We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Caerwylan Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Moelwyn(Criccieth)
US$128
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Goat Hotel(Beddgelert)
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ty Mawr Hotel(Llanbedr)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
George IV Hotel(Criccieth)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
SeaBanks B&B(Criccieth)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (417)
Filter reviews
417 results
Traveller rating
342
62
8
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
342
62
8
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew ownerssea viewnarrow roadfirst classhigh standardsea frontlovely hotelstaff were superbcriccieth castlesunday lunchnorth waleswatching the worldpowerful showerpublic areaslambgreat showercomfy chairs
Filter
Updating list...
257 - 262 of 417 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Definitely the Caerwylan! We tried another a few years ago, a 'restaurant with rooms' and it had a lovely view, but the bed was not much smaller than the room. Tight! And then a super hotel - but found it was out of town and away from the sea.

So if you want the only really decent hotel in Criccieth, and a great sea view, its got to be the Caerwylan. Listen to the sea!

That's what we do - listen to the sea. Have an executive room (its worth the extra) and leave the window open so that you can hear the seagulls (just as in Radio 4 drama set at the seaside) and listen to the waves breaking on the beach. And the rooms are spacious.

The restaurant is excellent. We go to a few hotels and restaurants each year, and this one is good. The staff are friendly.

Parking - the road outside is narrow, and I do not risk leaving mine there. Prebook a garage - they are tatty, but watertight and lockable.

And that's why we keep going back, where we open the window and listen to the sea!

Room Tip: Go for an executive with bay window and sea view - worth the extra cost
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We'd stayed here several years ago. Then it was a hotel with great views across the bay, the castle and distant mountains. The rooms, while large, we're in need of some tlc. The new owners have obviously invested heavily to update the rooms to a high standard. The prices were quite high, but justified by the quality. We ate in the restaurant one night, and we're very impressed.

Room Tip: Get a sea facing room ( most are)
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 15Chris15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed here for two nights at the weekend just passed. After a long journey up from Cornwall we phoned this hotel to book in at approx 8 pm. The lady on the phone was very helpful and guided us to the hotel. Check in was easy, again very helpful and pleasant and she showed us to our room. I could not believe how beautiful our room was for the price, immaculately clean and a nice kingsize comfortable bed. This hotel is far from 3* it is most definitely four pushing 5*. It was wonderful, the view was beautiful we chose a sea view room, and because the hotel is on the sea front the view is unspoiled. Criccieth is a lovely quiet little town so the hotel is wonderfully quiet. It is immaculate everywhere you look, the staff are so helpful and nice and welcoming. Breakfast was wonderful, although we are not really breakfast people, we tried it out and enjoyed the wonderful cooked breakfast and it could not be faulted. We had Sunday dinner in the evening with family who have moved to the area that weekend too and dinner was superb and at £17.95 for a 3 course dinner the hotel is very understated, it was amazing!!! We would have happily paid a lot more for what we had just ate.
The only negative I can offer is that the hotel has restricted wifi access and if you are a business person the top floor room had not a sniff of wifi, but being the grand old building it is it doesn't surprise me! But it is available within the hotel in the lounge and some bedrooms,
I would recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone I have never been looked after so well by a hotel. We will definitely be back very soon :D

Room Tip: We had room 35 at the very top of the building, very peaceful and outstanding views
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurafunok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed there for one night when we were guests at a friend's wedding. The place appears to have been there for ages but is clean and in good decorative order but is a maze of stairways and short corridors. Our room (#35) was a sea view double and that was stunning with a lovely, large, comfortable bed.

Nice solid full English (Welsh?) breakfast which is cooked for you, none of this hot buffet rubbish.

A bit overpriced for where it is but, on balance, worth it. The girl on reception was very helpful

The only downside is car parking. They have a limited private garage but the alternative of the road outside is exactly 2 cars and a hairsbreadth wide. My partners spent most of the time worrying about her new car!!

Room Tip: Go for #35
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Merlinthemage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Having heard about the quality of the food served at this hotel, we decided to give it a go and to be honest could not believe how this hotel had been renovated since I last attended about 5 years ago.It has been totally refurbished to an extremely high standard and can be classed as a modern
stylish hotel, probably the best in Criccieth. I can only comment on the the quality and service provided at the restaurant as we did not stay at the hotel being local to the area. so here goes:

On arrival the reception staff was most polite and instructed a member of staff to guide us to the lounge where we were greeted by the restaurant manager Anwen, whom gave us a detailed account of what was on the menu and gave good advice on what wine was best.
shortly after deciding on our choice we were taken to the dining room which was well spaced, warm and welcoming with some amazing wall photo`s of Criccieth from various locations. Service could not be faulted as our meal was delivered within 10 minutes of being seated. The quality of the food was amazing the prawn starter was better than what could be served by any Thai restaurant, the main meals lamb and beef was as tender as could be expected and all meats are locally produced. Deserts are also locally produced and are gorgeous to say the least.After the meal we returned to the lounge for coffee which was of excellent quality.

our compliments to Anwen and her dedicated team for a truly amazing service, we will be back soon.

Room Tip: ask about the locally produced malibu cheese cake....
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HILLHOPPER46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews