We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caerwylan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caerwylan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

This hotel was sheer bliss to stay in. Sea view and calm decor such a delight to enjoy. First time to this part of the world and was not disappointed. Excellent breakfast and helpful staff. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doreenfrancesmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    55
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
47
208
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Caerwylan Hotel on evening of 4 Aug 14 and have to say the service we received was out of this world, from the reception to the bar we can't fault them. Room was comfortable well equipped and quiet. EXCELLENT

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

web site easy to use and able to see each individual room before you book
really good and friendly service from all the staff
well appointed rooms
sea view rooms have good views across the bay of Criccieth Castle and Harlech Castle
food was very excellent

Room Tip: 1st and 2nd floor rooms with sea view and bay windows will give you castle, sea and mountain views a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michael_kingdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

My partner and I stayed here for the night and what a great night and stay it was, the hotel was perfect, the staff were so friendly and the owners went out of their way to make everything wonderful.

We dined in the restaurant on the evening of our stay, the food was faultless, and once again the staff were great.

We stayed in a seaview room which was lovely, the decor and amenities were superb even dressing gowns for us in the wardrobe.

Breakfast again was faultless everything you could expect.

Without a doubt if we were to be in Criccieth again we would definitely be booking the Caerwylan Hotel, Many thanks to you all x

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missmoneypenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We are so pleased that we chose this delightful hotel...more like a 4 star in a prime location overlooking the beach yet a short stroll from the town. Beautiful room, lovely interiors and very comfortable. Great service. The breakfast was truly outstanding. We did not sample the food in the restaurant but if the food is as good as the breakfast then it should be superb. Hard to find fault. Good value for this quality in a beautiful part of the country. Highly Recommended.

Room Tip: We wish we had chose a sea view but too late.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireDes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

First time staying on the Llyn Peninsula at the weekend and thanks to Tripadvisor reviews lucked into this lovely small hotel. As other reviewers noted superb friendly professional staff who obviously take their lead from the owners Nick and Fiona. Seaview rooms definitely worth the extra few pounds if they are available. SUPERB beds ( other hotels please note! ) and the whole place has the feel of a recent tasteful renovation. The biggest surprise ( no disrespect chefs) was how good the food was - simply excellent. A perfect base for the whole of the Llyn and a wonderfully relaxing spot to return to and listen to the waves lull you to sleep in your room. Parking can be tricky on the Promenade in season but the hotel have their own garages which can be booked in advance for a very reasonable £1.75/day. We'll be back, please don't change a thing.

Room Tip: we did 37 & 38 overlooking the beach, both very nice but 38 probably slightly better on it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We didn't stay at the Hotel but wanted somewhere nice to celebrate my brother's 51st birthday, we stayed in Porthmadog and asked a lovely lady in one of the charity shops if she could recommend anywhere for a nice meal, she said she lived in Cricceith and recommended this Hotel. We arrived at 5.30pm and to my 82year old Father's disgust learnt that the Hotel doesn't serve food until 6.30pm, we suggested a little walk and he replied 'I've come here to eat not walk', we ignorned his comment and walked the very short distance to the Hotel, we sat outside and had drinks and admired the beautiful view, the weather was glorious and in a short time we chose from the menu, my Father commented that the only thing he liked from the menu was fish and chips, 'so i'll have to have that, again!' (my sister had spoken to the staff and they said they would have our food ready for 6.30 prompt). When we walked in the dining room we were amazed the decor was lovely and the staff very attentive, our food arrived prompt as promised, we literally had only just sat down! All our meals were beautifully presented and within a few minutes my Father commented that 'this is the best fish and chips I have ever had' we nearly fell off our chairs, it's not very often he says anything like that. As for the other meals they too were fantastic, my steak was cooked to perfection and I can honestly say "it was the best steak I had ever had" and I have had some steaks! My sister had a fish dish (whitebait etc.,) and loved it, my brother had lamb, loved it too and my Mum bless her who had been embarassed by Dad's earlier comments, really enjoyed the fish and chips too. The 3x cooked chips tasted really nice and everything went well. When we got back to the Caravan in Porthmadog my Dad wouldn't shut up about his fastastic fish and chips.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sjam11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Criccieth
5.5 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
0.3 mi away
George IV Hotel
George IV Hotel
#4 of 6 in Criccieth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
22.4 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caerwylan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caerwylan Hotel

Property: Caerwylan Hotel
Address: Beach Bank | Criccieth, Criccieth LL52 0HW, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Caerwylan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Wales 2014 and 2015 Gold Award. The Caerwylan Hotel probably enjoys some of the best coastal views in North Wales. We are the ideal base to explore Snowdonia or the many beaches, steam railways, castles and attractions in this beautiful and relaxing corner of Wales. For walkers The Caerwylan is situated on the Wales Coast Path.Unwind in one of our contemporary en-suite bedrooms. Our sea facing Executive Bedrooms offer space and luxury, making them perfect for that special occasion. After a day of exploring let our Chefs prepare you a relaxing dinner in our stylish Tonnau Restaurant. Most of our food is sourced from, local suppliers.Our contemporary bar serves a range of local beers plus the traditional lagers, spirits and a varied selection of wines. See our web site for more information and on-line booking.TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence Award 2012, 2013 & 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Caerwylan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caerwylan Hotel Criccieth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing