We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B by the sea!”
Review of Awel Mor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Awel Mor
Ranked #3 of 20 Criccieth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B by the sea!”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We've just had two very comfortable nights at Awel Mor. Judith and Martin were both very welcoming, friendly and helpful.

We stayed in Room 6 which is on the second floor and has a wonderful direct seaview filling the entire bay window - so prime spot for great sunsets, and lulled to sleep by the sound of the sea. The room was very clean with 'just right' decor - it felt homely and cosy (though certainly not a small room) but also very clean and not fussy at all.

Breakfast was the best I have tasted in a long time! Fresh fruit salad (including kiwi, strawberries, melon, blueberries), orange juice, cereals, a wide range of hot drinks and a cooked breakfast which is quite hard to describe - very tasty, and very full and juicy compared with some breakfasts where the ingredients tend to just take on oil and shrivel. Just excellent!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    21
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
30
100
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We celebrated our wedding anniversary and chose a wild and rugged beauty of the North Wales.
We stayed in Awel Mor guest house and were charmed by the host, who was a very hospitable, humoured and helpful. He had a talent of communication with guests and made us feel very welcome. One day being in a hurry I left a key from the room in the hotel and remembered about that only on our late return. Although in the hotel there is no a receptionist and the host leaves work at 6pm, he was so polite to wait for us and handed the key with no complaint for a long waiting.
Rooms were very clean, tidy and cosy, and we loved it, although a small dinning table would be a nice addition for having a meal in the room.

There is only one small but hard point was that stairs to the first and second floor were too high and with our bad knees and a breath problem we had a difficulty to climb up and down.

Room Tip: Rooms 6 and 9 have a lovely sea view, and when booking, look for room on the low floor as stairs are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsElena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Great accommodation with superb views to the sea.Breakfast to die for and Judith and Martin were really welcoming and helped a great deal with advice on where best to go in the area.Martin even went so far as to book a table for us at a local restaurant to ensure we didn't have to wait when we got there.Wonderful and would definitely go again

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loopyloo46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knaphill
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Compact but with everything we needed. Good breakfast and clean accommodation. Located in a very convenient position in the town for the beach and shops. Judith was very helpful with advice about local sites and restaurants.
Mervyn, Lin and Dot

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

2 night stay 6th-8th Sept in Room 9 ( Top floor ).
Magnificent sea view, lovely clean room, spotless en-suite and a comfy bed.
The owners are very helpful and knowledgeable about the surrounding area, and the breakfasts are FANTASTIC - we can definitely recommend the coddled eggs!

Room Tip: Fabulous sea views from the front of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid Wales
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Spent a night here just before the Bank Holiday.
Nice greeting from the owner and taken up to a nice room, unfortunately not on the seaward side.
Room was comfortable with a small en-suite.
Tea making facilities provided.
Excellent choice for breakfast the next morning.
We will go back there.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidWalesGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn
Level Contributor
128 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We spent 2 nights here and stayed in room 9 on the top floor. The views from this B&B are lovely. We received a very warm welcome and was given a map of the area and recommended places to eat and drink. The Awel Mor is in a great location The room was lovely and clean with everything you need and the bed was so comfy I had the best 2 night’s sleep in ages. It was great listening to the waves as you fall asleep. The pillows were very comfy and as I normally moan about the type of pillows or lack of them you get at some b&b’s, for once I didn’t have to go and ask for extra. Like I said best night’s sleep in ages.
Now for the breakfast.
It was a bonus to have a fruit salad that had been prepared that day and made with top quality fruit. There is a good selection of cereal, yogurts and fruit juice. The cooked breakfast is 1 of the best I have ever had. The coddled eggs are lovely and as for the sausages, they were lovely and tasty. Plenty of toast, tea and coffee. I have to say that Judith and Martin do an excellent job and this shows in everything they do. They get great reviews because they do a great job. We will be going back here and would recommend staying here.
There is plenty of room for parking on the street. Even though it was a bank holiday weekend and the main town was very busy we had no problems parking. I would recommend driving in on the back road and not trough the town as there is some narrow streets and it can take a while to get through if its busy. If you’re driving in from Porthmadog drive past the main town then turn left just after the petrol station. This brings you down to the sea front and straight to Awel Mor.
Cricceith is a lovely place with amazing views and great walks along the sea front. This b&b is in a beautiful, peaceful spot but only a few minute’s walk from the pubs and restaurants. The only sounds you hear late at night is the waves.

Room Tip: Room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneRuncorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Criccieth
0.4 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
372 reviews
0.5 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
283 reviews
4.1 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Lion Hotel
The Lion Hotel
#1 of 20 in Criccieth
715 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gwynle Boutique B & B
Gwynle Boutique B & B
#7 of 20 in Criccieth
58 reviews
0.6 mi away
Plas Isa Hotel
Plas Isa Hotel
#6 of 20 in Criccieth
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Awel Mor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Awel Mor

Property: Awel Mor
Address: 29 Marine Terrace, Criccieth LL52 0EL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Criccieth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Awel Mor 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Awel Mor is situated directly on the seafront in the unspoilt town of Criccieth. With spectacular sea views the Awel Mor is only a short stroll to historic Criccieth Castle and to the many restaurants in the town. We are ideally situated for touring the Lleyn Peninsula, the Snowdonia National Park and for visiting the many attractions and beautiful villages nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Awel Mor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Awel Mor Hotel Criccieth
Awel Mor Criccieth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing