We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“3rd visit here, but not the last.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Tanrhiw

Tanrhiw
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tanrhiw
Dining area Lounge area photo 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
25 reviews
Tanrhiw
Dining area
Lounge area photo 1
Lounge area photo 2
Beach nearby
Porth Ysgo
Porth Iago
Llanbedrog
Bardsey
Bedroom 1, photo 1
Bedroom 1, photo 2
Bedroom 2, photo 1
Bedroom 2, photo 2
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Criccieth, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Houghy13
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“3rd visit here, but not the last.”
Reviewed 27 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Might even be the 4th trip, lovely cottage, cosy, dog friendly, characteristic.
2 mins walk to beach and it's down hill so makes it easier.
Open fire gives cottage effect, coal and kindle wood gets it started.
Shops nearby for milk, bread, alcohol, the essentials.
Car parking spaces across road, never had an issue with getting a parking spot.
Trusting owners, and we will be come again and again.
Wifi throughout property so I brought my fire stick and iPad and never an issue.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2017
Many thanks for your review, welcome anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelH31...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“2nd visit this year”
Reviewed 15 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

lovely cottage, centrally positioned, very clean, everything you could want for a break in this lovely town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2017
Thank you for your kind words.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowdenboy
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A Cosy Cottage in Criccieth”
Reviewed 14 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

My wife and myself have stayed in this cottage three times now, It is well positioned in the centre of the town with lovely views of the castle and sea from the lounge/dining room. It has been well equipped by the owners who we have found to be helpful and friendly. The cottage is surprisingly very light and airy for an older property and there is plenty of street parking opposite the cottage.
Criccieth is a delightful seaside town with a good choice of shops, cafes, restaurants and pubs to suit all tastes and pockets.
We find the property to be a very good base to enjoy all that Criccieth and the surrounding area has to offer.
We will return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2017
Many thanks for your kind words.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Experienc...
1 review
“Lovely location, lovely cottage but needs deep clean and revamp to reflect price.”
Reviewed 5 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Lovely location, lovely cottage but it did not live up to expectations from the previous reviews. Great correspondence prior to arrival and I had a couple of emails that stated that it is an old cottage and therefore that should be taken into account. That does not excuse the level of cleanliness and condition of some areas of the cottage. We had to give the bathroom and kitchen a good clean before using, there were even someone else's underwear in the bedroom drawers. Far too many ornaments and clutter that is not needed in a holiday rental as there wasn't enough space to put down our own things. A declutter, deep clean, removal of peeling wallpaper and a lick of paint would result in far better review. Sorry but on this occasion I would not recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2017
Thank you for taking the time and effort to review our ‘value for money’ dog friendly little cottage in Criccieth, a cottage that has welcomed visitors from America, Canada, Australia and New Zealand as well as much of Europe and of course Britain. The cottage has been a holiday let for some 14 years and has a number of guests who holiday there 2-3 times a year. Guests like its convenient location just a couple of minutes from the beach and castle.

Needless to say, we were rather disappointed to receive a 2* review having received very good reviews throughout the season. We always leave a welcome card, inviting guests to contact us should they have any concerns, we also email the day after arrival, again to check that all is well, in this case, nothing was heard from the guests during the week and we only met them on their departure day as we arrived to prepare for the next visitors, again, no matters of concern were raised.

We have an ongoing maintenance and decoration programme and in recent years have installed double glazing, central heating, laminate flooring and had the property thermally rendered.

As regards ‘deep clean’, in common with all holiday rentals, on changeover day there is only time for a general clean and inspection, particularly when guests do not vacate the property on time. The previous guest is a regular visitor and as she does not arrive until the early evening each time she visits the opportunity was taken then to carry out a ‘deep clean’.

This is a period cottage and we have tried to retain its character with furniture, furnishings, decor and ornaments. As for our ornaments etc this is our property, our choice and they will remain in the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill_Prio...
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage in The Best Of Locations”
Reviewed 18 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This has been my third stay at Tan Rhiw and if I have my way it won't be my last! This lovely old well equipped cottage in central Criccieth has a glorious sea view from the dining table and the imposing castle can be seen from the lounge area and both bedrooms. Although there isn't a garden to the property there is seating at the front which catches the sun and is a very relaxing place to sit and watch the world go by , and of course the sea is less than five minutes walk away .Owners Alison and Tony are very friendly and helpful,nothing is too much trouble. For a non driver like me, the local shops and restaurants are a few minutes walk , as is the railway station. Buses run regularly to Pwllheli, Caernarfon and Portmadog where other routes to Aberdaron, Abersoch and other places of interest are easily obtained, in fact you can travel all over Llyn if you check your timetables beforehand as I have easily done this week. There are also lovely local walks with a wealth of wildlife and amazing views and with TanRhiw as a perfect base for a holiday in this wonderful part of North Wales you may run out of time to do everything that you had planned.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2017
Many thanks for your kind words, you are welcome again any time.
Glad you managed your Bardsey trip!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria B
1 review
“Excellent cottage!”
Reviewed 14 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Amazing time away, lovely little village and cottage.
We even managed to get fabulous weather!
Will for sure be back ☺️

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2017
Many thanks for your kind words. Glad you enjoyed it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill_Prio...
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Cosy Cottage and Perfect Location”
Reviewed 2 January 2017 for a stay in August 2016

This has been my second stay at Tan Rhiw and I have just booked again for 2017 having thoroughly enjoyed my time in this cosy little railway cottage. The cottage is in a perfect central location, sea view whilst eating breakfast, castle view from the lounge area and bedrooms,what more could you need in this delightful corner of beautiful North Wales. The well equipped cottage is old and quaint with a lovely homely feel about it, and after a day spent walking the coastal paths and visiting the other attractions of the Llyn it is a pleasure to return to in the evening. With plenty of pubs, restaurants and interesting shops close at hand and a great local bus and train service ( perfect for a non driver like me) Tan Rhiw is highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2017
Many thanks for your kind words. It's so nice to have repeat visitors like you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing