We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class bedrooms and new bathrooms - 4 star quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Caerwylan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Caerwylan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Certificate of Excellence
southampton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“First class bedrooms and new bathrooms - 4 star quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2009

Booked in for one night. The staff were extremely helpful and showed us the 2 rooms they had available. Unfortunately there were no executive rooms available but both the standard rooms were newly refurbished and individually decorated to a really high standard. The bathrooms were new and spotless. We didn't use the lounge or bar area but both looked clean. There is a garden which overlooks the sea providing a nice space to relax and have a drink. The dining room was very pleasant. Breakfast was cooked to order and really good. We didn't eat in the evening but if as good as the breakfast then we would next time. Overall the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. Although the hotel has 3 stars it was definitely 4 star standard.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank generalandmissus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    55
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
51
214
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prescott, AZ
Level Contributor
163 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2009

We found this gem by chance. King room on first floor with view of beach & castle. Room & bathroom in new condition.
Hotel has lift which is important to us.
Breakfast & Dinner were superb.
We had to find a doctor - the lady on the front desk was so helpful. Made a recommendation and then she called the surgery to help set up an appointment.
Excellent center for sightseeing in North Wales.
The hotel was so delightful, we extended our stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ONLY2B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2009

We stayed here on Saturday 27th June for one night, an impromptu weekend getaway to the beach to chill out. Cricceth itself is lovely and quaint, a nice little seaside village. We found this hotel on the net, checked Trip Advisor first, saw mixed reviews, but the pictures of the hotel looked nice so we took a chance.

On arrival it looked just like the picture on the website, but looked quite different inside. First impression was it was very old fashioned and in desperate need to a refurb and new carpet throughout. We looked in the bar and in the lounge area, it was deserted - yet the hotel was fully booked, it was a very hot sunny day 30 degrees and there wasnt a single window open, it was stuffy and resembled a nursing home. We booked an Executive Room £55 pppn = £110 for the night, sea facing. Thankfully we were pleasantly surprised with the room, which was tastefully decorated and had apparently just been refurbished with a beautiful view of the bay. Reception were not helpful at all, and were clueless when we asked for a recommendation for local restaurant for dinner. She recommended a restaurant that was dire to say the least. We were advised to take a night key, as they lock the front door at 11pm prompt, and after that you wouldnt get in!! LOL. Isnt that theReceptionists job? She then told us there were no night keys left, so we had to be back before 11pm or be locked out! We returned to the hotel and started watch a movie on TV, which promptly was cut off at 11:15pm mid-film, as was every channel, we rang Reception (the call was diverted to another number), the Night Receptionist answered, we asked what the problem was and will it be restored. He said he had no idea what the problem was, he was asleep, I'd woken him up and he doesnt even know what time it was. He offered no solution and wasnt interested. So we deceided to call it a day and went to sleep - until a gang of rowdy teenagers on the beach woke us up at midnight, screaming, and shouting until 1:30am. The window catch was broken and we were unalbe to close it to drown out the noice outside. So much for a relaxing night in a quiet seaside hotel. When we checked out the next day, we mentioned this to the Receptionist (who was the same person I spoke to about the TV the night before), he wasnt in the slightest bit interested, and didnt comment at all, he just pushed the bill infront of us. To summarise: the hotel was like a nursing home, in fact it could be mistaken for one - the average age of guests being 80+. It was like being stuck in a time warp - very outdated and dowdy.

If you stay here book an Executive Room (sea facing), take your ear plugs to drown out the rowdy teenagers who congregate on the beach on Saturday night, and take a portable DVD player, as I think they cut the TV off on purpose. Besides the room being ok the other saving grace was the breakfast was excellent, and served by an extremely polite and well spoken guy who is a credit to the hotel, but they probably dont realise this.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LongHaulMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire England
Level Contributor
154 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2009

We were only here for one night but had a lovely room with a fabulous view out to sea. It was all newly decorated to a good standard. The manager and all evening staff were excellent as was the evening meal which was superb value. The only downfall staffwise was breakfast but hopefully the manager will now have sorted that issue. It is a shame there is no official parking but we had no problem parking in the small road in front. The hotel is situated up higher than the beach but that adds to the view and there are just a few steps down to the beach. There was also flat access just a few yards either way from the main hotel entrance.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2009

Delightful hotel in a delightful location. Small friendly hotel that has individuality.
Very clean, comfortable and with excellent food.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Coast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2009

Arrived without being familiar with the local area. The hotel is situated right on the coast. Parking is cramped but adequate. The new owners of this establishment have done an amazing renovation of the rooms on the top two floors in only 18 months. One can tell that the rest of the reno's will make a big about face to what could have been a faded rose. We chose to eat at one of the pubs but our breakfast at this hotel convinced us we should have eaten dinner here as well. Better than previous B & B breakfasts, included fresh cut fruit salad and a good variety of hot selections. Our room had sweeping views of the sea and local castle. Very quiet room. High definition tv. Generous towels and tastefully decorated. Yes - we loved it and our hosts are a lovely couple. Warm, conversational, helpful and hands on. Whole place felt like staying at Granma's house. Absolutley recommended. We give it 5 stars.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mollystofferson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2008

A pleasant enough hotel, great location on the seafront and close to town centre, friendly staff. We stayed in one of the recently renovated 'superior' rooms. It was large and comfortable, nicely furnished with a bay window overlooking the beach and castle. Nice en-suite bathroom with a large bath, nice shower and a sea view! What more could you want? Warm, comfortable and cozy despite a raging storm outside. Good tasty breakfast, the usual sort of stuff.

The public areas of the hotel are definitely dated, however apparently the hotel is closing over the winter of 2008 for extensive renovations. If the rest of the hotel is renovated to the standard of the room we had, it will be a very pleasant place to stay, and I'd definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TimSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Criccieth
0.1 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
George IV Hotel
George IV Hotel
#4 of 6 in Criccieth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
4.1 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Moelwyn
The Moelwyn
#6 of 6 in Criccieth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caerwylan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caerwylan Hotel

Property: Caerwylan Hotel
Address: Beach Bank | Criccieth, Criccieth LL52 0HW, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Caerwylan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Wales 2014 and 2015 Gold Award. The Caerwylan Hotel probably enjoys some of the best coastal views in North Wales. We are the ideal base to explore Snowdonia or the many beaches, steam railways, castles and attractions in this beautiful and relaxing corner of Wales. For walkers The Caerwylan is situated on the Wales Coast Path.Unwind in one of our contemporary en-suite bedrooms. Our sea facing Executive Bedrooms offer space and luxury, making them perfect for that special occasion. After a day of exploring let our Chefs prepare you a relaxing dinner in our stylish Tonnau Restaurant. Most of our food is sourced from, local suppliers.Our contemporary bar serves a range of local beers plus the traditional lagers, spirits and a varied selection of wines. See our web site for more information and on-line booking.TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence Award 2012, 2013 & 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Caerwylan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caerwylan Hotel Criccieth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing