We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My second stay at the Caerwylan.”
Review of Caerwylan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Caerwylan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Certificate of Excellence
shropshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“My second stay at the Caerwylan.”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Have just returned home from a 4 night stay (single room - 34) and again could not have been treated better. Lovely room overlooking the Castle, first class breakfasts to keep you going until dinner and then the hard task of making a decision what to eat for dinner from a really good menu. Lovely beers to choose from as well.
I am a keen photographer and the scenery around the area is fabulous but the "icing on the cake" for me was a trip to Bodnant Gardens and I was able to photograph the Laburnum Arch and wow what some pictures!
Many thanks to Nick and all his team and I`ll certainly be back - hopefully later in the year.

Alan N
Shropshire

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank numbersiximages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    58
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
54
222
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Lovely views but all other aspects were hugely disappointing. Our 'Excective' room had tired decor, a cracked window and was none too clean. There were water marks on the wall and the room needed redecorating. The complimentary fruit was by no means fresh. The TV on the wall was very last century. There was no desk as such, and no chair for laptop users. The lift to the first floor was very small, and would only accommodate one person with luggage. This place is unsuitable for people with mobility problems. We didn't eat in the 'hotel'. but saw that the wine list was very limited. There is no car park, which would surely pose problems in high season. The local facilities were sadly lacking, too.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Scouseduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Caerwylan, Owner at Caerwylan Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
This is a false and malicious review from a person who has not actually stayed at The Caerwylan.

If you are considering staying with us or having dinner in our Tonnau Restaurant (which has wide ranging menus and a full wine list) please consider:

1) The numerous fair and balanced reviews placed by guests since we completed the total refurbishment of the hotel in the Spring of 2012;
2) The fact we are one of 34 hotels in Wales who have received the Visit Wales 2014 Gold Award accolade.

Thank you

Nick and Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Booked on spur of the moment at short notice, great sea view room on 3rd floor. All staff welcoming and friendly whilst maintaing high professional standards. Brilliant food well served in excellently managed restaurant.

Room Tip: Get that sea view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Just what you would imagine a seaside hotel would be. Rooms extremely comfortable and recently renovated. We had a sea view room and bathroom. A bath looking out to sea was relaxing after a days sight seeing. Staff are friendly. Enjoyed the lounge. Great breakfast.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AustraliaRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Top notch hotel. Excellent staff, especially Haf. Great location. Excellent breakfast, nice and warm. We even won the pub quiz raffle at the Castle Inn, with the help of Facebook, Google and Messenger. We donated to the school fund. The mixer tap didn't work right

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Houghmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Great value for money... The rooms are a really good standard.
All staff professional friendly and approachable, and the meals here are really really good. Views are amazing get a sea view room if you can!
Thank you for a lovely stay!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaCT87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2014

What a beautiful place to stay- very welcoming staff and comfortable rooms with an absolutely fantastic view over the bay. The food was gorgeous too! Thank you for a lovely break; we hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Worth paying for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne32014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Criccieth
0.1 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
283 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,419 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Moelwyn
The Moelwyn
#6 of 6 in Criccieth
106 reviews
0.2 mi away
George IV Hotel
George IV Hotel
#4 of 6 in Criccieth
222 reviews
4.1 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caerwylan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caerwylan Hotel

Property: Caerwylan Hotel
Address: Beach Bank | Criccieth, Criccieth LL52 0HW, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Caerwylan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Wales 2014 and 2015 Gold Award. The Caerwylan Hotel probably enjoys some of the best coastal views in North Wales. We are the ideal base to explore Snowdonia or the many beaches, steam railways, castles and attractions in this beautiful and relaxing corner of Wales. For walkers The Caerwylan is situated on the Wales Coast Path.Unwind in one of our contemporary en-suite bedrooms. Our sea facing Executive Bedrooms offer space and luxury, making them perfect for that special occasion. After a day of exploring let our Chefs prepare you a relaxing dinner in our stylish Tonnau Restaurant. Most of our food is sourced from, local suppliers.Our contemporary bar serves a range of local beers plus the traditional lagers, spirits and a varied selection of wines. See our web site for more information and on-line booking.TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence Award 2012, 2013 & 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Caerwylan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caerwylan Hotel Criccieth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing