start to the day!
Only down side is car parking, which is mainly outside the hotel on a very narrow road , be aware!
All in all a great stay at this first class hotel, highly recommended.

Room Tip: ASk for a sea view room...it's worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brianWorcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solihull
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

agree with previous comments entirely, definitely much better than its 3 star rating, fabulous location overlooking the bay, staff were courteous and very helpful made us very welcome, hotel has been completely updated, rooms are spacious, very clean & lovely bathroom. we stayed in room 27 which had a superb view. Breakfast is cooked to order , the restaurant , lounge and bar are all very welcoming,there are garages at rear for parking as it is a bit tight at the front of the hotel, book a stay you wont be disappointed

Room Tip: Room 27 was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarySolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

As a rule we never stay anywhere that isn't at least 4 star but took a chance on this hotel. It isn't 5 star but its much better than it's 3 star rating. The location and views are splendid but what makes this special is the welcome coupled with the awesome Welsh breakfast. Enjoy.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueensign7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Criccieth
0.1 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
George IV Hotel
George IV Hotel
#4 of 6 in Criccieth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
4.1 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Moelwyn
The Moelwyn
#6 of 6 in Criccieth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caerwylan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caerwylan Hotel

Property: Caerwylan Hotel
Address: Beach Bank | Criccieth, Criccieth LL52 0HW, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Caerwylan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Wales 2014 and 2015 Gold Award. The Caerwylan Hotel probably enjoys some of the best coastal views in North Wales. We are the ideal base to explore Snowdonia or the many beaches, steam railways, castles and attractions in this beautiful and relaxing corner of Wales. For walkers The Caerwylan is situated on the Wales Coast Path.Unwind in one of our contemporary en-suite bedrooms. Our sea facing Executive Bedrooms offer space and luxury, making them perfect for that special occasion. After a day of exploring let our Chefs prepare you a relaxing dinner in our stylish Tonnau Restaurant. Most of our food is sourced from, local suppliers.Our contemporary bar serves a range of local beers plus the traditional lagers, spirits and a varied selection of wines. See our web site for more information and on-line booking.TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence Award 2012, 2013 & 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Caerwylan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caerwylan Hotel Criccieth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing